Chat CIMB kena hack?

RicoT
post Dec 17 2018, 03:23 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ Dec 17 2018, 03:06 PM)
its not about conflict, it about the .substring(0, 8) part.

means if it doesn't satisfy the first condition, it will only take the first 8 characters of the password

e.g:

your password is 123456789
since it doesn't satisfy the first condition, it will take first 8 characters which is 12345678

logically, 123456789 is not the same as 12345678. even if you plainly compare it is not the same.
so those who want to attack the site, just need to guess for 8 characters which lessen the time to guess a correct password

what they should do (IMO) is just send the password to server as it is instead of plainly showing to the world the checking.
This 8 digit cut off been around for sometime no?
RicoT
post Dec 17 2018, 03:40 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ Dec 17 2018, 03:28 PM)
i think this happened due to the new password format.
should be appear the same time when they implement the new format for password
Last time was 8 alphanumeric characters, the password input during login will stop after typing 8 characters, then later it accepts many characters but only the first 8 will be taken. Been like that for sometime.
RicoT
post Dec 17 2018, 05:23 PM

200 posts

One question, I noticed a hotel employee jotted down my full credit card number, expiry date and the numbers behind. Is it normal or I should sound the manager?
RicoT
post Dec 17 2018, 05:36 PM

200 posts

QUOTE(teehk_tee @ Dec 17 2018, 05:24 PM)
say goodbye to your card
QUOTE(WooTz @ Dec 17 2018, 05:27 PM)
time to cut the card bro

that's like handing someone your ATM card with the PIN written on it
QUOTE(Clan204 @ Dec 17 2018, 05:29 PM)
nowdays even you book online they need  full details of your card.
QUOTE(haimirmaya @ Dec 17 2018, 05:30 PM)
Pin code 3 digit must be keep secretly. They should not taken that.
I booked the hotel online, then the receptionist says need too record down. It is a reputable 4 star hotel with many branches in Malaysia.

Maybe during check out, I will ask for that paper she jotted down.

This post has been edited by RicoT: Dec 17 2018, 05:37 PM
RicoT
post Dec 21 2018, 02:35 PM

200 posts

For the PayPal issue, most probably CIMB data leak on debit card numbers, not every debit card was affected I think. The expiry date can be guessed because of the Paywave MyDebit mandatory change back then. Most debit and credit card will expire around 2022, July onwards. CVV behind the card is algorithmically generated, just a check sum, can be reverse engineered if the hacker knows how. If the list contains these info, even easier for the hacker to register PayPal or oversea card payment without TAC.

This post has been edited by RicoT: Dec 21 2018, 02:36 PM

0.0654sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:37 PM