hybrid or electric more cost efficient?

SUSSammich!
post Dec 11 2018, 07:05 AM, updated 6y ago

620 posts

anyone made that comparison before?

with the rise on cost of petrol, they are the only alternative we have.

hybrid will save a significant amount of petrol but the battery needs to be replaced every few years which costs a bomb.

electric although eliminate petrol but everyday need to charge which will add up significantly too in the cost of electric.
19 Degree South
post Dec 11 2018, 07:08 AM

1,480 posts

So the conclusion is?
fireballs
post Dec 11 2018, 07:24 AM

5,627 posts

Plugin hybrid is the best of both world.
So far the extend range ev only from generalmotor
lil_flank
post Dec 11 2018, 07:48 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(Sammich! @ Dec 11 2018, 07:05 AM)
anyone made that comparison before?

with the rise on cost of petrol, they are the only alternative we have.

hybrid will save a significant amount of petrol but the battery needs to be replaced every few years which costs a bomb.

electric although eliminate petrol but everyday need to charge which will add up significantly too in the cost of electric.
Electric also need to change the battery too!
sah147
post Dec 11 2018, 07:52 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Dec 11 2018, 07:24 AM)
The drawback is it basically has two powertrains, making it heavier and more expensive to maintain.

A battery electric vehicle (BEV) is much simpler and therefore cheaper to maintain. The battery pack typically comes with an 8 year warranty.

However the up-front cost is higher.

SUSSammich!
post Dec 11 2018, 08:15 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Dec 11 2018, 07:08 AM)
So the conclusion is?
conclusion is im asking u guys opinion lol
sah147
post Dec 11 2018, 08:22 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(lil_flank @ Dec 11 2018, 07:48 AM)
Electric also need to change the battery too!
The older hybrids using old NiMh battery technology is problematic in our climate due to inefficient cooling systems. However there are many ways to replace them cheaply. Check out this FB group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/HVBatRepair/

The newer hybrid cars use Lithium based battery chemistries and have superior cooling systems. BMW says their batteries will last the life of the car!
asdasd
post Dec 11 2018, 08:23 AM

323 posts

dont just look at the cost. you also need to remember charging station is only available at limited locations and almost impossible to find outside major cities. until the infra is established, EV is really not a good option. hopefully things will change soon.
sah147
post Dec 11 2018, 08:30 AM

117 posts

QUOTE(asdasd @ Dec 11 2018, 08:23 AM)
dont just look at the cost. you also need to remember charging station is only available at limited locations and almost impossible to find outside major cities. until the infra is established, EV is really not a good option. hopefully things will change soon.
For normal daily use to work and back, assuming that you can charge overnight at home, a BEV works very well.

lil_flank
post Dec 11 2018, 08:49 AM

472 posts

QUOTE(sah147 @ Dec 11 2018, 08:22 AM)
The older hybrids using old NiMh battery technology is problematic in our climate due to inefficient cooling systems. However there are many ways to replace them cheaply. Check out this FB group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/HVBatRepair/

The newer hybrid cars use Lithium based battery chemistries and have superior cooling systems. BMW says their batteries will last the life of the car!
Thanks for the info.
Lithium ion batteries need to keep at optimum level (i think between 30% to 90%) in order to work efficiently and prolong its usage. Watercooling system helps tremendously to keep the battery at optimum temperature. But even with this, lithium battery also dont last forever. Tats why the battery is recycle for other applications.
Hopefully the solid state lithium battery can come out quick coz this is a game changer to EV industry.
So far now, i think Malaysia is more suitable for plug in hybrid cars but without the tax incentives from the current government, i dont think EV, HEV or PHEV would attract customers.

This post has been edited by lil_flank: Dec 11 2018, 08:49 AM
leon898
post Dec 11 2018, 08:54 AM

733 posts

hybrid la..win win.
hiway can switch to gasoline, going to jam packed city driving can switch to electric mode.
keyser soze
post Dec 11 2018, 08:59 AM

521 posts

Hybrid is the worst. You have 2 engine and 2 sets of control. Lack of space, heavy vehicle. Too many components to repair.
fireballs
post Dec 11 2018, 09:16 AM

5,627 posts

i think the best is chevvy bolt.

when emergency use the pasar malam generator to charge
ledtechn
post Dec 11 2018, 09:31 AM

55 posts

Ev with range extender is the best
mingyuyu
post Dec 11 2018, 10:04 AM

B A N N E D
3,248 posts

most modern EVs have good enough range to last for a week or so of short commutes.

biggest problem is charging stations are a pain to locate, even in US.
vin_ann
post Dec 11 2018, 01:19 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(fireballs @ Dec 11 2018, 07:24 AM)
And Nissan Note E-POWER car

Too bad, TC not launching just showcase Kasi consumer syok
System Error Message
post Dec 11 2018, 08:07 PM

1,781 posts

Malaysia lacks charging stations, i'd recommend a hybrid or Electric with range extender. Fun tip though, older diesel cars can run on recycled and processed cooking oil, newer ones would require a tune up to do that and a stricter fuel processing to ensure it is within the tolerances of the injectors. Malaysia also lacks ethanol fuel from plants.

