Grab Driver Discussion V5 (2019 & 2020), Info and FAQ

victor1133
post Feb 1 2019, 10:01 AM

QUOTE(d-realm @ Jan 31 2019, 11:21 PM)
https://www.facebook.com/groups/sgphv/perma...33277937162687/

If 1 day u met this kind rider... ur career as e-hailing will be over sad.gif
The dashcam audio and video recording quality is fantastic.

By the way, feel a bit suspicious since can’t see what happened at the beginning. The recording started at the middle part of the drama. Likely small issue escalated into major event.
victor1133
post Apr 10 2019, 11:00 AM

Received this sms from Grab.

Why my weekly lapuran nilaian shown no complaints case received?

Call office to find out more they said their system didn’t shown any issues reported. Should I take the problem to visit grab car driver Centre? Really no clue what have I done wrong.

This post has been edited by victor1133: Apr 10 2019, 11:05 AM

victor1133
post Apr 10 2019, 06:20 PM

I suspect I receive this sms because riders give low rating and select driver attitude as reasons.

Just pray nothing happen to my account

victor1133
post Apr 10 2019, 06:28 PM

QUOTE(yhtan @ Apr 10 2019, 06:21 PM)
is it something relating to the cancellation fee collection on behalf?
no sure who complained me.

But just realized that if rider give below 5 stars, must give reason. Otherwise cannot click submit button
victor1133
post Jun 2 2019, 01:37 PM

QUOTE(river.sand @ Jun 2 2019, 08:07 AM)
Well, certain thing did get improve from our own observations;

i) the crap car staff did call the driver to request explanation before they suspend the driver. No sure if applied to all drivers or just case they need further confirmation.

ii) previously there was someone report that the crap car staff will just make 3 calls at the same times and if driver didnt pick up the call at that point of time, then too bad. They will suspend the driver account right away and send sms alert their driver accounts were suspend due to un-contactable. But recently I hear crap office would leave a message which stated that the grab office call back at this time later (hear said from someone can't confirm)

iii) previously also there were report that they would suspend the driver if the passagers leave their belonging in our car and if the crabcar staff unable to reach us, again they would immediately suspend driver account. But recently I didn't hear any complain on this, may be they have improve? No sure.

Despite the above, I personally think the current crabcar practice are still no good enough:

i) the crab car office may take action on us based on single complaint and if the complain sound like a big issue to them. This is regardless how many trips that we have done and how many riders have given us 5 stars in the past. It is pointless to explain to them that the complains receive is only 0.01% or 0.001% or 0.00001%. Yes, that means the more trips we did for grab, the higher probability we will get suspend or even ban one day;

ii) What is the use of their customer service hotline? When we receive any warning message and wish to find out more, the only answer we get is they would escalate your concern to relevant question. What kind of answer is that? Assuming we understand what had happened and what rider said behind our back by reading through simple warning message. The laporan nilai mingguan is that other aspect that need significant improvement. If there is a figure 1 or 2 in the 'Perkhidmatan Pemandu" column, what does it means? 1 or 2 rider complain us? Complained on what?

iii) recently I have chance to discuss with one of crab staff. I confirm that the earlier warning message on my attitude issue was not due to rider complain via email or phone call because the staff was also unable to explain to me in detail on the nature of complain. Rather it was due to few rider select driver attitude as reason by placing a tick on the small box when rating us. I told him this was not fair to us, because when we asked for details on the rider complaint, they should be able to explain to us on how to improve specifically. The crabcar staff should eliminate the problematic driver based on their over all rating instead, such as below 4.4 or 4.5 etc. instead of few riders putting few ticks in the app small column.

Yes. This is service industry and rider are paying us the money. The grabcar driver may not be highly regarded professional but we need a RESPECT from grabcar office and riders. Also, Please don't expect us to be perfect all the times and good luck to you, crap (if you are reading my comment here) , hope you do well after 12/7.

victor1133
post Jun 2 2019, 01:43 PM

For those who miss out my earlier comment. This is the rating screen I was talking about and rider tick on any column if they rate us lower than 5 stars.

