245 posts

Hi all

I used to use a redmi note 4

I changed it because Gps was quite unreliable

I used a honor 7x for 9 months the gps was spot on

But after the pocophone came out I decided to give xiaomi a try again

And holy crap is the GPS issue is still as annoying as ever
I mean come on it's 2 years how can it not be fixed!?

Either In Waze or maps it's still the same

Searching for GPS sign never goes away.

Is this common issue ?

I tried a few solutions from Google and they just don't do anything
cherrios
post Dec 14 2018, 02:25 PM

35 posts

nah, my MIUI 10 , Mi 8 PRO works like charm
SUSeksk
post Dec 14 2018, 02:29 PM

586 posts

my mi max 2 used for 9 months no problem
DoomHammer
post Dec 14 2018, 02:33 PM

228 posts

my Redmi 3S bought in 2016 works fine until now
TSTOHNO
post Dec 14 2018, 02:33 PM

245 posts

No way

I can't be that unlucky to use two problematic xiaomi sad.gif
DoomHammer
post Dec 14 2018, 02:36 PM

228 posts

QUOTE(TOHNO @ Dec 14 2018, 02:33 PM)
No way

hmm.gif I don't now what to say. Previously my Redmi Note 2 was bad. Depends on luck... but I can confirm Huawei phones do have very good antenna.
TBJ
post Dec 14 2018, 02:36 PM

374 posts

lucky u
csneo
post Dec 14 2018, 02:43 PM

398 posts

A2 easy no signal
aepock
post Dec 14 2018, 02:43 PM

181 posts

i got a mi6 ...instant regret, gps sucks max.cannot lock in position at all...sell it at loss and never touch mi phone after that

This post has been edited by aepock: Dec 14 2018, 02:44 PM
H3artBreakKid
post Dec 14 2018, 02:47 PM

💔💔💔
455 posts

pocophone user here with custom rom, so far no issue thumbup.gif
hoilok
post Dec 14 2018, 02:47 PM

1,165 posts

the GPS is not that good
wilsonyong8850
post Dec 14 2018, 02:49 PM

404 posts

QUOTE(TOHNO @ Dec 14 2018, 02:33 PM)
No way

I'm sorry for you bro. I totally understand your frustration and had the same experience before with 3 HTC phones. After that change to Samseng then change to Xiaomi all no problem.
QWERTYUIOP12
post Dec 14 2018, 03:03 PM

570 posts

You is a UMobile user ?

This post has been edited by QWERTYUIOP12: Dec 14 2018, 03:47 PM
Ludwig.
post Dec 14 2018, 03:05 PM

LOOOL
539 posts

MIUI 10.1 Pocophone F1 is working fine.

you might want to look into your internet connection/line
zemega
post Dec 14 2018, 03:07 PM

723 posts

Which chipset? The phones with MT is not so reliable compared to SD.
WiLeKiyO
post Dec 14 2018, 04:28 PM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(TOHNO @ Dec 14 2018, 02:23 PM)
Hi all

I used to use a redmi note 4

I changed it because Gps was quite unreliable

I used a honor 7x for 9 months the gps was spot on

But after the pocophone came out I decided to give xiaomi a try again

And holy crap is the GPS issue is still as annoying as ever
I mean come on it's 2 years how can it not be fixed!?

Either In Waze or maps it's still the same

Searching for GPS sign never goes away.

Is this  common issue ?

I tried a few solutions from Google and they just don't do anything
Are you using UMobile?
TSTOHNO
post Dec 14 2018, 05:13 PM

245 posts

Yeap I'm using Umobile is that the cause ?
QWERTYUIOP12
post Dec 14 2018, 06:05 PM

570 posts

QUOTE(TOHNO @ Dec 14 2018, 05:13 PM)
WiLeKiyO
siang930615
post Dec 14 2018, 06:49 PM

276 posts

i would say Yes

WiLeKiyO
post Dec 14 2018, 06:50 PM

5,144 posts

QUOTE(QWERTYUIOP12 @ Dec 14 2018, 06:05 PM)
WiLeKiyO
It could be.

I'm ex-U Mobile user, all my phones had crappy GPS signal until I switch to Celcom.

Now my GPS usually instead lock.
QWERTYUIOP12
post Dec 14 2018, 08:48 PM

570 posts

UMobile & Xiaomi devices seems not matched untill this days 🤦🏽‍♂️ It has something to do with the U Mobile APN setting. Should you set to UMobile 4g if I'm not mistaken. Somebody has posted the solution last year but I can't remember well where I read them. Either in Xiaomi devices subsubforum in Android subforum or Lazada Discussion thread in Kopitiam section.

0.0167sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 01:51 PM