Digi Fans Club & Enquiries V16, Let's Inspire

joshhd
post Jan 29 2019, 03:19 AM

7,791 posts

I saw this one time pass under "Bestsellers" on MyDigi app, showing that it offers Unlimited Calls to all networks for RM9. This number is currently subscribed to Kaki Social plan, under Digi Prepaid LiVE.
Is anyone know what are the requirements needed to qualify this offer? What I know is, if you do not subscribe to any data plans, this RM9 unlimited call plan will not appear on MyDigi app.

Ia this RM9 unlimited calls still eligible to any biGBonus data plans, or only selected biGBonus plan? Any other info or requirements that I need to know to be able to enjoy this RM9 unlimited call plan?
joshhd
post Feb 1 2019, 03:33 PM

7,791 posts

Terima kasih atas bayaran tepat waktu. Nikmati kuota baki bulan lepas sekarang. Kumpulkan kuota roll-over sehingga 100GB dengan tepat bayaran pada setiap bulan
Anyone receives this SMS from Digi yesterday (31 Jan)?
I'm using Digi Prepaid plan...

This post has been edited by joshhd: Feb 1 2019, 03:45 PM
joshhd
post Feb 1 2019, 07:02 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(beebee1314 @ Feb 1 2019, 05:05 PM)
I hate digi for the stupid cs but thanks for the continuous free 1gb perweek
I don't get to see this RM1 unlimited internet.
What data plan do you subscribe?
joshhd
post Feb 3 2019, 07:08 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(dgboy @ Feb 3 2019, 03:20 PM)
Agreed, the app is unstable. Often have to navigate in and out the BoS a few times if nothing loads first time.
Yes..... MyDigi app sometimes quite buggy.
I hope they can find some mobile software experts to overhaul and redesign their app again...
joshhd
post Feb 13 2019, 02:44 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(phhweittt @ Feb 13 2019, 11:45 AM)
Hello,wanna ask. Can I subscribe to spotify family premium using digi postpaid? Currently using spotify premium alone

https://community.digi.com.my/t5/Digi-Music-Freedom/Spotify-Premium-for-Family/td-p/28414
It seems like Spotify does not offer mobile payment method for Spotify Family.
Just use your debit/credit card la
joshhd
post Feb 13 2019, 02:46 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2019, 02:44 PM)
any advice from sifu here?
i wish to visit korea use 3 days data roaming plan rm25.
You'll travel to South Korea for only 3 days? Then just go ahead with Digi data roaming plan then. If more than 3 days, consider buy a tourist SIM pack, from this website. https://hello1010.my/country/asia/south-kor...ection/asc.html
joshhd
post Feb 14 2019, 12:46 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(KopiChia @ Feb 14 2019, 12:11 AM)
New deals?

Yeah I got this too. Wonder how long it lasts.
joshhd
post Feb 25 2019, 02:19 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(ckimsem @ Feb 25 2019, 01:56 PM)
Always the stupid choice - only offer free 1 MBO ticket this month, and 1 scoop of BR last month for platinum.
If the unusable network isn't improved, it's useless of being platinum user.

[attachmentid=10190391]

BTW, unlimited 5days for RM10 add-on still valid for family 150/250 plans, but only valid for the main line.
If the unusable network isn't improved, it's useless of being platinum user.
If like that, then let me redeem. I want. biggrin.gif
joshhd
post Feb 26 2019, 12:39 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(rotloi @ Feb 26 2019, 12:21 AM)
Went to Johor city centre there change plan . Mana Tau amoi charge me rm10 change plan from rm100 unlimited to rm58 postpaid

That RM10 is probably for that amoi's commission. You know la, customer service.
joshhd
post Feb 27 2019, 04:56 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Feb 27 2019, 03:15 PM)
one thing I dislike about the new app is that it will auto signout after a while. everytime I wanna use, I got to sign in again.

Looks like it is still under testing...
joshhd
post Mar 2 2019, 01:17 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Mar 1 2019, 11:39 PM)
Hey guys, finally on Digi's network now...

Btw just wanna ask...