Attached image(s)
victor1133
post Jun 17 2019, 08:15 PM

QUOTE(andrwss @ Jun 17 2019, 06:56 PM)
Because rider select driver asked me to cancel lol, so they can pick car and book and cancel for more than 3 times, 10+ times also can, grab wont check and punish you directly.
Correct. If rider select “driver asked to cancel”, this cancellation would be counted toward our cancellation %. Even if our cancellation shown in app is below 10%, but we can still get a warning message if there were few pax cancelled with reason “driver asked to cxl” a week before.

This was told by one of the trainer during my re-education class.

The other thing he mentioned is that grab can suspend our account if the drivers cancellation always shown similar PATTERNS. For example, driver always cxl the grabpay jobs and only accept cash trip. They monitor drivers account for few weeks or months to confirm the driver cxl pattern before action is taken. That also means they may issue warning to drivers even though a week before driver cxl % is low.

If we cancel after rider already waited for a long time such as 10 minutes etc. and rider subsequently made complaint to grab, our account can also get into trouble especially if we didn’t call rider before cxl.

This post has been edited by victor1133: Jun 17 2019, 08:23 PM
victor1133
post Jun 20 2019, 08:03 PM

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2019...ghts-after-ban/
victor1133
post Jun 20 2019, 09:54 PM

QUOTE(andrwss @ Jun 20 2019, 09:27 PM)
What are the majority drivers banned for nowadays? Riders report? Too much cancellations? Modded app?

I don't think grab will ban drivers as they like now with the regulations incoming. Before maybe.
If your account never being suspended before, you are doing well and keep it up.

If some day later you get unusual complaint from rider for any reason, you will impress of how efficient grab office staff take action on your account.
victor1133
post Jun 26 2019, 08:44 PM

QUOTE(Lancelot9 @ Jun 26 2019, 03:51 PM)
Can’t cash out happen again after update!! Send email, no reply!!! Call service center, will pass the message!!! Go service center look for help, crowded and long q like hell. Forget about it!!! See the crowd, can be understood that... Crap is arrogance for reasons.. sucks for reason... have fun with you for reason... Doesn’t matter you are driver or rider!! They are in charge totally. The situation is something tell you, you have chance to drive is considered lucky. Don’t complain here and there. It’s also showing many people can’t live without it. Sad to see that!!!
“Lack of respect” to the driver is the right word!

By the way, I have same issue like yours and it auto resolved few days later without making any formal complaint to grab.
victor1133
post Jul 25 2019, 02:49 PM

QUOTE(xperia090180 @ Jul 25 2019, 12:22 PM)
Guys , anybody attend the driver refresher class aka re-training class before ? How long it would take for training? I stop grab for more than 6months now they deactivate my acc and ask me go for training class  thanks
Can!! You can argue with the grab driver relation staff before or after the re-education class. But Don’t argue with the trainer as in fact it wasn’t part of their roles.

By the way, the grab car officer will likely slam you back with the answer “ Sorry! Management already make decision”. Full stop.
victor1133
post Jul 26 2019, 07:08 PM

QUOTE(destiny6 @ Jul 26 2019, 12:27 PM)
Where got so long 2hrs? Just sit down and watch the video, didn't ask, didn't challenge anything, sign can ciao d......trainer job is just turn on play the video then at the end ok sign and.follow video ya, boleh balik

If got smart Alec inside then always ask questions and challenge then 2hrs la
The driver need to come 15 minutes earlier for registration. Late comer even 1 minutes will be denied entry.

The class is no longer in video mode but there will be one trainer go though the power point slides physically and duration is less than an hour. The driver can raise question regarding the point in the PowerPoint but at the end of class.

The trainer will also advise driver during the class to proceed to see one of the grab officer at the ground floor after the class if he or she want to dispute his suspension. I refer to GDC Klang Valley.
victor1133
post Jul 27 2019, 11:15 AM

QUOTE(destiny6 @ Jul 26 2019, 07:12 PM)
Last time I went to the class some sleeps, most of them play phone, some chit chat , basically most of them no give a damm to the trainer, end of the class if wanna dispute, need take a super long queue to enquire at counter, which nobody will do la..... better go bk sleep
For the scenario way back to 1-2 years ago, After re-education class, if driver commit some offense again or they receive complain again then they will permanent ban the driver account.

