Chat CIMB kena hack?

se7en
post Dec 16 2018, 10:33 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

something is definitely wrong with the cimb clicks login page. we are investigating.
se7en
post Dec 16 2018, 10:50 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

ok, ran through their page, apart from the recaptcha, nothing else to worry about.

and for the record, using recaptcha on a bank login page is plain dumb.
se7en
post Dec 16 2018, 11:43 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Dec 16 2018, 11:40 PM)
Aik? se7en keeps on changing the frontpage title.
sorry about that, the more we dig, the more shit we are getting. for now, all i can say is this is going to be VERY bad.
se7en
post Dec 16 2018, 11:43 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

QUOTE(alpha001 @ Dec 16 2018, 11:42 PM)
so reCAPTCHA not an issue?
i can safely say now, they abruptly implemented the recaptcha, to avoid further damage.
se7en
post Dec 16 2018, 11:46 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Dec 16 2018, 11:44 PM)
So.....I presume it is pointless for us to change cimb password right now? sweat.gif
wouldn't say its pointless, but you probably need to keep changing it till they fix it up.

My suggestion, use an online random password generator, to get a really complex password.
se7en
post Dec 17 2018, 11:32 AM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

QUOTE(feiraron @ Dec 17 2018, 11:20 AM)
I think this has become a bit of a convoluted mess:

Lets summarize a bit

1) CIMBClicks used to only allow 8 characters in password

2) Knowing that only allowing 8 characters in password is dumb, CIMB increased it to allow for longer until 20 characters this month

3) This is where i think the bug happen, those who have not changed their password after the change in (2), can login with extra characters

4) those who then change their password, can no longer login with extra characters <---- PROOF that it is not an intended feature

5) Brute Force attack may or may not be related, but timing is interesting. We know got brute force because thats what the recaptcha is for.

6) Some are questioning whether extra characters at the end is security compromise if the attacker would need to know the original password anyway (hence the brute force). BUT read about buffer overflow attack and you would now that it is a point of vulnerability in a system that are suppose to be water tight because it safeguard money. They may or may not be using this vulnerability, nobody knows

7) Those who are attacked (due to weak password/ using the same password as leaked in previous database leak -im looking at you jobstreet-), somehow got their debit card linked to an unknown paypal, and it will then be use to pay somebody (may or may not be third party and unrelated)
1. This was a long long time ago

2. My password has been 12-15 characters for the last one year at the very least, so they removed the 8 character limit sometime back.

3. Considering how passwords are stored, their algorithm is messed up to say the least.

4. True, which means either they have migrated to storing the password in one way hashes, or they just changed the function.

5. When you know for sure that the password is 8 characters long, brute forcing becomes super easy, especially with all the data leaks that has been happening. Most people, even if they use different passwords, tend to keep the same first few letters.

6. The time it takes to crack a 8 digit password is under 5 minutes. Throw in characters and it takes closer to an hour. The problem here is that CIMB doesn't block login failures. And instead of blocking login failures, they implement a reCaptcha. Stupid smart.

se7en
post Dec 17 2018, 11:49 AM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

QUOTE(red1982 @ Dec 17 2018, 11:43 AM)
Yup the password i use was more than 8 characters . dunno why they suddenly tekankan now can use more than 8 characters ..

I have to agree that captcha thingy its not good but good to solve the bots . but i dunno seems that recaptcha is also not reliable .. CIMB should done inhouse on the security aspect ..
Implementing reCaptcha is their way of saying their system sucks so bad that they need to implement such a low level protection to keep bots away. A proper firewall would stop bots dead in their tracks. A lock out mechanism for wrong passwords would protect accounts. You're a billion ringgit bank for gods sake. Is this the best you can do?

se7en
post Dec 17 2018, 12:08 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

QUOTE(ZeaXG @ Dec 17 2018, 12:02 PM)
Yes, there is a leak of debit card details. My debit card never use before, not even for ATM. It's just sitting in my house drawer also kena leaked and the criminal used my card at Australia. Lucky only swiped RM35 and CIMB already refunded it.
mad.gif  mad.gif  bangwall.gif
let me tell you why it was only charged RM35, and why CIMB is more then willing to refund you the RM35 to keep you quiet.

While scammers are more then happy to swipe large amounts on credit cards, they will not do so with a debit card because its linked to an account. No money in account, transaction rejected, the card gets flagged. These transactions are usually done on legitimate sites or via paypal as its easier to go through.

What they will do is test it out with a small transaction, and then sell the card details on the dark web. Once the people who deal in siphoning money out of credit cards gets the card details, they will then use it via shady payment gateways to clear your account right to the last ringgit.

So yes, if your card has been used once for any purchase without your authorization, destroy it and get a new one.
se7en
post Dec 17 2018, 12:36 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

guys, those of you who got charged on your debit card, reported to CIMB, and was refunded, did CIMB also issue you with a new card after the incident?
se7en
post Dec 17 2018, 12:55 PM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

will just leave this here for now

se7en
post Dec 18 2018, 08:26 AM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

Anybody who filed a complaint with CIMB for fraudulent paypal charges on their debit card, and got refunded, could you PM me a screenshot of how the refund was credited back into your account please.
se7en
post Dec 18 2018, 08:49 AM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

QUOTE(Kerplunk @ Dec 18 2018, 08:46 AM)
Can confirm,my cousin's account was compromised and she lost RM1K+. Was shocked because we never expect it to be someone close to us.

Well the good news is after reporting the matter to CIMB,they told her she will be fully reimbursed after an investigation is completed. However, it's gonna take about 15 - 17 business days. I tried to probe further on the nature of the security breach but she's keeping mum about it.

I hope CIMB honours their word though.it would be such a malaysian thing to do if they just put their hands up and declare "hey none of this is our fault,hence we can't compensate you a single cent."
Don't worry, from what we have gathered so far, they are compensating everybody. The question we are trying to figure out now is if they are actually reversing the transaction at source, and getting back the money, or are they just compensating from their own pockets to keep the real issue out of the spotlight.
se7en
post Dec 18 2018, 10:41 AM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

QUOTE(sevenegg @ Dec 18 2018, 10:27 AM)
so weird, i cant get it done tho. alphanumeric with special character, but is it a must not using 3 consecutive character in the password (abcd1234)? or any character same as clicks id or secure words?
you need at least one small character, one capital character and one special character in your new password. And yes, it doesn't actually prompt you properly for this during the password change.

QUOTE(feiraron @ Dec 18 2018, 10:28 AM)
yes, i think its related, to accounts with 8 character password being broken into by bruteforce

because to link card to paypal, they will charge you 1 usd, then you need the code written on the description of that charge, which typically you can see in cimbclicks in 1-2 days
No. We are very sure both the issues are not related (which is actually a bad thing because there is two concurrent issues happening here).

QUOTE(fhmhlm @ Dec 18 2018, 10:34 AM)
Guys, simple question.

Is it safe for me to use CIMB clicks now? or should I wait for things to settle down and go find CDM instead
Yes, transacting on CIMB Clicks is safe. The login protocols are a bit crappy but otherwise its safe. Once you're in, and if you have not changed your password after November 18, please do it immediately.

0.0611sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:36 AM