Wife refuse to take folic acid
TSnaijnaij
Jan 4 2019, 09:34 PM, updated 7y ago
Hi ladies.. mommies.. my wife is currently 11-12 weeks pregnant with our first child. For the first 8 weeks..her morning sickness was very bad..vomit non stop. It only got better recently during the 10-11 wk period.. she is able to eat normally.. slowly increasing the portion.
We have seen a GP during earlier stage of pregnancy and gynae recently.. both also prescribe folic acid. However she refuses to take the supplements. Her reasoning is that even her mom does not take them during her pregnancy (6 kids).. and other friends not taking them also etc. She heard from other moms that taking folic acid causes the body to be heaty. FYI my wife is more into traditional Chinese medicine.
I have read about the benefits of folic acid to pregnant ladies.. but I am unable to convince her to take them.. I mean the majority of doctors and gynaes out there can't be wrong about folic acid right? They would not prescribe something which can harm the mother and child..i really need help here..
jetblast
Jan 4 2019, 09:36 PM
Better take. Helps to prevent miscarriage.
joey2000
Jan 4 2019, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(naijnaij @ Jan 4 2019, 09:34 PM) Hi ladies.. mommies.. my wife is currently 11-12 weeks pregnant with our first child. For the first 8 weeks..her morning sickness was very bad..vomit non stop. It only got better recently during the 10-11 wk period.. she is able to eat normally.. slowly increasing the portion. We have seen a GP during earlier stage of pregnancy and gynae recently.. both also prescribe folic acid. However she refuses to take the supplements. Her reasoning is that even her mom does not take them during her pregnancy (6 kids).. and other friends not taking them also etc. She heard from other moms that taking folic acid causes the body to be heaty. FYI my wife is more into traditional Chinese medicine. I have read about the benefits of folic acid to pregnant ladies.. but I am unable to convince her to take them.. I mean the majority of doctors and gynaes out there can't be wrong about folic acid right? They would not prescribe something which can harm the mother and child..i really need help here.. This is a very serious thing. Babies born to women who do not consume enough folic acid (sometimes referred to as folate or vitamin B9) are at high risk of developing neural tube defects (i.e., defects in the development of the spinal cord or brain). This is the reason underlying the recommendation that women who are pregnant take a folic acid supplement. https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2010/...00426181708.htmI knew this because I saw a baby of got spinal cord problem since born. The baby might got walking issue according to the doctor. Please ask your wife to google "folic acid spinal cord". Do not take the risk. I repeat, DO NOT take the risk as the consequences will impact a life. This post has been edited by joey2000: Jan 4 2019, 09:50 PM
howszat
Jan 4 2019, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(joey2000 @ Jan 4 2019, 09:45 PM) This is a very serious thing.
SUSlowya
Jan 4 2019, 10:01 PM
crush the tablet and put into milo, done.
Zhik
Jan 4 2019, 10:05 PM
Buy the all in one supplement with iron,multivitamin, folic acid.
rhenadal
Jan 4 2019, 10:31 PM

Eat more greens, avocado and legumes lor. But diet must also be balanced. Folic must enough but dont overdo it.
SUSslimey
Jan 4 2019, 11:54 PM
Lol. Causes body to be heaty vs risk birth defect of baby.
The choice is clear
Mrs.A
Jan 5 2019, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(naijnaij @ Jan 4 2019, 09:34 PM) Hi ladies.. mommies.. my wife is currently 11-12 weeks pregnant with our first child. For the first 8 weeks..her morning sickness was very bad..vomit non stop. It only got better recently during the 10-11 wk period.. she is able to eat normally.. slowly increasing the portion. We have seen a GP during earlier stage of pregnancy and gynae recently.. both also prescribe folic acid. However she refuses to take the supplements. Her reasoning is that even her mom does not take them during her pregnancy (6 kids).. and other friends not taking them also etc. She heard from other moms that taking folic acid causes the body to be heaty. FYI my wife is more into traditional Chinese medicine. I have read about the benefits of folic acid to pregnant ladies.. but I am unable to convince her to take them.. I mean the majority of doctors and gynaes out there can't be wrong about folic acid right? They would not prescribe something which can harm the mother and child..i really need help here.. Oh my dear God!!!! Poor husband!!! Where on earth your wife come from? She doesn’t know what is “Google”?? Or simply ignorant and thinks that she knows everything??? Now refuse folic acid, then refuse vitamins? Then refuse what else? Medication? Vaccine?? Tell her, it’s not only her baby, it’s also “your baby”, why putting your baby’s health on risk? It’s unfair.. How come your GP and Gynae goes wrong? It takes Upto 8-9 years of extensive study + practice to become a licensed Doctor, and 12years++ to become a specialist. There’s many research about the benefits of folic acid, but there’s not enough fact that folic acid causing “heat?”. Why would somebody concern about something that uncertaint and neglecting the facts, the truth, the priority. If she thinks she knows better, what else you can say. Good luck, you are such a good husband. If I’m in your position, I’ll told her to find another husband, seems like you’ll have a very difficult road ahead *temperMommyHere. This post has been edited by Mrs.A: Jan 5 2019, 04:45 PM
Mrs.A
Jan 5 2019, 04:49 PM
QUOTE(slimey @ Jan 4 2019, 11:54 PM) Lol. Causes body to be heaty vs risk birth defect of baby. The choice is clear Exactly!!! And still wondering if the doctors would prescribe something harmful towards the baby. For God Sake!!!!