After the account was diactivated, only then the driver want to make noise with the GDC Officer? What can driver do? Flip table?
victor1133
post Jul 28 2019, 12:19 PM

For first time, I was involved in car accident during my grabcar trip with riders on board. My car bumper was hit by the car who apparently tailgating at the back and unable to stop on time when I need to slow down. Since it is only a minor car accident and nobody was injury, I just apologized to the rider and settled it on the spot for rm200 with the other car owner. I moved on to drop off the rider at the destination offering some discount to rider but the rider insisted to pay in full.

After dropping off, I just as usual made a brief report to grab under accident section and commented that nobody was injured except the trip was delay by 15 minutes due to stop over for accident negotiation.

I thought the similar boring process like when we encountered problematic riders and grab will reply using their standard template.

But this time is different, I was surprise in less than 2 minutes I got a phone call from grab office. The grab staff asked few questions concerning accident:

- how and why the accident taken place?
- which part of the part of the car was been hit? Whose fault in my opinion?
- during time of accident, any rider on board?
- did I made the police report?
- any one being injured?
- the location of the accidents?

I explained the whole incidents to the grab officer. At the end, the officer informed me that they will call the riders to confirm few more things and if there was any issue they will call me back as part of their investigation process. They seems to super concern on the rider safety. During the whole conversation, the grab staff never expressed any concern on my lost as a result of my car damage.

I waited beside the road close to the rider drop off place for half an hours. Luckily they didn’t call me back and I just continue my journey.

By the way, I learn something new from this incident. There is a significant difference in approach when we reported issue related to problematic rider and when we the report car accident during the trip which affect their riders.

At no time I get any phone call from grab when I reported my riders was abusive or misbehave etc. All I get is the more or less similar email replies that I seen over and over again. Recently I also seen some replies that they will send the rider for re-education class for being impolite to driver. (Really?!)

Moral of the story? You interpreted yourself.

victor1133
post Jul 28 2019, 10:54 PM

Event Sequential of the change in driver app requirement from I can recall for past 2/3 years:

Introduction of 30% AR (No AR requirement when grab was first introduced)

Increase the DR from 4.4 to 4.7 to qualified for HG incentive

Removal of the hotspot areas. All area in KV were entitled to HG incentives after the chances.

To qualify for the lower commission of 20%, driver must opt in that they only drive for grabcar. If the driver wish to drive for Uber or other e hailing operator at that time, they need not opt in but their commission would be 25% instead of 20%.

Separate the drivers into two group ( Flexi and HG driver. HG driver must maintain AR > 80% and DR > 4.7). Driver who want to change from flexi to HG group must opt in.

Changes the weekly acceptance calculation to daily acceptance ratio to quality for HG incentives (driver need to achieve min daily 80% AR to qualify)

The commission for new drivers has increased to 25% unless they on AA. Old driver remain at 20% regardless of Non AA or AA.

Introduction of auto accept. Driver must on AA to get the HG incentive

Introduction of Timeout

Replaced the HG incentive with time booster. AA trip entitled to higher time booster bonus calculation.

Removal of manual accept and driver must auto accept all the trip. All driver are now enjoying same level of commission, 20%, ie no more 25% to comply with MOT requirement.

Before I forget, the peak hours (MP, UP etc) incentive block was getting lesser and lesser over the times.

What’ s next? Our driver income is on downward trend for sure with all these additional features in driver app. No eyes see...

Pls comment if I miss out any historical development in our driver app.
victor1133
post Jul 30 2019, 05:14 AM

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jul 29 2019, 09:49 AM)
Haha nice summary there😂😂🤣🤣
Each time they made changes in driver app and incentives polices, our income was dropped by certain percentage!!! CONSISTENTLY.
victor1133
post Aug 3 2019, 01:11 PM

Timebooster was introduced to replace hour guaranteed incentive. Its main objective was to compensate driver for not cherry picking the rides, i.e., must on AA in order to get the TB.

Since AA has became compulsory, I can’t think of a point for the grab to maintain this TB incentive structure. They will gradually reduce the TB payout using various method either with or without official announcement. Eventually we shall see this TB incentive being abolished or being replaced by different incentive structures.

They will do this slowly as they need to monitor the number of drivers on the road after the changes has made. The drivers on the road won’t feel dramatic drop in their income till later.

0.2161sec    1.03    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 04:25 PM