Grab Driver Discussion V5 (2019 & 2020), Info and FAQ

b4sh88
post Jan 14 2019, 12:46 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(forever1979 @ Jan 14 2019, 11:19 AM)
lately really flooded with drivers, dont know full time or part time
even in non peak hour like after 10am

i hardly get trip back for setting SD...

if u at bukit bintang and sentral area, u open u, tons of drivers there... very scarely

we all thought after incentive taken out, drivers shall not be motivated to drive, not to mention non peak hour... how come ar ?

also, another observation is premium car also alots now...

so i think we cannot win over crapcar liao...

battle is over.... drivers just cannot fight...
I agree. Usually if i lepak around klcc during afternoon rush hour, i will get at least 1 premium ping to mont kiara or bangsar. Nowadays for 6 days straight i did not get even 1 ping!!

b4sh88
post Jan 15 2019, 06:28 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(river.sand @ Jan 14 2019, 01:47 PM)
You park inside KLCC? Parking very expensive yo...
No lah. Parked side of the road neae four season hotel
b4sh88
post Jan 17 2019, 01:30 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(forever1979 @ Jan 17 2019, 12:37 PM)
this cibai crap now have this auto craplus turn on

premium driver will be suffer during MP as all previously lepak in hot area, just waiting premium ping. normally can get 2 ping in MP and good TB...

now if on AA, sure will get craplus.... income will drop

other hour still okay because can turn off AA...

fuck u crap, last 2 weeks keep sending text ask to refer more crap premium drivers... con people
Worse of all, a lot of premium driver nowadays on app. Supply more than demand.
b4sh88
post Jan 24 2019, 05:09 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Jan 24 2019, 04:21 PM)
no premium car at there? or morning time surging very high

One thing good is premium car rarely has modded kaki
Premium if airport + other destination is really high in price.
b4sh88
post Jan 27 2019, 10:08 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(AhmadAlbab2020 @ Jan 27 2019, 08:14 PM)
thanks for your advice, for my budget 2016 1.3 Bezza should be good right?
Should be good. Bezza quite fuel save. But i'm not sure can get 30k as P2 car hard to reduce in resale value.

Btw you base in KV? If yes then might be worthwhile to do grab while waiting for job. Even better if you dont buy the car, rent from Grab so no need headache for service and other additional cost. That money can pun in bank FD or Unit trust and let it grow.
b4sh88
post Jan 28 2019, 01:42 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(zinglicious @ Jan 28 2019, 11:29 AM)
If you read all the comments, you would see grabbing is not being advised as a career with new car or second hand car. Listen to the good suggested advice given who cared to penned thier thoughts for you.  hmm.gif

If you work for a company in sales, there is consistence target to be achieved, rewards that is stable from  guaranteed commission or bonus to brighter future of higher position.  hmm.gif

Your income goes lower and lower with the SK1M that changes without prior notice, according to crappy whims and fancies. No annual paid leaves, no public holidays, no medical coverage, no EPF and risk of getting banana which might not be justified by riders complaints.  hmm.gif

Even with new Bezza car, the guarantee comes with 5 years or 150,000 km, whichever comes first. Tarak Beza,  If you are driving hard to cari makan, your warranty would be voided in 2 years. Chances of accidents or tyres puncture increase with the extra mileage to grab riders with all those bumps and holes on MY roads.  hmm.gif

I had a Grab rider who was ex Grabber where he took into every sens and ringgit by recording every costing of petrol to servicing to tips from 10 sens to 10 ringgit in 1 year and other costs like phone and billing charges.  He gave up after that to become a private driver to fetch a school children to school and activities which takes 1 to 2 hours of driving in 6 hours duty in hsi Datuk car. Sumore, it is normally 5 days job. His earning is sama rata by grabbing riders. And The Malay chap makes extra by selling burgers tiap tiap malam where he untung Rm100.  hmm.gif

Buying a new car and selling it later always rugi and selling ex grab car sure kena teruk with beruk pricing.  hmm.gif

Finally, think about medical risks with health issues for that kind of long stressful hours of sitting and driving. Berbaloi tak?  hmm.gif

