Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

Sound card needed? for condenser mic

views

TSserenav92
post Dec 19 2018, 02:31 PM, updated 6y ago

9 posts

Hi guys newbie here,
I recently bought a condensor mic on Shopee and was wondering do i need a sound card as a power supply so it can work?
It doesnt seem to work as i have tried plugging in the jack into the pc mic hole.
Is there something wrong? And can you guys recommend me a cheap and good sound card. maybe a usb one?
kevinlim001
post Dec 19 2018, 02:37 PM

Ethical Hacker
6,118 posts

QUOTE(serenav92 @ Dec 19 2018, 02:31 PM)
Hi guys newbie here,
I recently bought a condensor mic on Shopee and was wondering do i need a sound card as a power supply so it can work?
It doesnt seem to work as i have tried plugging in the jack into the pc mic hole.
Is there something wrong? And can you guys recommend me a cheap and good sound card. maybe a usb one?
which model you bought? any battery within it that need to be charged?

sound card as a power supply << what do you mean by this?

Sound card doesnt provide power but to give or receive audio signal only...

also try with other mic see if that work.. if not it might be pc setting

This post has been edited by kevinlim001: Dec 19 2018, 02:38 PM
TSserenav92
post Dec 19 2018, 05:38 PM

9 posts

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ Dec 19 2018, 02:37 PM)
which model you bought? any battery within it that need to be charged?

sound card as a power supply << what do you mean by this?

Sound card doesnt provide power but to give or receive audio signal only...

also try with other mic see if that work.. if not it might be pc setting
I bought some china brand from shopee , its really cheap like rm30~~
i dont see any battery and i only see the 3.5mm jack on the btm.
i plug into the pc mic hole but nothing happens. is it necessary to have another third party item to give this mic power supply?
ClieOS
post Dec 19 2018, 10:09 PM

In-Ear Addict
1,097 posts