Insurance Talk V5!, Anything and everything about Insurance

shodan11
post Jan 13 2019, 09:51 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(Runshaw @ Jan 13 2019, 09:40 AM)
Thyroitoxicosis is not covered under all insurance policy across Malaysia?
Can’t find that illness in insurance policies.
Any insurance agents can clarify on this and any claim can be made through medical card

Urgent here and god bless you kind souls
Not an agent/expert..just an underwriter.
If one has no pre-existing thyroid conditions such as thyrotoxicosis at the time of insurance application was made, of course it will be covered under medical card.
The scope of medical diseases/disorders are large and ever expanding..of course not all illnesses can be specified under insurance policy, with the exception of the widely recognized 36 critical diseases.

This post has been edited by shodan11: Jan 13 2019, 09:53 AM
shodan11
post Jan 13 2019, 10:28 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(Runshaw @ Jan 13 2019, 10:15 AM)
36 CI is not fixed is that what you mean?

Then those that have been drafted based on earlier agreement will lose out of the insurance companies decided to come up with new add-on disease coverage for new customers?
Not saying this for sure. Currently most CI products/riders are based on 36 CIs. Hence if there's any add-on coverage, the customer might lose out on the additional benefits offered. I might need to check on this later, while we may wait for experienced agents to come and explain further.
However, by doing endorsements (adding up coverage/new benefits), the client will get to enjoy the new expanded CI benefits.
shodan11
post Jan 13 2019, 12:36 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Jan 13 2019, 12:08 PM)
just checking with you.......last week I had a brief encounter with my friend.....
he mentioned that his son was admitted to a hospital and had a surgery........
it was something like pancreas covering the liver (sort of like that).....
he mentioned that it was a "heaven born" (Chinese translation)...natural occurrence....
thus his insurance does not cover that "heaven born".....

is it true that natural occurance are not covered by insurances? notworthy.gif
As an underwriter, my claims experience/knowledge is quite limited since underwriters only assess based on what medical evidence available/client declarations up front when they are applying for medical/life insurance.
Your friend might want to check his son's insurance policy booklet. However I believe any pre-existing condition/ corrective/elective surgery will not be covered under his medical insurance.
I'm also not familiar with this 'heaven-born' condition (exact medical condition) ie whether is it life threatening or not as well as the child age, policy details & what information was provided during insurance application.
shodan11
post Jan 18 2019, 07:51 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(hal5586 @ Jan 18 2019, 07:28 PM)
I have a question.
Recently my application for mrta was rejected due to medical reason. I declared the condition during medical checkup for the mrta. The thing is I found out about it few years back and few specialist that I went to said it's not life threatening and I don't even to do anything about it.
If I apply for new policy in future, will it be rejected due to this reason to ? 

Hi..mind to share the exact diagnosis/condition? If you dont mind of course. It would help a lot.
And insurance companies share information using LIAM database. They would know..and depending on your exact condition/your appeal/new medical evidence provided; the final underwriting decision might differ.
shodan11
post Feb 9 2019, 06:31 PM

202 posts

Hi all..

I came across an ad post on Instagram, something about having 400k savings under some AIA takaful plan, contribution as low as 150/month. What plan is this, any sifus know about it.

If yes, how does it work & what is the premium paying term, sum assured etc. Wonder how does 400k come from and for how long.
shodan11
post Feb 10 2019, 01:35 AM

202 posts

QUOTE(lifebalance @ Feb 10 2019, 01:05 AM)
I think the figures are a little exaggerated in the ads.  laugh.gif Probably that AIA agent portrayed a wrong message through the ad they've create.
I see 😅. Yeah..could be. He kinda said it is a 'hybrid plan'
which consists of protection + saving with ?returns/dividend around 10-12%. My further reading points me to A-Life Signature (maybe).

shodan11
post Feb 10 2019, 06:41 PM

202 posts

Yeah..it could be misleading to some people. I've got myself covered recently and will review back in a few years. Just looking for some saving/investment instruments (maybe that insta ad came based on my recent search) and I also believe life insurance should be purely about protection/income replacement.

Haha..ya, should be A-Life Signature-i, forgot to put Islamic earlier as per takaful plan.

This post has been edited by shodan11: Feb 10 2019, 06:43 PM
shodan11
post Feb 20 2019, 08:07 PM

202 posts

Tokio Marine just launched a new ILP product; iLady.
Seem comparable to PruLady of Prudential but I think with enhanced benefits overall. Looks worth to look into if your child,spouse,mother want a comprehensive cover.

Dunno/not aware about any other women-specific plans by other insurance company.

0.0987sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:54 PM