wongmunkeong
post Feb 27 2019, 02:16 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Feb 27 2019, 11:37 AM)
a topic was raised from peer, do we really need medical card if we only depending on government hospital?
in my humble opinion:
IFs...
1. Gov never changes cost charged to patients
2. AND no sudden change in healthcare policy like "must have basic healthcare insurance"..
3. AND I dont want to have options and ok to just to wait for openings/availability from Gov Hospitals

yup, no need any medical insurance.
Gov will take good care of me.. i trust..
IFs la..
wongmunkeong
post Mar 27 2019, 09:10 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(Vint @ Mar 27 2019, 06:46 PM)
Hi, I'm 29 years old , would like to find agent to buy a longterm health insurance with low premium as i do not want my commitment to be high. any agent to be recommended to me?
roystevenung gets my vote and multiple insurance policies + my children's. Working it out on my wife, yes i'm the one selling the idea/proposal to her tongue.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Mar 27 2019, 09:12 PM
wongmunkeong
post Feb 6 2020, 10:32 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Awareness Posting/Sharing, thus, others can adjust / take necessary steps to avoid my current pains

Situation:
1. Have bought/paid Pru Senior Med for my mum tens of years back, who's now nearly 80

2. Just had non-elective surgery - i paid first since non-panel hospital, which is well-known for such surgery and is cheaper overall.

3. I'm the registered nominee/trustee, with my email and mobile number registered. i've even PruAccess Online due to these.

Claims
4. Scanned a copy for myself & sent in all the docs
5. Pru sent SMS stating received, WIP, WIP, which is fine
6. Then today SMS received stating "RM0.00 PRUDENTIAL: Additional requirement(s) needed for claim no:XXXXXXX, LIX XXK XUX, pol no:XXXXXXXX as per the letter issued.
7. I called and this was the last straw - Pru call centre insisted to have my mum call in/speak. Sigh.. even after explanations / suggestion on the below items.

Pains
a. Throughout the process, PRU kept insisting to speak with Policy owner, my mum - who's not recovered enough or i'm not always with her when i'm executing.

b. Pru kept insisting i go through the Agent - which we know mostly are all missing in action. Why push authority to the Agent when I am the registered nominee/trustee (sorry cant recall exact terms now)?

PDPA? PDPA is to stop abuse of data owners' data. This is for the benefit of the data owner - PDPA does NOT apply.
In fact, i asked PRU to send TAC or anything to the registered mobile # and email of the policy owner OR even PruAccess Online, and i can read it back to them because i'm the own paying, executing & managing it for my mother.

Still no go, even when i'm the nominee/trustee. I was told, only if my mum dies, THEN ONLY i can act on her behalf for her policy. This really REALLY triggered me.

Bottom line
Only way to go around this is a letter of authority from insured that allows you to act on their behalf for all stuff. Better get this done "and submitted to Pru and approved" BEFORE your parents are too old, signs too differently, etc.

Me - i better do the same for my own hospitalization policies, before i get too old/senile and my kids have to go through the pains, especially without a good insurance advisor/consultant.

Thank gawd Roy is helping me out even when this policy wasnt bought from him (thanks Roy! Mucho Gracias). Else.. urgh.. these SOPS are just ridiculous when there are no exceptions. Heck, even the Law & Acts have exceptions.

Looks as though purposely made to stop $ going out for claims by senior policy holders?

PS:
Come to think of it, having ANY woman speak with them is enough coz i've all my mum's details. Isn't that even less secure? gawd.. the more i think about it.. the stupider the SOP gets

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Feb 6 2020, 10:51 AM
wongmunkeong
post Feb 6 2020, 02:04 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Feb 6 2020, 01:36 PM)
Well the fact is that, insurance companies can't simply divulge any detail to anyone who calls in claiming to be somebody, similar to bank accounts where you can simply call and disguise as a family member to check on personal account details. They simply can't do so.

While I understand this is a frustration especially for older folks but at the same time would you like someone in your family to call in to check on your insurance details?

Having the authorization letter does help to get consent from the insured to allow you to act on his/her behalf as the insurance company would not want to be blamed for breach of PDPA. Similar like giving power of attorney to a person to act on his/her behalf.

Cheers.
totally understood
BUT...
1. TAC to policy owner's registered #
OR policy owner's email
OR Insurer's own system for policy owner
VS
2. any woman claiming to be my mum with all her details (from me)

which is safer ar?
process / level 2 or 3 thinking issue leh

3. Also, please be clear PDPA is for protecting an individual (data owner).
The request was to clarify what was further required in the claims since sms was sent to policy's registered mobile #. There was NO request on individual's data like policy info, name, IC, payout amount, etc. since i have all that. I clearly re-iterated the reason for the call and also offered (1.) as verification.

Please dont drag PDPA into this, i can easily drag Competition Act into this - ie. Insurer is purposely making it hard on customers to claim if not using their "panel hospitals". Kickbacks? "Friendly" parties? i dunno - thus, not even dragging in Competition Act ya.
wongmunkeong
post Feb 6 2020, 02:28 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Feb 6 2020, 02:13 PM)
TAC may not apply for all transactions as it requires BNM approval for implementation for insurance companies.

However, I do agree that they should have given the flexibility to divulge basic info as per what is required on your follow up.

Perhaps the officer you've spoken to was no flexible enough or it's just the company's practice.
ya lor, that's the thing.
if front liner cant make decision, escalate lor
if higher ups ALSO cannot use brain / logic to determine when to deviate from SOP.. what's their value add?
might as well buy a computer and fire them

anyhow, the main cheese is against the SOP fler la - the creator, not thinking. sigh..

0.1275sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:22 PM