DJI Osmo Pocket Discussion Thread, All About DJI Osmo Pocket

feeliplee
post May 15 2019, 12:08 PM

14 posts

Hi fellow sifus. I’m planning to get an OP to be used for holiday and other family outing, etc. read extensively on some of the comments here and realized that it is an awesome product for videography. I’m not so much of a videographer myself but perhaps buying an OP can help me start. My question is how’s the camera performance on the OP? I’m an avid photographer (mainly travel, street) and I shoot using iPhone 7 Plus and a Canon EOS M10. Is the OP better or close to the quality of shots taken? Appreciate any kind feedback from anyone. Thank you!
feeliplee
post May 15 2019, 12:09 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(feeliplee @ May 15 2019, 12:08 PM)
Hi fellow sifus. I’m planning to get an OP to be used for holiday and other family outing, etc. read extensively on some of the comments here and realized that it is an awesome product for videography. I’m not so much of a videographer myself but perhaps buying an OP can help me start. My question is how’s the camera performance on the OP? I’m an avid photographer (mainly travel, street) and I shoot using iPhone 7 Plus and a Canon EOS M10. Is the OP better or close to the quality of shots taken? Appreciate any kind feedback from anyone. Thank you!
Avid photographer meaning I like taking pictures and photography is not what I do for a living. smile.gif thanks!
feeliplee
post May 28 2019, 12:23 AM

14 posts

Hi fellow OPians, I'm a little overwhelmed with the amount of options to purchase the Osmo Pocket. Would you say it's best to buy it from March, Altech Camera, or Harvey Norman? Any input will be incredibly appreciated.

Thanks!
feeliplee
post May 28 2019, 09:21 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ May 28 2019, 07:53 AM)
Probably best to buy from March as you can buy the extended warranty.
IINM extended warranty can only be purchased from them (if u buy from them).
correct me if im wrong  icon_rolleyes.gif
Thanks for your input mastering89! Sorry I'm a little out of touch with the terms here, but what is IINM?
feeliplee
post May 28 2019, 09:52 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ May 28 2019, 09:44 AM)
iinm - if im not mistaken
Oh. Haha! Paiseh. Thanks again for your feedback. I'll head to March and take a look but I'm a little tempted with the combo package that Altech is selling and they're selling a little cheaper too (on Shopee).
feeliplee
post May 28 2019, 10:58 AM

14 posts

QUOTE(mastering89 @ May 28 2019, 10:33 AM)
if u go march, do help to check out the osmo action if their stock sampai d  biggrin.gif
u can ask too if they allow to add on extended warranty for units not bought from them. just to clarify and help forumers here too
No problem! I'll post it once I go there.

Thanks! smile.gif
feeliplee
post May 28 2019, 11:03 AM

14 posts

Got my friend to check for me since he's there now.

1. Can we buy extended warranty from March if unit is bought somewhere else - No you can't
2. Osmo Action in stock? - yes ready stock avaialble at March

feeliplee
post Jun 4 2019, 09:30 AM

14 posts

Just got mine at Altech Camera, Berjaya Times Square. I thought it was a pretty good deal considering the things that was included in their package combo. Got the OP with a carrying case, ND8 & ND16 filters, phone holder, base, screen protector, micro USB adapter for RM1,550. Also got the Expansion Kit (wireless module, controller wheel, accessory mount, 32GB Samsung micro sd) for RM520. So all in all for RM2,070.

I was thinking of getting from March because of the Osmo Shield but through my interactions with March and Altech I feel Altech's service and response was so much better. They were constantly checking up on me via Shopee and giving me advice even when it was 2AM in the morning. I would buy from Altech just because of this since both are official resellers anyway. Plus I've checked with DJI and I'm not sure how the Osmo Shield really works in Malaysia since they specifically said the extended warranty is not available in Malaysia yet. Anyway, some tips I thought I could contribute to the forum for any new/would be OP owners.

I haven't actually played with the OP much yet due to work and all but tomorrow is a holiday! So will try it in more detail tomorrow. I did try some shots here and there and I have some initial questions and was hoping some of the sifus here can help me out:

1. What's the best mode to shoot in? I tried shooting random shots at 1080p 60fps and it's nice quality but the file is extremely huge. 48seconds 400-500MB in size. Need it to be averaged size because some videos I need it to be sent via whatsapp (work)
2. 4K videos can't be saved on to the phone? If can't be save I don't see a point shooting at 4K. What do you guys think?
3. Are there any shooting modes that are better for day time and night time (low light)?
4. I'm looking for a bagpack clip to mount the OP, any other good brands besides Pgytech?
5. I see it on the internet that there's a waterproof casing for the OP but I don't see it being sold anywhere. You guys know of any company out there that sells one? This is for diving, etc.

Any input is greatly appreciated! smile.gif

Thanks guys!

PS: Selamat Hari Raya to all Muslim forumers! Drive safe if you're heading back to your hometown.

This post has been edited by feeliplee: Jun 4 2019, 09:33 AM

0.0211sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:13 PM