Insurance Talk V5!, Anything and everything about Insurance

ckdenion
post Jan 12 2020, 06:53 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 12 2020, 11:05 AM)
Yes, i have at least 5 insurance plans and will be surrendered this. I forseen that they are not performed well. Hence, I would rather to take back my capital + some profit (little) only rather than to keep on paying and who knows in future, the value is like throwing the money into the salt sea.
by concerning just on growth, definitely insurance plans cannot be compared to unit trust investment (due to the fees incurred in insurance plans). get insurance plans for protection purpose then it will be good already. to grow your money, there are other investment vehicles.

QUOTE(ishouldntcare123 @ Jan 12 2020, 12:14 PM)
Thank you for your advice. I suppose I have to re evaluate my lump sum during critical illness is sufficient.
sure. glad to help. it will definitely help too after talking to your agent. smile.gif
ckdenion
post Jan 17 2020, 06:41 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Jan 17 2020, 10:55 AM)
hi all,

wan to ask any SCB islamic agent here?
i wan to get quotation on MRTA premium for my SCB loan based on outstanding amount and remaining loan tenure.

going to switch my life insurance to MRTA
Hi vin_ann, basically you can just get any term life insurance. What is the outstanding amount and remaining tenure for your loan?

QUOTE(SwarmTroll @ Jan 17 2020, 11:38 AM)
How much would a monthly premium of RM150 get me if I went for traditional insurance?

Smoking: Non Smoker
Hi SwarmTroll, are you more concern on life insurance amount or surrender value/maturity benefit? Usually traditional plan’s will need higher premium. So yea, need more specific inputs from you.

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 17 2020, 05:54 PM)
Finally surrendered my GE savings plan and get back some capital + popit.

Feeel my burden is good now
Glad to hear jack2. How long have you been paying for it?
ckdenion
post Jan 17 2020, 07:18 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 17 2020, 06:52 PM)
The term is 10 years plus additional 3 years I Paid without knowing my plan has exceeded the 10 years until fee weeks ago.

Because I didn't aware and I didn't sign the exercise form, it was deem that I agreed to pay till age 80.

I don't want to commit further hence I decided to surrender.

.my agent earned buta from me without servicing me to notify this.
Ic. Agent earns commission for 6 years only. Most whole life plan will need to pay whole life, unless its an endowment.

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 17 2020, 06:58 PM)
You want simple interest or effective?

I think the counter gave me wrong info on my total payments and I would need to check back
Effective rate i estimate perhaps between 2.5% - 3.2%? laugh.gif
ckdenion
post Jan 20 2020, 05:37 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 17 2020, 10:12 PM)
Effective interest: 1.165%

This is on my surrender value + Survival Benefits Balance + Cash Bonus Balance
QUOTE(jack2 @ Jan 17 2020, 10:47 PM)
this is savings plan..

Conclusion: Dont buy savings plan from insurance.... rclxm9.gif

Because start from now, I dont want to pay any single commissions to the agents.

Do we have this type of insurance that self service and insurance co rebates the commissions back to us?
hi jack2, yea, actually i wont tell my clients that it is savings plan. kinda misleading to guide them to buy because it is a savings plan. well, at least you are covered within that 13 years period. There is no insurance that co-rebates commission but at the moment Manulife has a plan that has 100% allocation ILP. treat it as company not taking commission from customer's premium.

QUOTE(coldbasecamp @ Jan 19 2020, 04:32 PM)
Hi guys, I have been owning a GE insurance since I was very young and recently GE sent a letter telling me the agent that used to service my plan no longer active and change my agent to another person.

Can I change the agent to someone else of my choice?

also, I am planning to consider other alternatives, would like sifu-sifus here to quote me with insurance plan.

annual budget: RM4,200 at most, 26 y/o non-smoker.
QUOTE(coldbasecamp @ Jan 19 2020, 04:41 PM)
If I were to insist to change agent then I would have to buy a new plan from GE?
hi coldbasecamp, you can change to any GE servicing agent anytime you want. if you change to other GE agent, you are not oblige to buy new plan from GE. actually you can also ask any other agents from different company to service your current GE plan also if you find any that is willing to. 4,200 for a 26 y/o non-smoker is kinda a lot already. of course depends what commitment you currently have also - loan, lifestyle, dependents and etc.
ckdenion
post Jan 29 2020, 09:15 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jan 28 2020, 09:02 PM)
QUOTE(MNet @ Jan 29 2020, 07:32 AM)
How about the rest of company?
so far, GE, Prudential, AIA, HLA and ETIQA included the medical coverage for nCoV. Most insurance companies will follow I assume.

QUOTE(andrewmky @ Jan 29 2020, 12:47 PM)
Would like to query on insurance exclusion clause for "Pre-Existing Illnesses".

