Chat CIMB kena hack?

KingArthurVI
post Dec 17 2018, 10:14 AM

BWOAHHHH
1,126 posts

QUOTE(RichardN @ Dec 17 2018, 10:09 AM)
I tried login with my password and add random character behind also can login... wadafak
Notice how everyone's CIMB Clicks password can only be 8 chars long? So whatever you typed in, they take just the first 8 characters. rclxub.gif F-ing dumb
KingArthurVI
post Dec 17 2018, 04:11 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,126 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Dec 17 2018, 03:56 PM)
I received this sms on 6 dec as well!!! Never ever use cimb debit card before
So looks like there's a way to disable online transactions for the debit card? How do I do that?
KingArthurVI
post Dec 17 2018, 06:58 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,126 posts

QUOTE(heinlein @ Dec 17 2018, 04:14 PM)
doubt it will work, my cards are deactivated by default and the transaction still proceed without tac and msos

Argh, this sucks. Also realized the spending limit can only be lowered to 1k via CIMB Clicks. rclxub.gif
KingArthurVI
post Dec 17 2018, 07:13 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,126 posts

Since most of the fraudulent transactions seem to have been made via PayPal, people should add their debit cards to PayPal if they haven't yet kena, because according to PayPal FAQ (https://www.paypal.com/ck/smarthelp/article/can-i-register-a-credit-card-on-more-than-one-paypal-account-faq1757):

Q: Can I register a credit card on more than one PayPal account?

A: No. For your security, you can add a debit or credit card to just one PayPal account at a time.

So if you can't seem to add your card to a PayPal account then chances are your card has been compromised, go to bank and get it replaced ASAP.

This post has been edited by KingArthurVI: Dec 17 2018, 07:13 PM
KingArthurVI
post Dec 17 2018, 07:51 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,126 posts

QUOTE(MiLKTea @ Dec 17 2018, 07:22 PM)
Thing is I dont even want to use PayPal =.=

What if I link my card to PayPal already then someone use hack my PayPal account?
The CIMB incident is confirmed but PayPal hacking we don't know when it'll happen. Would you rather stay safe now or remain vulnerable while the confirmed incident is already happening?
KingArthurVI
post Dec 17 2018, 08:12 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,126 posts

QUOTE(paradiseisland8 @ Dec 17 2018, 08:10 PM)
Is it ok to change password? Why some say not to log in cimbclicks?

Also are other banks affected?
The website itself is fine, it's better to log in now and change your password so any old password that was compromised is no longer valid. Make sure the site is HTTPS. Make sure it's above 8 chars long, ideally 16-20 chars long.
KingArthurVI
post Dec 18 2018, 01:30 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,126 posts

Just change CIMB Clicks password and go get your debit card replaced, done

0.0176sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:37 PM