Samsung 860 EVO 2.5'' SSD vs M.2 SSD, Which to choose

TSjiazheng93
post Jan 4 2019, 11:48 PM, updated 6y ago

58 posts

Dear Sifus,
What is the difference betwwen the 2.5'' and the m.2 ssd ?
Despite the price, any difference in terms of speed ? And which is the best to buy.
BelaCHAN
post Jan 4 2019, 11:51 PM

550 posts

No difference whatsoever.

Get whichever is cheaper, or one for whichever socket you have empty.
kayz1e
post Jan 4 2019, 11:53 PM

- nEwbiE ^^"V -
1,408 posts

does your motherboard have a m.2 slot?
CHIP CN
post Jan 5 2019, 12:01 AM

Tuned by CHIP CN
1,262 posts

M2 laju lg. Berdesup....
BelaCHAN
post Jan 5 2019, 12:17 AM

550 posts

QUOTE(CHIP CN @ Jan 5 2019, 12:01 AM)
M2 laju lg. Berdesup....
M.2 konon but 860 evo LOL...

Ingat kalau jalan highway 5 lane lebar, u punya kancil akan capai 250km/h ke berbanding jalan kampung?

The 860 EVO is by definition limited to 550MBps read and write.

doesn't care whether u use M.2 slot or SATA 3 slot.
TSjiazheng93
post Jan 5 2019, 08:14 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(kayz1e @ Jan 4 2019, 11:53 PM)
does your motherboard have a m.2 slot?
Asus Prime B360M-A, have 2 slot if I am not mistaken.
TSjiazheng93
post Jan 5 2019, 08:24 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(BelaCHAN @ Jan 5 2019, 12:17 AM)
M.2 konon but 860 evo LOL...

Ingat kalau jalan highway 5 lane lebar, u punya kancil akan capai 250km/h ke berbanding jalan kampung?
The 860 EVO is by definition limited to 550MBps read and write.

doesn't care whether u use M.2 slot or SATA 3 slot.
So this is the fastest i can get ? Or is there any other brand that is faster and cheaper than these 2.
xxboxx
post Jan 5 2019, 08:35 AM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,093 posts

Important is see the SSD controller, if it's limited to SATA speed then when transferring one large file will feel the bottleneck in bandwidth. Normal usage no difference.

NVME SSD vs SATA SSD when transferring plenty of small files.

user posted imageAdata XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB

user posted imageSamsung 850 Evo 250GB
tishaban
post Jan 7 2019, 09:01 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(jiazheng93 @ Jan 5 2019, 08:24 AM)
So this is the fastest i can get ? Or is there any other brand that is faster and cheaper than these 2.
M2 SATA and 2.5" SATA will be the same speed.
If you want faster you'll have to go with NVMe M.2 eg. the Samsung 970 Evo/Pro or WD Black series. When searching you need to specifically look for NVMe

Prices are correspondingly more expensive of course.

Kristal.S
post Jan 7 2019, 09:18 AM

Du Du Du
1,282 posts

QUOTE(jiazheng93 @ Jan 5 2019, 08:24 AM)
Check this NVME SSD out: https://shopee.com.my/(FOC-SCREW)-ADATA-XPG...3299.1597395557
popopi
post Jan 7 2019, 09:22 AM

1,194 posts

So, a story here.

860EVO uses SATA3.0 ... hence the speed we say is standard.

M.2 have many connection behind. SATA, PCIe, USB. If ur M.2 SSD is SATA... then the speed almost same... but if u get the PCIe version, then will have improvement.

M.2 is expensive on SSD for now...
TristanX
post Jan 7 2019, 09:28 AM

Where is my stars?
23,662 posts

QUOTE(popopi @ Jan 7 2019, 09:22 AM)
So, a story here.

860EVO uses SATA3.0 ... hence the speed we say is standard.

M.2 have many connection behind. SATA, PCIe, USB. If ur M.2 SSD is SATA... then the speed almost same... but if u get the PCIe version, then will have improvement.