1. How do I enable VoWIFI? Do you guys have it on your phones?

2. Is it normal that the phone is showing 4G instead of 4G+ indoors? Is it because of Digi's 850 mHz network in action?

I'm using Huawei P10 btw.

Thanks!

1. You should be able to enable it in the settings. For me, I can't activate VoWiFi on my Samsung Galaxy s7 edge. There's no option for me to activate it.

2. Simple words, yes. Specifically, neither normal or not normal. 4G or 4G+ depends on the coverage and surrounding factors.

For example, it could mean that when you're indoors, your phone can't connects to both 1800MHz+2600MHz bands like when you're outdoors. In your situation, your indoor reception for 2600MHz may be too weak or can't be detected, so it connects to other bands that is still detectable and usable, yet as a result, only 1 band are readily available in your particular indoor area, which is 1800MHz, so your phone continues to connect to that band and appear it "4G" instead of "4G+". Or, perhaps only 900MHz band are available in your indoor area, so it'll appear as "4G" too.

Because don't forget, if the building doesn't have in-building signal repeater, that means you're receiving the signal from outside of the building. The lower the frequency, the better the signal penetration to building walls and objects. Which explains the characteristics of 2600MHz band has poor wall penetration, unless the cell tower or repeater is very nearby.

If in-building signal repeaters is available in the building (e.g. shopping mall), and the repeater transmits in both 1800+2600MHz bands as well, then you'll get 4G+ in that building.

Digi doesn't operate in 850MHz. 850MHz band is only used by Unifi Mobile for now, and it is one of the band they use.

joshhd
post Mar 2 2019, 11:11 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Mar 2 2019, 10:20 AM)
1. I couldn't find VoWIFI/WIFI Calling in the settings though, do I need to ask the CS to enable it for me? Cuz I'm pretty sure most Huawei phones on Android 8.0 do support VoWIFI.

2. Previously it was fine on my RedOne, it showed 4G+ most of the times indoors (at home), but Digi only shows 4G, that's why I asked. And my mistake on the 850 mHz part, I was actually referring to 900 mHz, just that I got messed up by the numbers after I checked this article which was from years ago. https://www.soyacincau.com/2017/06/14/this-...or-4g-coverage/

But thanks for the brief elaboration, learned quite a lot about these network stuffs. biggrin.gif
1. I couldn't find VoWIFI/WIFI Calling in the settings though, do I need to ask the CS to enable it for me? Cuz I'm pretty sure most Huawei phones on Android 8.0 do support VoWIFI.
Hmm, try contact Digi customer service and see what they can help.

2. Previously it was fine on my RedOne, it showed 4G+ most of the times indoors (at home), but Digi only shows 4G,
RedONE uses Celcom network. So it seems that Celcom has better indoor coverage in your building/area then. Regardless of 4G or 4G+, another thing to take note is the internet speed you're getting. If the network performance and speed are fast enough for you, then it shouldn't be a big issue on what network it uses, unless you're interested and very particular in these kind of technical stuff, like me. biggrin.gif
joshhd
post Mar 2 2019, 12:22 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Mar 2 2019, 12:15 PM)
I was actually just curious about the 4G+ thing, it's not a big deal, I tested the speed indoors and I'm happy with it even though it's on 4G. It's just that it feels better when there's 4G+ showing on the phone lol.

Btw, for the VoWIFI, it seemed that the CS couldn't even help me solve the issue. The CS kept insisted that I have to enable it in my phone settings, but I couldn't find it anywhere to enable it. Tried to ask them to help me deactivate VoLTE and activate it again, and it was a waste of time. I asked them is it because my phone isn't supported, then the CS sent me the link of the list of supported devices for VoLTE.

All in all, a waste of time. doh.gif

Why deactivate VoLTE? As what I know, newer Huawei phones do support VoLTE.
Just because they are Digi customer service representative doesn't mean they know everything about Digi.
You email to Digi to ask about VoWiFi, as that will be considered as "black and white", like a "statement" by Digi.
joshhd
post Mar 2 2019, 12:58 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Mar 2 2019, 12:33 PM)
I'm the one who requested them to do it, and it kinda seemed like I'm the one "giving" solutions to them.

But I'm already fed up with it, it's not a big deal I guess, as long VoLTE is working.