Just for the record, I used to drive for fun and charity fund with my Honda HRV as Uberman. The cost of replacement  from alternator , gear box and suspension comes to RM35K in just a year. Luckily it comes with warranty coverage. But the helpful service manager said that's it......where I am not using it to grab riders anymore. Now grabbing riders with Exora NGV whenever my mood takes me. It is fun to drive without all the stress to grab riders where I have to worry to maintain my car which goes kilometrico. I just have to worry about road bumps to avoid tyres punctures and service it with synthetic engine oil for the extra mileage.  hmm.gif
You sell your Exora to him la. I tot you want to sell em right before going to America.

b4sh88
post Jan 28 2019, 07:27 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Weezy @ Jan 28 2019, 07:14 PM)
About to register as driver soon mainly for night drive because I suffer from insomnia

Question : Do I need to declare income tax for the income earned from Grab even though I don't plan to do full time? Maybe just 3-4 hours a day.
Need because even if part time, you will have income statement from Grab. But remember to deduct expenses during declare, later you pay more tax.

b4sh88
post Jan 29 2019, 03:24 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Jan 29 2019, 02:48 PM)
U must understand why crap launch TBB, is to transfer the risk partially to the driver side. When there is lack of demand in certain area and other factor, driver will feel the pain for sure.

If calculate per hour is useless factor, then pay u peanut salary with huge workload is justifiable? I'm driving 1.5 hrs and yet earning RM34. I can calculate in details for u. Last thursday also suffer the same thing like this because of cancellation issue.

6.20pm-7pm MP slot - RM0.60 x 40mins = RM24
7pm-7.50pm UP slot - RM0.55 x 50mins = RM27.50

Give them margin of error of about 5mins, i suppose to earn close to RM50 from this hours, compare to that RM34, isn't crap scam u RM15? Mind u all this are b2b job which i did not stop at all.

From your scenario:-
5pm UP slot - RM0.55 x 60 mins = RM33
6pm MP slot - RM0.60 x 60 mins = RM36

Total earning is RM69 which is close to the figure u get.
I agree that it transfer the risk to driver. Basically Grab is a big casino and house will put risk to driver. Its a gamble, sometimes i get fare 15+15 TBB for 3km trip and 2km pick up with moderate jam.

Its really a gamble. Sometimes i did get RM15 4km trip no TBB with 30mins traffic jam (pavilion mostly).

b4sh88
post Feb 7 2019, 02:10 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(kratosgrab @ Feb 7 2019, 10:09 AM)
It doesn't make sense. 1 iPad can only one job. If so, also need to wait till rider reach home, then the same iPad can only order for another job. Some more after order, you can't take away the iPad to recognize or communicate with your driver. So it doesn't make sense. What if suddenly 10 people wanna book at same time? Berapa iPad Baru cukup?????
Surely that ipad use special app where it can order another car. But it will be difficult for them to know if the car arrived or for ir the driver to contact the rider

b4sh88
post Feb 11 2019, 10:44 AM

35 posts

I understand what Grabtology want to say but doing Grab with only the first month is like honeymoon period. So you did not feel the same things as other otai here.

As i can see from my observation that the first month is the easiest doing Grab because Grab give you a lot of job making you feel happy and making you thinks that this is something that you like.

For me other than money, Grab gives me the chance to choose my work time, the flexibility of doing things on my own time. As I am a premium and 6s driver, i can choose my customer so less chance to meet cheapskate rider (although some premium riders dont want to pay tol but it can be claimed, some are beautiful rider so i dont mind).

Basically there are a lot of reasons why people want to do Grab but if you have more than 7k salary and want to do quit and do Grab full time then its a foolish decision. Especially if your monthly commitments is also the same as your salary. If you want to do it part time then it's good.

