cherroy
post Apr 23 2019, 03:26 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(soules83 @ Apr 23 2019, 03:03 PM)
Yeah you are right, but I was uncertain....as a lot of insurance agent promo it like its a secure for our old age....but now it defy my original understanding which is to buy at early age to secure us when we grow old.

So, just another question. If I bought insurance at early phase will the premium stay the same across my lifetime until old? Or it growth over time which will burn out our COI?
All medical insurance premium rise together with age one, disregard you first bought when you are 1 yo, or 30.
The difference is the pre-existing illness exclusion, if bought it early.

No such thing you buy early, then you pay cheaper at old age or premium remain the same.

Insurance companies will close shop, if there is a medical insurance premium stays the same across lifetime. biggrin.gif

cherroy
post Apr 23 2019, 05:20 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 23 2019, 03:26 PM)
Insurance companies will close shop, if there is a medical insurance premium stays the same across lifetime.  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(ytan053 @ Apr 23 2019, 04:39 PM)
Isnt it whole life insurance cater for this where premium stays the same for the lifetime? Of coz consumer need to pay quite a high premium upfront for the first many many years.
Wholelife insurance is different with medical.

Wholelife - Only claim once died and amount is fixed in the first place, so no problem for insurance to stay the same. You only died once... laugh.gif

Medical - Everytime got medical treatment, can claim, and may become more due to inflation in medical cost.
cherroy
post May 17 2019, 03:42 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 17 2019, 03:21 PM)
Hi, guys...may I know if people normally take different insurance for life and medical card coverage separately? I'm delinquent and the only insurance I have is the old one from more than 10 years ago, so I don't think I have a good coverage in terms of life insurance.

Recently came across AIA Life and TPD (has additional AIA Vitality plan attached to it with rewards, but this is not the point), seems decent since you can take back the amount at the end of it, so macam savings too with interest given. Any opinions on AIA is much appreciated.
It depends on personal preference and situation as well.

Eg.
Life insurance may not needed anymore, once the person achieve self-insured status, or no longer generate income, or family no longer depended on his/her income to survive.
By then, one has option to discard the life insurance coverage.

Also, different insurance company has its own strength, merit in term of different policy.
Eg. One can get life insurance from A company (due to better offering), while getting medical coverage from B due to better panel hospital and coverage etc.

It is much easy to tweak according to one needs if different type of policy are not bundled.
cherroy
post May 17 2019, 05:15 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 17 2019, 04:04 PM)
Sorry, can I know what does it mean by self-insured? Meaning the person has enough money to cover their own expenses in case of disabilities?
And by no longer generating income, it simply means the person can't afford to pay for the premium, is that right?

Actually, a question just popped to my head. If my intent is to make sure I have money to pay for serious illness that may cost few hundred Ks, am I actually looking at life or medical coverage?
Self-insured - "wealthy enough" that doesn't need insurance, or insurance no longer as important.

Insurance is more about middle class people "game".
Poor one - cannot afford it
Rich one - doesn't need it, although most have it, but not as important already.

Life insurance is important when the whole family rely on your income to survive and make end meet for the entire family, in other word, life insurance is a replacement income source for the family to survive through just in case you suddenly passed away.

Once you are no longer generating income or income pillar of the family (disregard the reason whether retirement or whatever), life insurance becomes not as important as above situation of income replacement.

Medical - but medical insurance is not covering everything related to illness or post medication needs etc, there are areas that one may still need to pay from your own pocket, so it is important to understand the scope of medical insurance.
Typically example, you lose a teeth, you want to do "implantation" of a teeth that easily cost more than 5k per teeth, but medical insurance is not covering it, you need to have your own saving to pay for it.
So no matter how, a saving is also an important element in financial planning together with insurance.

cherroy
post May 18 2019, 06:13 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 17 2019, 05:42 PM)
a question to clarify, if my parents are no longer generating income, wouldn't it be more risky not to have life insurance since if anything were to happen, the children have to bear the cost of treatments?
Should the children then buy life insurance for the parents to address this?

Sorry, another one...is a life insurance still called a life insurance since you can take back your money at the end of tenure?
Those from Spore calls it life insurance but they pay so little yearly vs what we pay monthly, and they don't get their money back. They said if you get money back, that's endowment plan.

Thanks for your patience and help.
Life insurance is not going to pay the medical treatment.
Life insurance - compensate when the person died or CI (most and generally CI is attached with the life one)

The one that elderly needs is medical insurance.

The life insurance that can get back some money normally called participant type of insurance or some sort of endowment (depended how insurance "package" it), aka there is a portion of it "participate" in "investment" that depended on insurance company performance.

Term insurance/term life generally doesn't get back any money but potential cheaper premium.

Don't need to obsess with whether can get back or cannot get back money when considering insurance policy.

Those can get back money, generally you commit more in the first place aka premium is much more higher than those cannot get back money one.
Money doesn't grow from tree, nor insurance company is charity organisation, anything you can get back/cash back or whatever name, it origin comes from your premium then insurance company save it for you or take it to invest or whatever then if/when insurance company generate good return from it, then gives back a portion to you.
Or the policy being bundled as investment linked/endowment etc through split portion of premium for investment/saving etc.

cherroy
post May 19 2019, 03:35 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ May 19 2019, 02:54 PM)
That's the funny thing, I was introduced to one that could get money back but it's not endowment. Agent said it's different than life (eventhough you get money back, and the premium is not cheaper too). Thus, I turned into this forum to get better insights on things...not sure if insurance has changed since I last looked into it, lol...