Btw, is your phone on VoWifi?

Would appreciate if other fellow forumers here can share your answers here as well...

The thing with many telcos here is that, they don't really care or focus on supporting VoLTE and VoWifi (I'm talking about those telcos who still have yet to support it yet), and also the fact is that majority of Malaysians don't care about it and have no idea of what is it...

It's actually an old tech from years ago but it's still not fully supported in our country yet sadly, and yet telcos like Maxis and Celcom still dare to boast about their network blah blah blah.

Although Digi and U Mobile do support both VoLTE and VoWifi, it's still not perfect yet, especially for the latter.

Nope. I've mentioned earlier, there's no option for me to activate VoWiFi on my phone.

The thing with many telcos here is that, they don't really care or focus on supporting VoLTE and VoWifi (I'm talking about those telcos who still have yet to support it yet), and also the fact is that majority of Malaysians don't care about it and have no idea of what is it...

It's actually an old tech from years ago but it's still not fully supported in our country yet sadly, and yet telcos like Maxis and Celcom still dare to boast about their network blah blah blah.
True. From what I see, telcos don't focus on those little "feature enhancements", and don't do much marketing on it, so no surprise that not everyone knows that. In fact, I mentioned to my friends about VoLTE, and they have no idea what I am talking about. Like, an alien thing to them.

Telcos focus more on their network coverage and performance stuff, which is normal la. But whether they will solve complaints professionally on poor network service in that affected customer's area, then that's another story.
joshhd
post Mar 2 2019, 07:07 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(wtw0911 @ Mar 2 2019, 05:19 PM)
Does VoWiFi means Digi Wifi Calling? I am using Xs Max and Digi WiFi Calling is shown at times but I don't see its benefits. Phone call still gets cut off when there is no signal even though the phone is showing Digi WiFi Calling

VoWiFi stands for Voice over WiFi
VoLTE stands for Voice over LTE (Long Term Evolution)
joshhd
post Mar 13 2019, 12:47 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Mar 12 2019, 10:26 PM)
LTE2100mhz rolling out.... many area but only 1 or 2 sites activated...
Cell ID 7x

kk, kuantan, penang, kb, kt,
+ klang valley ( c180, kajang, mayang jaya, taipan, kerinchi, happy garden, sri petaling, menjalara, sri permaisuri, pandah indah)

+ existing area LRT underground station, port dickson

Oh wow, where you get these info?
You got it from an insider, or you observe it yourself?
joshhd
post Mar 13 2019, 11:11 AM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Mar 13 2019, 01:26 AM)
He's our telco expert/insider.

Opps my bad... Didn't know that sweat.gif
If that's the case, then I have lots of questions (out of curiosity) to ask dy..

prosibu
1) How Digi decides which areas to refarm 2100MHz for LTE?
2) Since all 4 telcos have an equal of 15MHz bandwidth of 2100MHz including Digi, and Digi refarm that 10MHz for 4G, leaving 5MHz left for 3G, is it really enough? Wouldn't that cause more congestion on Digi 3G network?
3) Any plans that Digi would shut down 2G network in the future, or at least in phases?
2MHz bandwidth on 900MHz band in selected rural areas, and 5MHz* bandwidth on 1800MHz band
Or why not Digi have 2G network domestic roaming with either Maxis or Celcom, so that Digi can refarm those bandwidth for 4G services? Besides M2M and minority users who still using 2G phones, it doesn't seem very spectral efficient nowadays considering the increasing network congestion on 3G/4G networks. Just imagine how much speeds can be delivered to users with the MHz that currently used for 2G hmm.gif
joshhd
post Mar 13 2019, 05:51 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(prosibu @ Mar 13 2019, 11:55 AM)
1) How Digi decides which areas to refarm 2100MHz for LTE?
im not from digi, if i were, i will refarm all 15mhz to LTE and 900mhz for 3g.. biggrin.gif

2) Since all 4 telcos have an equal of 15MHz bandwidth of 2100MHz including Digi, and Digi refarm that 10MHz for 4G, leaving 5MHz left for 3G, is it really enough? Wouldn't that cause more congestion on Digi 3G network?
what makes you so confident that 3G has huge traffic now... lolx