I had an accident and have a internal fixation on my arm since Nov 2018. Back then I was using my family's corporate insurance coverage for the surgery & treatment under MiCare Plan. Right now I'm not covered since 2019 under that plan.

Would like to know if I were to purchase a separate insurance plan on my own, does wanting to take out the internal fixation to be covered under the new insurance plan considered as Pre-Existing Illnesses?

Thank you.
hi andrew, highly likely the "taking out of the internal fixation" will be excluded. let's say *touchwood* if met an accident again and some surgery is needed on that arm, then its covered. so the new medical plan doesnt cover "removal of internal fixation surgery" only. Once you apply then you will receive the letter from the company before accepting the offer. wink.gif
ckdenion
post Jan 30 2020, 05:11 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(dannykhoo17 @ Jan 29 2020, 11:04 PM)
Hi guys, isit true that I can’t cancel my old plan for 13 months as I just bought a new policy?
hi danny, you are free to cancel your policy anytime.

QUOTE(dannykhoo17 @ Jan 30 2020, 12:15 AM)
But I have to wait after 120 days only cancel the old plan right? I’m curious since my insurance agent said that I have to continue pay for my old policy for another 13 months. I’m upgrading from old policy by buying a new policy.
Reason being is when you get a new plan (i assume you have your new medical rider in this new plan), there is a waiting period of 120 days and 2 years incontestability. So if there is any claims need to be done, during that period of time you still can use your old policy. Most importantly you are aware of this even though you wanna go ahead surrendering the old policy.

QUOTE(adele123 @ Jan 30 2020, 12:15 AM)
For discussion sake, i heard most of the time, private hospitals wont accept such cases (no valid evidence and just based on 'kopitiam' chit chat). They just send to government hospital. And government hospitals charges are as we know is inexpensive

Insurance companies are just doing marketing... hahahaha...
yea, of course we do hope that it is not for marketing purpose since they release their statement. Private hospital will accept so long insurance company approve the GL. if company x approve the GL then only we find out what's the reason of declining the GL.
ckdenion
post Jan 30 2020, 05:11 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Jan 30 2020, 12:43 AM)
hmm.gif if you felt that you are being misled....why not cancel both that policies taken from that agent?
if he can misled you now, can't he misled you again later on other things?
he is kind enough to give his agent one more chance biggrin.gif
ckdenion
post Jan 31 2020, 07:58 AM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(dannykhoo17 @ Jan 30 2020, 08:43 PM)
Can I surrender my old policy without going to my insurance agent? Wanna surrender after 120days.
yes bro, you can do that by going to the company's customer service directly. They will ask you to fill the forms on the spot and submit to process on the spot as well.
ckdenion
post Feb 5 2020, 07:10 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Feb 5 2020, 06:56 PM)
How hard and troublesome the process of claiming death benefit by family members? I'm thinking on buying term life through online and not through agents.
hi kazekage, the process to claim death benefit is the same for all companies. just need document like death cert and ic of deceased will do. claim forms customer service side will settle with family members on the spot. just make sure nomination is made to avoid any hiccups.
ckdenion
post Feb 12 2020, 02:13 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Feb 6 2020, 02:28 PM)
hey bro, I believed Roy had sorted things out for you. Really sorry for what you had faced. Indeed at times it is not easy to deal with customer service though. btw perhaps you can write in as a feedback to the company. wink.gif

QUOTE(joeblow @ Feb 10 2020, 08:52 PM)
hi joeblow, different companies have their own benefit over the other. there is no best medical insurance though. of course the main benefits like hospitalization and surgical are mostly covered by all companies. it's only when you buy a very big sum of coverage then only medical check up is needed OR you have certain existing medical condition/history.

QUOTE(Wen_8897 @ Feb 10 2020, 10:02 PM)
hi Wen, if you will like to just compare between GE and AIA, in terms of benefits, definitely AIA has more perks over GE due to the health rewards and health wallets. in another way, more benefits = higher cost of insurance charges too. AIA medical card (released in October 2018) is also newer than GE (May 2014). So whether you will like to get a newer card or a older card, even though annual limit and lifetime limit wise both are almost similar.
ckdenion
post Feb 16 2020, 04:44 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(beyinbe @ Feb 13 2020, 05:34 PM)
hi guys, want to ask if having gastric before i signed up for my policy is considered pre-existing condition? insurance company wants to add loading for my policy and exclude anything to do with gastritis. thanks
hi beyinbe, yea it is considered as pre-existing. so have to disclose whenever apply new policy.

QUOTE(propertymart @ Feb 14 2020, 11:36 PM)
hi propertymart, before going to AIA branch, you can try AIA Customer Portal to check on your dad's policy details. Can't really answer you here as we aren't sure what type of policy it is - Traditional or ILP?