This post has been edited by b4sh88: Feb 11 2019, 10:44 AM
b4sh88
post Feb 12 2019, 07:54 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(yhtan @ Feb 11 2019, 05:29 PM)
just finish compiled my 2018 earnings

Earnings 17k
petrol 5k
maintenance 2.8k
phone charges 1.2k
Toll 2.4k
Insurance & road tax 650
Others 300

about nett 4.5k, after the changes to TB i'm getting less motivated to drive. All this expenses included my personal usage too.
For tax purposes on business which use private property, all the expenses will only take accounts 70%. E.g. If monthly payment for car is 1000, can only deduct rm700 as expenses.

b4sh88
post Feb 13 2019, 12:33 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(Jesse0916 @ Feb 12 2019, 02:41 PM)
Do you guys like to take trip to Genting Highland?
if yes, would you wait for return trip at Genting Highland? is it easy to get rider?

For me, I hate to pick up customer to Genting Highland.

During CNY eve i send PRC to Genting. During afternoon rush hour with surge.

I take it even go back kosong pun dun care. My car around 30sen/km so sudah untung.
b4sh88
post Feb 15 2019, 01:17 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Feb 14 2019, 11:07 PM)
Haha my strategy was 6-10 drive non-stop

Then tidur in any GSC malls and if got nice movie watch it all laugh.gif icon_idea.gif

After 4 then continue driving till 10 hahahaha

This is for weekdays maximizing your catch try it out
I follow your way. Makes me less stress and actually i can enjoy my time.
b4sh88
post Feb 16 2019, 12:08 AM

35 posts

Today only Grabbing from 6.30pm to 10.30pm only

Gross 105+75 TBB. A good Friday
b4sh88
post Feb 16 2019, 12:12 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(AegonTagaryen @ Feb 16 2019, 12:02 PM)
I went full throttle yesterday from 6.30am to 10.00 pm.. Only stopped for prayer (13:30 - 14:45, 16:45-17:00 and 19:45-20:00 ). Still trying to find a good strategy to get gross RM300.
How much you get doing this? Which area?
b4sh88
post Feb 17 2019, 04:07 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(AegonTagaryen @ Feb 17 2019, 08:33 AM)
After excluding Grab Commmision, fuel and meal, income was RM253 including the bonus and tips. In total of 19 trips, starting from Shah Alam and just go with the flow wherever the trip brings me.
That is good but tiring.
b4sh88
post Feb 18 2019, 09:13 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(mrr9 @ Feb 18 2019, 02:08 PM)
Later got call by grab.
Been there, the customer agree to pay more but they still report to Grab

b4sh88
post Feb 19 2019, 07:25 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(doraemonkiller @ Feb 19 2019, 07:09 PM)
Government have no clear guideline on e-hailing regulations and we only left few months to comply with the rules.
https://www.grab.com/my/press/consumers-dri...the-regulation/
I wait for u-turn. Or at least extension of requirement.

E.g. PSV deadline will be on July19
Car Inspection and Puspakom Dec2019
Roadtax disc and further inspection 2020.

Sudden new requirements by JPJ is a way for them to cari makan. If want fast need to pay undertable.

b4sh88
post Feb 22 2019, 12:58 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(bojed @ Feb 21 2019, 10:19 PM)
Subuh is quite late these days, around 6.10am in Putrajaya. That being said, you can still perform Subuh prayer in congregation at your nearest masjid and straight away start Grabbing after you've finished your solat. Like other sifus have said here, target 6am-10am fares. You might even be able to gross RM80-RM120 during that period.

I don't drive between 5pm-8pm because I find it difficult to pray Asar and Maghrib in that period, especially when I'm stuck in crazy KV traffic jams.
Asar is quite late as well. So i will pray Asar and after that online. I usually pray Maghrib at KLCC masjid and start back there.

Luckily for TBB i can offline for 10 minutes and go for prayers
b4sh88
post Feb 22 2019, 01:01 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(kratosgrab @ Feb 21 2019, 01:34 PM)
yesterday drove from 10am till 6pm. Total gross only RM47. I think time to hang key liao. Mostly time waiting in aircon, waiting ping wasting petrol....
The timing is a bit off. 10am to 4pm usually not many riders especially during middle of the month.

That time better sleep or do something else. I usually will wait at hotel nearby from 10am to 12pm to see if got airport trip.

0.1934sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:37 AM