Top gear once did a project where they grew a bunch of plants and turned them into diesel, and had fun with a used BMW diesel around a race, they didnt bother with processing the diesel properly to see how much they could get from very little. Just as long as you process your alternative diesels to the same standards as the cheaper diesel at the pump your fuel source is going to be super cheap.

Fully electric makes sense if your trips are within its range and that you charge it at home overnight daily, like with phones. While batteries do have to be replaced, just remember that lithiums will go through 500 full cycles. That means that you'd have to have recharged your c ar's battery for 500 + times before it deteriorates but it will also deteriorate from time. So how often you have to change your car's battery will be based on how much you drive or 5 years. While batteries may not be environmentally friendly or a cheap thing to replace, full electric / electric with range extender have the lowest maintenance cost of the bunch so the higher cost of replacing the batteries get negated. You also get more torque with a full electric and less strain on the motors and powertrain (you can blow your powertrain/engine on a normal vehicle if you overload it).

This post has been edited by System Error Message: Dec 11 2018, 08:08 PM
sah147
post Dec 11 2018, 08:21 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(System Error Message @ Dec 11 2018, 08:07 PM)

Fully electric makes sense if your trips are within its range and that you charge it at home overnight daily, like with phones. While batteries do have to be replaced, just remember that lithiums will go through 500 full cycles. That means that you'd have to have recharged your c ar's battery for  500 + times before it deteriorates but it will also deteriorate from time. So how often you have to change your car's battery will be based on how much you drive or 5 years. While batteries may not be environmentally friendly or a cheap thing to replace, full electric / electric with range extender have the lowest maintenance cost of the bunch so the higher cost of replacing the batteries get negated. You also get more torque with a full electric and less strain on the motors and powertrain (you can blow your powertrain/engine on a normal vehicle if you overload it).
Some real-life data here - it seems that

The trend line currently suggests that the average battery pack could cycle through over 300,000 km (186,000) before coming close to 90% capacity.
sah147
post Dec 11 2018, 08:36 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(System Error Message @ Dec 11 2018, 08:07 PM)
Malaysia lacks charging stations, i'd recommend a hybrid or Electric with range extender.
Actually, if you can charge your BEV at home and don't go outstation, you'll hardly ever need public charging stations.

Outside of KL, you'll have to do some planning.

Assume a Kona EV with 470km range. You can make it from KL to JB without having to charge, and if you say at Jen Hotel you can recharge back to full in about 4 hours.

If you go Penang, you can stay at the Equatorial and top up there.

Ipoh has the 22kW BMW chargers at the Weil Hotel.

East Coast is tricky. As for now, no charging stations other than Gambang Petronas and Pekan Petronas.

System Error Message
post Dec 11 2018, 08:50 PM

1,781 posts

QUOTE(sah147 @ Dec 11 2018, 08:36 PM)
Actually, if you can charge your BEV at home and don't go outstation, you'll hardly ever need public charging stations.

Outside of KL, you'll have to do some planning.

Assume a Kona EV with 470km range. You can make it from KL to JB without having to charge, and if you say at Jen Hotel you can recharge back to full in about 4 hours.

If you go Penang, you can stay at the Equatorial and top up there.

Ipoh has the 22kW BMW chargers at the Weil Hotel.

East Coast is tricky. As for now, no charging stations other than Gambang Petronas and Pekan Petronas.
I know thats why if you read fully you'd notice i said that a fully electric is fine if all your trips are within range and you charge at home daily. However you have to consider electric costs too and wattage. with TNB the premium price for electricity can approach first world if you use too much a month.

TNB charges over 50 cents per KWh on premium house rates which is why some places offer free charge points (though you still pay for parking lol) and most managed accommodations dont even provide a plug in the parking spots (high rise accommodations basically), so it can be a problem especially in the city where it would be the most effective in. We still do need aircons though and fuel consumption at standstill for normal cars are actually quite high. Even though many people argue against stop start systems when the main problem was their implementation.

We also should not be restricted to just 1 destination just because it has a charge point. Technically you should be able to recharge your EV or hybrid via a regular plug too which can be plentiful except in many parking spots.

0.0147sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:33 PM