QUOTE(YSLAM85 @ Feb 16 2020, 11:58 AM)
hi YSLAM85, all the plans stated above have 500k CI payout benefit? if yes, i will personally recommend you to get the GE one (if cash flow is not a problem), reason being is after retirement, highly likely you won't wanna have insurance commitment anymore. My opinion has no right or wrong, just depends on how you wanna plan out this.
ckdenion
post Feb 17 2020, 12:38 AM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(kimi0148 @ Feb 16 2020, 04:54 PM)
Hi kimi, I can send you GE's past performance since inception. for your case, how many riders are there in your ILP plan? also if can, try not to expect return from ILP plans if your intention is for insurance (to cover certain financial risk). In general, GE's fixed income fund and balanced fund is performing well compared to its other funds.

QUOTE(YSLAM85 @ Feb 16 2020, 05:18 PM)
hi YSLAM85, (I'm assuming you are 35 this year?) if this is something long term (more than 10 years), you have can opt for higher risk fund or balanced fund since there is allowable time frame. of course in this basis, since it is more for insurance purpose, the "return" in this plan will not be as much compared to pure unit trust fund investment.

QUOTE(MohdPuskas @ Feb 16 2020, 08:59 PM)
So basically it's safe to buy insurance even from not so famous company? It wont burn or anything if something happen
hi MohdPuskas, i guess so long you buy company that is established more than 50 years in Malaysia, you do not need to worry much about that.

QUOTE(cringe @ Feb 16 2020, 10:06 PM)
hi cringe, no doubt most insurance agents need sales to survive. Putting ads in FB is just one of the ways to generate leads. So yea, not an easy industry. good thing is you get to choose the agent that you are comfortable with the most and the one that you trust the most.
ckdenion
post Feb 19 2020, 10:56 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(eggmanlee @ Feb 18 2020, 10:51 AM)
Yes, I'm having "GREAT PROTECTLINK INSURANCE". Funny that both my agent and call center says I can't upgrade the medical rider.

Anyway, today my GE agent inform me that there is a memo dated 14/2/2020 that allow us to amend the policy or buy a 2nd medical card with GE. Now I can buy the SMX + Enhancer.
hi eggmanlee, yea in this case it is just replacing the old medical card rider with the new medical card rider within the same policy. there is no need to buy a new policy then.

QUOTE(ZaX17 @ Feb 19 2020, 03:51 PM)
Hi, I got the same letter of consent to upgrade my Great Protectlink Insurance to the Smart Medic Extra as well.

Can I check if I confirm the upgrade, can I know if the Cost of Insurance will be exactly the same as buying the new Smart Medic Extra policy?
hi ZaX17, the cost of insurance of Smart Medic Xtra rider is the same irregardless of which ILP plan you are having.
ckdenion
post Feb 20 2020, 05:20 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(mastedo @ Feb 20 2020, 01:14 PM)

Can anyone recommennd for life insurance only.

Age - 30. For husband and wife.
hi mastedo, any specific purpose for the life insurance that you plan to get? For example: protect education fund, to provide as a living expenses for minors/spouse, and etc.

QUOTE(smaran44 @ Feb 20 2020, 04:06 PM)
Currently, outstanding balance for housing loan is RM625000. Plan to have life insurance for the same amount.
I will turn 41 next month and smoker. What will be the estimated premium per month? Please recommend if there are other options as well. Thanks.
hi smaran44, whats the balance tenure for the housing loan now?

QUOTE(ZaX17 @ Feb 20 2020, 04:57 PM)
Hi ckdenion, thanks a lot for your clarification.

With the exact same plan, life, CI and Rider, if buying new GE policy the premium quoted by agent cost is RM3000, but upgrading quoted by GE service center is RM3,600, does it mean more money is allocated to investment account if paying RM3,600 premium?

Understand that, however if I upgrade directly from GE by sending the letter of consent, there should be no commission right?

So what if I am paying RM3,600 premium, where will be the rest of the money go besides investment account?
hi Zax17, in that case the additional 600 will be subject to also the allocation rate and the balance will go into the investment account. or whether customer service got mention about whether the additional 600 is a saver rider or not?

if not mistaken the upgraded portion (even directly from GE customer service) will have commission for the agent as well.
ckdenion
post Feb 20 2020, 05:38 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(ZaX17 @ Feb 20 2020, 05:31 PM)
I did not have the finance table so I really do not know how is the premium allocation.

