highest rated power for retail PSU yet, 2KW

TSjinaun
post Jun 11 2007, 05:55 PM, updated 19y ago

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

Over in Hall 1 we stopped by Thermaltake quickly and saw their new 2000-watt Toughpower power supply.

Do not ask me why you would need that much power for a PC but they will start selling shortly but don't expect them to be cheap.

As far as size goes, it's a little longer than a normal sized PSU but not that much bigger considering the amount of power that it is capable of outputting.

2000-watt was by the largest capacity PSU at Computex this year but we expect to see more soon as even more high-powered systems emerge with things like quad-SLI and quad-Crossfire graphics systems.

Source : http://www.tweaktown.com/computex2007/51/t..._psu/index.html

This post has been edited by jinaun: Jun 11 2007, 06:25 PM

edwin3210
post Jun 11 2007, 06:00 PM

lll
808 posts

QUOTE(jinaun @ Jun 11 2007, 05:55 PM)
Over in Hall 1 we stopped by Thermaltake quickly and saw their new 2000-watt Toughpower power supply.

Do not ask me why you would need that much power for a PC but they will start selling shortly but don't expect them to be cheap.

As far as size goes, it's a little longer than a normal sized PSU but not that much bigger considering the amount of power that it is capable of outputting.

2000-watt was by the largest capacity PSU at Computex this year but we expect to see more soon as even more high-powered systems emerge with things like quad-SLI and quad-Crossfire graphics systems.

Source : http://www.tweaktown.com/computex2007/51/t..._psu/index.html
doh.gif i wonder how high is the electric bill is if he use his pc for torrent with this PSU.
SUSdattebayo
post Jun 11 2007, 06:05 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(edwin3210 @ Jun 11 2007, 06:00 PM)
doh.gif  i wonder how high is the electric bill is if he use his pc for torrent with this PSU.
2000w PSU doesnt mean that it draws 2000W all the time. It merely suggests the maximum power that it is capable of
Skylinestar
post Jun 11 2007, 06:05 PM

Mega Duck
10,479 posts

what do u want to power up with 2000W? lots of hdd and odd, with quad sli, octocore cpu?
chamelion
post Jun 11 2007, 06:07 PM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

FYI, a dual quad core server only need 750W. even that it's over kill as it mean for server so it's on high side.
SUSdattebayo
post Jun 11 2007, 06:08 PM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(Skylinestar @ Jun 11 2007, 06:05 PM)
what do u want to power up with 2000W? lots of hdd and odd, with quad sli, octocore cpu?
preparing for PCIE 2.0 I think. PCIE 2.0 will break the constraints of 75W from the slot, expect future GC alone will take more than 300W by just the single card.
SUSAllnGap
post Jun 11 2007, 06:08 PM

[ Modding with Passion(tm) ]
4,561 posts

i've seen DELL server PSUs capable of giving 130Amps for the 12V line.....definitely can settle quad GPUs and definitely many many hard drives easily
taxidoor
post Jun 11 2007, 06:12 PM

1,008 posts

lol even the PSU is cheap i dun think will build up a PC more then 1kw

2kw can kill my TNB bill
TSjinaun
post Jun 11 2007, 06:14 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

^^

lol.. 2KW psu does not mean it suck 2KWH or 2 TNB units ever hour

apala..

This post has been edited by jinaun: Jun 11 2007, 06:15 PM
akachester
post Jun 11 2007, 06:16 PM

Its Life. Live with it!
7,689 posts

LOL..Even 1k is overkill now. Not to say 2k. How long will it take to really "fully" utilize the power...And the question is, what technology do we need in order to run it to the fullest..Already have a hard time scratching my head for hardwares that will take up 1k for now..And with the 1k priced around RM1k+ as well, no doubt this will surely be over RM2k+..
AceCombat
post Jun 11 2007, 10:16 PM

5,434 posts

maybe in the future the rig will be power hungry,well,if this psu is less than 80% efficiency,then our electric bill would be "nice"
yehlai
post Jun 11 2007, 10:18 PM

tree lover
4,539 posts

Thanks for sharing, here are some pics from Computex 2007 smile.gif
ThermalTake ToughPower 1500W and 2000W

http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/image.html?i...l8xMF9sLmpwZw==

http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/image.html?i...l8xMV9sLmpwZw==

http://enthusiast.hardocp.com/image.html?i...1dfMl82X2wuanBn

ToughPower definately the best PSU line from ThermalTake. nod.gif

This post has been edited by yehlai: Jun 11 2007, 10:26 PM
Lemmings
post Jun 11 2007, 10:34 PM

522 posts

I wonder who will need so much power ><
TSjinaun
post Jun 11 2007, 10:36 PM

where are my stars???
6,139 posts

toughpower are made by CWT

Suk
post Jun 11 2007, 10:56 PM

2,330 posts

use to psu to switch on Air-con
SUSInF.anime
post Jun 12 2007, 06:35 PM

2,695 posts

highest rate PSU not from PCPC or OCZ.. its Thermaltake. Quite shock..

This post has been edited by InF.anime: Jun 12 2007, 06:36 PM
pikacu
post Jun 12 2007, 07:47 PM

male tag rosak
7,740 posts

hmm, maybe that psu for later features at casing? such as peti ais sidepanel that use psu power...lol
ozgamerz
post Jun 12 2007, 08:03 PM

78 posts

With this new psu, ppl in countries that have 4 season, especially during winter, will not need to use heater. Cuz ur cpu can provide for it. It's 1 stone kill 2 birds
rockmaniac85
post Jun 12 2007, 09:18 PM

453 posts

Bigblock
post Jun 13 2007, 12:07 PM

|| F(R)έǎжy ||
2,275 posts

2KW is over kill lor, but yeah cards in future surely are going to draw more power.

0.0192sec    0.95    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:36 PM