3) Any plans that Digi would shut down 2G network in the future, or at least in phases?
2MHz bandwidth on 900MHz band in selected rural areas, and 5MHz* bandwidth on 1800MHz band
Or why not Digi have 2G network domestic roaming with either Maxis or Celcom, so that Digi can refarm those bandwidth for 4G services? Besides M2M and minority users who still using 2G phones, it doesn't seem very spectral efficient nowadays considering the increasing network congestion on 3G/4G networks. Just imagine how much speeds can be delivered to users with the MHz that currently used for 2G  hmm.gif

shutdown 2G is government's call, not digi or any other telco (i think lar)
DR is very troublesome, eg webe roam to celcom and UM roam to maxis.
and digi 2G network is there, decom it and roam to others is not practical than UM and Webe
for spectrum usage and allocation, ask government free out the 700mhz would be faster than thinking of shut down 3G and 2G  shakehead.gif
remember that Malaysia still got 10 million users STUCK at 2G(not 3G) .....  shakehead.gif

Year 2017 report...
[attachmentid=10202901]
what makes you so confident that 3G has huge traffic now... lolx
Err, 3G speeds isn't very fast also... You could only get around 2-3Mbps on average, while last time you could get it around 10Mbps. Or, there is no traffic congestion on 3G network? Correct me if I'm wrong.

and digi 2G network is there, decom it and roam to others is not practical than UM and Webe
Why not practical? From the consumer point of view, it seems that Digi can refarm their existing 2G bandwidth into 4G. If the 2G handsets user wish to continue using 2G network, then domestic roaming with either Celcom or Maxis.

Still remember those days when Digi struggle to expand their 2G coverage nationwide because they don't have spectrum on 900MHz, and have only 1800MHz, although they have 900MHz many many years later. Digi's 2G network works better on 1800MHz band rather than the limited 900MHz, but considering the user demand nowadays, I wonder will they be the first Malaysian telco to shut down 2G network, to refarm its bandwidth to 4G?

Is there anything that I missed out? Or 2G domestic roaming with other telco costs more compared to operate own 2G towers?

for spectrum usage and allocation, ask government free out the 700mhz would be faster than thinking of shut down 3G and 2G  shakehead.gif
This one I agree, but as long analogue TV is not yet shut down, 700MHz use for LTE/5G is still long way to go.

Even there's many 2G users in Malaysia, if government announces the date of 2G shutdown, that will eventually force users to upgrade to newer phones or M2M, even if the users aren't happy about it, including the ones that has dual-SIM and the SIM 2 slot operates only in 2G.

As of 1 Jan 2019, Taiwan already shut down 2G and 3G network, so now the country is running full 4G network nationwide. Even there are many elderly using older 2G/3G phones are forced to upgrade, and even many people protest it, but eventually they still shut it down. Singapore already shut down all 2G networks. Thailand also plans to shut down 2G this coming October. https://sbr.com.sg/telecom-internet/asia/th...es-october-2019
If other country can do it, why Malaysia can't? In my opinion, it really depend whether the government (MCMC) want to make this move by force or not only.
joshhd
post Mar 13 2019, 05:55 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Mar 13 2019, 03:48 PM)
I do agree that 2G should be shut down, just a waste of resource and hogs the network

Correct me if I'm wrong, but phone nowadays do support at least 3G for SIM 2 right? Huawei has 4G+ for both as well.

And those who still using feature phones with 2G should either get a smartphone or a feature phone that supports 3G/4G.
phone nowadays do support at least 3G for SIM 2 right?
Well yeah. But it is better to double check on that phone before buying.

Huawei has 4G+ for both as well.
That's called dual 4G phone, meaning both SIMs can operate in LTE.
Another thing to make sure is, it is better to buy a dual 4G SIM phone that can supports VoLTE on both SIM 1 and 2 as well.
joshhd
post Mar 13 2019, 08:39 PM

7,791 posts

QUOTE(fat16 @ Mar 13 2019, 08:34 PM)
I think this JPS Stesen Telemetri using 2G M2M
http://forecast.water.gov.my/index.php/aras-air/

How do you know it's 2G M2M?