I'm just wondering even if buying new policy through agent, if I opt to pay higher premium then the extra money after deducting the cost of insurance will go into the investment account, so it can be sustain longer
if you are buying a new policy, the entire premium will be used to allocate for the agent commission portion. if upgrade within the same policy, only the top up premium will be used to allocate for agent's comm based on the allocation rate.

the premium allocation table will follow the one in your policy. you bought this plan before July 2019 right?
ckdenion
post Feb 20 2020, 08:38 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(ZaX17 @ Feb 20 2020, 07:45 PM)
The policy was bought in 2004 call Great ProtectLink.
I forget to mention that I do not have servicing agent anymore and only allocated to branch.

Does the branch get commission too?
I didn't deal with cases like this before. in your eConnect, can you check what is stated in the 'Servicing Agent' column? I guess the branch won't get commission though.
ckdenion
post Feb 21 2020, 04:17 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(ZaX17 @ Feb 20 2020, 09:22 PM)
The servicing agent in my e-Connect is KLUANG Agent No. 0091700  Consultant No. 0091700.

So really not sure if anyone getting commission, or it will just go into my investment account after deducting the cost of insurance.

Even calling the service center they can't answer me as well.
This is the first time i encounter such cases whereby no agent under your policy. you are based in Kluang? if that is the case, best solution is to go to customer service with an agent (any agent that is willing to help you without getting any benefits). If you are based in KL then i can help you with that to get your concern clarified through the customer service.

QUOTE(echoesian @ Feb 20 2020, 11:55 PM)
Which is the best medical plan for children nowadays?
hi echoesian, its very hard to determine which is the best, every companies got their own strength. Perhaps the info here can help you filter. This is my own top 5 choices (my own preference in no particular order)
AIA A-Plus Health
Allianz MediSafe Infinite+
Great Eastern SmartMedic Xtra + Great Eastern Smart Extender
Manulife ManuHealth Elite
Prudential PRUMillion Med

QUOTE(echoesian @ Feb 21 2020, 12:04 AM)
Thanks for the link, at a glance looks like the AXA plan is good but after looking into the details, it does not seem to cover Dengue, Cancer and Kidney for hospitalisation benefits
AXA MedicAssure Series
This is the latest AXA Medical rider. They do cover Outpatient Kidney Dialysis and Cancer Treatment. So yea dont worry. For outpatient dengue they dont cover but they do cover dengue hospitalisation.

QUOTE(mastedo @ Feb 21 2020, 11:52 AM)
Maybe just for wife survive for 1-2 years if anything happend to me.
Noted mastedo, in that case what is the amount needed for that 2 years, mind sharing? with that then its easier to come out with the plan that suits your need.
ckdenion
post Feb 22 2020, 02:19 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(ZaX17 @ Feb 21 2020, 09:00 PM)
It should be very common when the agent has left the company then it will assign to the branch right?

I am based at KL, I did walk into the Great Eastern office at Ampang to request the upgrade on last month.

Back to my main question is that if I agreed to upgrade the policy by returning the letter of consent, after deducting the Cost of Insurance the balance of the premium paid will be allocated into the investment account right, more amount is allocated compared to getting new policy.
by right, when the agent is no longer active, the policy will be passed to that agent's direct upline (unless the whole agency is no longer active anymore).
Ok, if you need further clarification, you can still walk to customer service and ask. if you dont mind that i join along, im okay too.
if you are doing upgrade and there is an increase in premium, if your policy is still under the agency channel (whereby in this case it's not since it is under branch), the top-up premium portion will follow the usual 1st to 6th years allocation rate, then only deduct cost of insurance and the balance will go into the investment account.
ckdenion
post Feb 25 2020, 11:43 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(sieghart88 @ Feb 25 2020, 08:03 PM)
Hi all sifus. Need some advice on this. I’ve got a quote from an agent for below:

CI: 300k
Life: 100k
PA: 100k/10k (major/minor)
B&R: 200
Medical card: 1.3mio annual

So all this in about RM350/month. Projected sustainability till 60yo. I wanted to get another one with sustainability up to 70/80yo And it goes up to 5xx and 7xx respectively.

Are the premium on the ok side? And should I actually slug out the higher premium for the higher sustainability or hang on up to 60yo first and review it periodically when cash flow improves?

Btw I’m 32/M and non smoker. The coverage are quite ok for my current debts and I have some other term life that’s ongoing.
hi sieghart88, with the same benefit that you mentioned,
RM400/month can sustain up to ~64 years old,
RM500/month can sustain up to ~70 years old,
RM600/month can sustain up to ~77 years old,

with the options above, guess you will have an idea how much you wanna buy at this current point. wink.gif hope it helps.
ckdenion
post Feb 25 2020, 11:46 PM

Financial Practitioner
2,866 posts

QUOTE(echoesian @ Feb 25 2020, 11:34 PM)
Among these plans, which one has critical illness protection for junior?
hi echoesian, critical illness protection for junior that you are referring to covers medical (hospitalization or surgery) OR cash benefits?

11 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 >Top

0.1275sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:51 PM