Ya, besides medical insurance for the elderly, I was looking at it from the angle of in case critical illness happens to them. If my parents, touch wood, if they had critical illness, myself and siblings can't afford to pay few hundred Ks for surgeries, etc.. So I'm thinking would buying a life insurance for them now help to address that?
If not understand, then please don't simply commit, insurance is a long term commitment.
Demand further explanation and clarity, if the agent can't do that, find another one, there are thousand of agents out there waiting to get commission to serve you better. biggrin.gif

CI insurance won't pay you the surgical cost.
CI insurance paid lump sum (just like life insurance when death), when the insurer suffered the CI as covered (please read the type of CI covered by insurance, not every CI may be covered)

To cover the surgeries cost, the one you need is medical.
Yet, medical insurance is not covering everything. It may be covering the surgical cost, but aftermath treatment or taking care off issue may not be covered, which one may need to pay from own pocket.
(if one needs until few hundred K surgical cost, then highly after surgery may need further taking care, or spend more on after treatment care, medication etc that may not covered by medical insurance)
cherroy
post May 20 2019, 08:36 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Jaschong @ May 20 2019, 01:18 AM)
I'm a 26 y.o white collar this year and thinking of getting my first medical + Life insurance, reason being
1. Tax relief
2.  Securing lower premiums at my current younger age.
3. Well of course.. being insured.

However I'm concerned of its worth considering
1. I do have group medical (100k) and life (200k) benefits already
2. I intend to relocate eventually (not sure where) for work (career progression), and eventually retiring back in Malaysia after a couple of years.

Would love to hear your thoughts! Especially if you have an idea of what's a decent ILP should look like and what other consideration factors to take account.

I'm always skeptical with agents, recently even met one that said medical insurance is not covered in tax relief. I do not have anyone depending heavily on me with my parents living on their life savings but of course the 'ifs' are endless.
2) Not such thing of "securing lower premium" at young age.
For medical,
You paid lower premium when you are 26, and will pay a more higher revised premium when you are 30+, and another more higher revised premium again at 40+, the premium will keep on adjusting upwards when you are aging.

Personal medical insurance is entitled for 3K relief.

If no one is depending heavily on your income, then life insurance is secondary important, probably medical and CI become more important.

Do remember to check medical policy coverage, as medical insurance may not applicable or can be used at overseas hospital, depended on where, as some do cover Singapore.
If at overseas, then you may need particular country medical insurance, not buy from here.

cherroy
post May 22 2019, 09:33 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(ratloverice @ May 22 2019, 01:00 AM)
Need some advices here.

Im currently 27. Planning on getting married and buying a house within the next 2 years. My savings are able to cover 60 months of my monthly expenses.

I have been considering about getting a life and accident insurance just in case anything happens to me. A friend of mine who works as an insurance agent quoted me RM664 per month for a sum insured of 1.1m for life, 500k for illness, around 200k for accident, and a medical card of 1.2m per year.

I had a discussion with my gf and she thinks that it is not necessary to insure that much when im still young. Im in a dilemma about this because I see it as an important thing to ensure that either my parents or future wife have sufficient amount of money to support themselves if anything happens to me, but my gf thinks that I shouldn’t be spending so much on insurance at this young age.

Would anybody mind giving me some opinions please?
Below statement may not please some reader (especially may be agents tongue.gif, joking only), no offence to anyone.
This is a simple statement for sum assured needed.
If my income is low, then my life "worth" is cheaper so does my insurance sum assured, as I cannot afford higher premium.

Also, you need to have your own saving, for emergency, for future family planning etc.
Living in single vs having a family could be big difference in term of financially.

Please be minded even you have the most expensive insurance and wide coverage, there are still incident and situation that you need to pay from your own saving.
PA - if happen not due to accident case, insurance won't compensate.
Medical - not every medical condition is covered. eg. you have toothache and need a teeth implant or crowning which easily cost a few K per tooth. In this situation, you need to fork out own money despite having mil of coverage.

It is all about income, if the premium is negligible portion of your income, then no comment, it is about personal preference.
But if the insurance premium eat up large chunk of disposal income every month, one may need to rethink about it and plan more wisely,
cherroy
post Sep 17 2019, 11:24 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Mr Awesome @ Sep 17 2019, 11:03 AM)
Probably helpful info:

- I will start working abroad again starting October, but will come home every now and then to visit my family.
QUOTE(lifebalance @ Sep 17 2019, 11:11 AM)
My question:

- Do i need a medical card?
Yes you do, medical fees are not cheap, for a fraction of the cost you pay for your insurance to get your medical fees sorted in an emergency event, that's helpful

The medical insurance bought here may not applicable at overseas hospital, as he/she is working abroad, he/she may need medical insurance at there instead getting an insurance in Malaysia.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Sep 17 2019, 11:25 AM
cherroy
post Sep 17 2019, 11:52 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Mr Awesome @ Sep 17 2019, 11:40 AM)
Thank you sifu for your patience. Yes I will be back every now and then (probably once a month or every two three months. I will be working in Singapore for say 3-4 years minimum as i'll just be starting my career there.

My current insurance policy says if i come back once every 3 months it's okay...
Some medical insurance/company do cover in the Sg, please check with respective insurance company for clarification.

Medical insurance is quite important especially in developed countries, whereby cost of medical is very expensive.

cherroy
post Feb 4 2020, 10:32 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Feb 4 2020, 10:07 AM)
anyone here thinks that purchasing life insurance for aging parents as unethical? thought of getting it, but scared parents think i am counting on them to die soon pula
Premium for aging parent is extra-ordinary high, and may not "worth" it at all.

There is no reason to buy life insurance for aging and retired person.
You won't "earn" money from it.

Life insurance serves as substitute or income replacement when one suddenly passed away at young or working age especially one is the income pillar of the family.
This is the primary function of life insurance, and worthiness of it.

0.1056sec    0.94    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:04 AM