Kancil - Radiator Problem?, Temperature goes up more than half...

SleeplessEyes
post Jun 11 2007, 07:00 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(garry_npm @ Jun 11 2007, 02:30 PM)
Hi all,

When driving non-stop (usually on highway), the Kancil's temperature is about 1/3 or 1/4.

However, when it stops or slows down at traffic lights or at heavy traffic roads, the temperature goes up to half.

If stuck in prolong traffic jams, goes up to almost 2/3, before the "red line" area).

Checked with the workshop - No leaking or loss of coolant. He can't even get the temperature up to half (the car is stationary, I guess need to move the car).

So, just asked the workshop to flush/wash the radiator (told me that 9 holes are blocked), and changed the coolant. Not sure if the 9 blocked holes are the culprit. Changing to a new radiator will cost me about RM270. Is that a fair price? Didn't change.

I noticed that Kancil has only 1 fan. This fan will switch on and off depending on the engine temperature and the some maybe 1 or 2 minutes interval (not sure about this).

I *think* the temperature goes up whenever the fan stops - I guess I can hear the fan is kicking in again during jams and the temperature goes down. And when the fan stops, the temperature goes up again. Is it advisable to switch the fan on non-stop?

Some other threads mentioned termostat - is it possible to tweak Kancil's to lower down the temperature so that the fan kicks in more often at lower temperature?
Thanks for your advices,
Garry
1 word. It is NORMAL if it goes up to middle mark.
When your temperature needle is showing at this point, it is usually around 90 degs Centrigrade and it's the OPTIMUM engine temperature.
Usually at this point, when it goes slightly above half mark,

i) your radiator fan kicks in, and it takes a while to cool it back to slightly below the middle mark. Again this is Normal.
ii) Your water thermostat has already open fully.

I assume that you are not using the air-conditioning system because whenever your air-cond's compressor kicks in, the fan also spins.

But however please becareful if it's reaching very very close to the first line of the H mark. Pull over if you must.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Jun 11 2007, 07:07 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Jun 11 2007, 07:18 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(ecko @ Jun 11 2007, 04:16 PM)
the cost last time i did the bypass is rm5 only...only need one wire..un plug the wire to the termostat then ground it..very easy...as fas as im concern it solve my kancil temperature problem....stucked in jammed for 3 hours also the temperature never reach half....been by pass the termostat for almost 6 years without any problem with the fan motor..still running strong...
i think there is no effect when u bypass the thermostat..not effect the engine power...
this temperature problem only happen to several kancil only..others kancil like my fren no need to bypass the thermostat also ok....just luck la..hehe
If I were you, I would not do this option of taking away the thermostat and directly connecting to the fan.
Why? It's very obvious that this solution is not only non-street smart idea (no, I am not insulting your ideas) but its actually running away from the actual problem.

I've got friends who did that too on their Nissan Sunnys.They all fear like TS/garry_npm,with reasons that seeing the temperature needle at half-mark freaks them out.
NO!! At Half mark, it's still at the engine's safe operating temperature,in fact it's optimum temperature, at it is around 90degs Celcius.By then, the water thermostat has open to its maximum, fans should be running.

Usually older designed cars such as Nissan Sunny & Kancils, they run cooler when they are cruising. When you see your temperature needle at 1/4 mark, thats around 75 degs Celcius. Thats where your thermostat should start opening by then and maintaining it there while cruising.

Running a radiator fan permanently all the time serves no advantage at all but more disdvantages to an N/A, unmodified engine.

i) Your engine will run below it's optimum temperature
- Higher fuel consumption
- Higher wear and tear to the engine
- Higher emissions (For those who are really concerned)

ii) Your fan motor will have shorter life

iii) Your engine will take alot longer to warm up to it's optimum temperature
- Higher emissions (For those who are really concerned)
- Higher fuel consumptions.

So if anything obviously beyond 3/4 mark always (or very close to the HOT mark), then you have to check your coolants for dirty or radiator for blockage or check your pressure cap in case it's weak.

P.s- I am a Automotive Engineering student,I know what i am typing,and I hope you trust my words.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Jun 11 2007, 07:25 PM
SleeplessEyes
post Jun 15 2007, 12:51 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(garry_npm @ Jun 13 2007, 10:18 PM)
Ecko, how does battery grounding and it being loose affect the indicator? Blur... smile.gif

Btw, it seems I can't change the individual temperature indicator/needle. Need to change entire panel (including speedometer, mileage gauge, etc). Sigh.. How much should that cost?

Poor ground will not affect just 1 temperature meter. It will make the entire electrical system perform poorly, theorically. That includes your headlamps, radio, etc. Your headlamps will be dimmer and your radio will have poorer sounds.

I just dont see any relations, Ecko, in just affecting 1 meter.

Added on June 15, 2007, 12:54 pm
QUOTE(ecko @ Jun 14 2007, 10:26 AM)
i sounds not connected rite??sound funny rite??hehe...lazy to explain la..heehe
My advice, is if you cannot suggest a good solution, then dont bother typing. shakehead.gif
Just sit back and observe.

it will only make you look more stupid if you write more silly suggestions.

Yes I know you're gonna say next "This is a public forum and I have all rights to talk and type whatever I wish and whatever I want",
but as I mentioned earlier,
it will only make you look more stupid if you write more silly suggestions

P.s- This is my advice for you. If you take it as a insult, I cant help you on this one.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Jun 15 2007, 01:00 PM

0.0158sec    0.81    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:14 AM