M.2 is expensive on SSD for now...
Adata XPG SX8200 Pro isnt a lot more expensive though.

https://shopee.com.my/(FOC-SCREW)-ADATA-XPG...3299.1597395557

Review:
https://www.tweaktown.com/articles/8850/ada...tlc/index4.html
popopi
post Jan 7 2019, 09:33 AM

1,194 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 7 2019, 09:28 AM)
Seems legit...

Then I will say from the info above.. it is better and it is running PCIe NVMe.... Go for it... no regret...
faster loading during AAA game. thumbup.gif
wongtheboy92
post Jan 7 2019, 10:05 AM

802 posts

Since you are using the same model, it is just the different kinds of socket for plugging in the SSD. Unless you want to get PCI NVME those very fast ssd. M2 can save space!
TSjiazheng93
post Jan 7 2019, 12:33 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Jan 7 2019, 09:01 AM)
M2 SATA and 2.5" SATA will be the same speed.
If you want faster you'll have to go with NVMe M.2 eg. the Samsung 970 Evo/Pro or WD Black series. When searching you need to specifically look for NVMe

Prices are correspondingly more expensive of course.
970 is so much more expensive lol. I have seen it from amazon with cheaper price, convert straight from currency of course. Dint know if it is possible to ship here. Btw thanks for the info
TSjiazheng93
post Jan 7 2019, 12:51 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(Kristal.S @ Jan 7 2019, 09:18 AM)
QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 7 2019, 09:28 AM)
Adata XPG SX8200 Pro isnt a lot more expensive though.

https://shopee.com.my/(FOC-SCREW)-ADATA-XPG...3299.1597395557

Review:
[url=https://www.tweaktown.com/articles/8850/adata-

sx8200-pro-nvme-ssd-review-sm2262en-64-layer-tlc/index4.html]https://www.tweaktown.com/articles/8850/ada...tlc/index4.html[/url]
Never heard of this brand tho.. Dont know if it is reliable 😐
tishaban
post Jan 7 2019, 12:53 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(jiazheng93 @ Jan 7 2019, 12:33 PM)
970 is so much more expensive lol. I have seen it from amazon with cheaper price, convert straight from currency of course. Dint know if it is possible to ship here. Btw thanks for the info
Yes you can order straight from Amazon, shipping for an M.2 SSD is typically cheap, around US$7 only but Amazon will charge you 6% GST/SST as their price does not include tax. If you're lucky, kastam doesn't collect that tax so a few weeks after you get your shipment you'll get a credit of the 6% back, saving even more money.

I've bought from Amazon many times before including my SSDs. The disadvantage is service and warranty, some products have clear international warranty. Others don't. But I never had problems with SSDs before though, I've been using them since 2011 personally, have bought about 100+ for the office.

If you do buy from Amazon, wait for the sales. Google up on when they are. Good offers, for example, the 1TB Samsung 860 EVO 2.5" for around RM600 last November including shipping to Malaysia.

TSjiazheng93
post Jan 7 2019, 12:57 PM

58 posts

QUOTE(popopi @ Jan 7 2019, 09:33 AM)
Seems legit...

Then I will say from the info above.. it is better and it is running PCIe NVMe.... Go for it... no regret...
faster loading during AAA game.  thumbup.gif
This is my board. Which one is the PCIe slot ?

xxboxx
post Jan 7 2019, 05:53 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,093 posts

QUOTE(jiazheng93 @ Jan 7 2019, 12:51 PM)
Never heard of this brand tho.. Dont know if it is reliable 😐

My review
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4713426

QUOTE(jiazheng93 @ Jan 7 2019, 12:57 PM)

The number 16
It's M.2 connector, using PCIe lane.
popopi
post Jan 14 2019, 10:04 AM

1,194 posts

QUOTE(jiazheng93 @ Jan 7 2019, 12:57 PM)
No.16 ... the NVMe PCIe.

0.0135sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 02:41 PM