joeylny
Jan 7 2019, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(naijnaij @ Jan 4 2019, 09:34 PM) Hi ladies.. mommies.. my wife is currently 11-12 weeks pregnant with our first child. For the first 8 weeks..her morning sickness was very bad..vomit non stop. It only got better recently during the 10-11 wk period.. she is able to eat normally.. slowly increasing the portion. We have seen a GP during earlier stage of pregnancy and gynae recently.. both also prescribe folic acid. However she refuses to take the supplements. Her reasoning is that even her mom does not take them during her pregnancy (6 kids).. and other friends not taking them also etc. She heard from other moms that taking folic acid causes the body to be heaty. FYI my wife is more into traditional Chinese medicine. I have read about the benefits of folic acid to pregnant ladies.. but I am unable to convince her to take them.. I mean the majority of doctors and gynaes out there can't be wrong about folic acid right? They would not prescribe something which can harm the mother and child..i really need help here.. People trying to conceive are also recommended to take folic acid early and now she is pregnant this is one of the most important supplement to take esp in the first trimester. Every pregnant friend i know is taking folic acid daily and non of my frens in mummy group complained bout heatiness.
lowlowc
Jan 7 2019, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(naijnaij @ Jan 4 2019, 09:34 PM) Hi ladies.. mommies.. my wife is currently 11-12 weeks pregnant with our first child. For the first 8 weeks..her morning sickness was very bad..vomit non stop. It only got better recently during the 10-11 wk period.. she is able to eat normally.. slowly increasing the portion. We have seen a GP during earlier stage of pregnancy and gynae recently.. both also prescribe folic acid. However she refuses to take the supplements. Her reasoning is that even her mom does not take them during her pregnancy (6 kids).. and other friends not taking them also etc. She heard from other moms that taking folic acid causes the body to be heaty. FYI my wife is more into traditional Chinese medicine. I have read about the benefits of folic acid to pregnant ladies.. but I am unable to convince her to take them.. I mean the majority of doctors and gynaes out there can't be wrong about folic acid right? They would not prescribe something which can harm the mother and child..i really need help here.. She has to take folic acid ASAP. Baby's spine is developing now and needs folic acid. I wish people will stop comparing before and now. People progresses, not staying the same like last time. If you have a chance to prevent spina bifida, why not? Does she wants to feel guilty if (touch wood) baby really has problem later? Take this from someone who almost lost her baby in womb and now still in NICU. I kept asking myself if I did anything wrong to cause my baby to suffer, though doctor assured me it's not my fault. If she thinks folic acid is heaty, drink more water. And she said her other friends are not taking them? I've never come across a pregnant friend who don't take folic acid.
powerlinkers
Jan 7 2019, 11:02 PM
If your wife has not seen children with Spina bifida whom are brought in for surgeries(due to idiocy of parents) : SHOW her the pictures and walk her through the surgical procedures: tell her that she needs to prepare herself to take care of a child with bilateral lower limb paralysis whom might not be able to walk normally for rest of her/his life... I have just seen one about 3 weeks ago: a mother whom refused to take folic acid during her pregnancy for her first child whom has developed spina bifida with bilateral lower limb paralysis due to conservative deviated Islamic teaching. Guess what: she needs to quit her job and take care of her first child full time. Luckily, she has learned her lesson and her second child is healthy . Tell her that in worst case scenarios: her newborn might suffer from anencephaly. Show her the pictures. This post has been edited by powerlinkers: Jan 7 2019, 11:11 PM