> My Apartment Renovation, A-Z about my Apartement Renovation

ar188
post Dec 10 2018, 11:08 PM

9,188 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Dec 10 2018, 10:51 PM)
Itu la. Mdm TS should contact ar188 and PowerPc for their excellent wood.
too high class. over 100k kitchen wei. sweat.gif
TSMrs.A
post Dec 10 2018, 11:09 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Dec 10 2018, 10:51 PM)
Itu la. Mdm TS should contact ar188 and PowerPc for their excellent wood.
I do contact PowerPC, still no time to check out his products yet, but plan to do something else with his “excellent” wood. And please pardon me, your “excellent” sometimes a bit different with my taste, I’m just nobody with no knowledge in carpentry. smile.gif if i like it, I can afford it, then I pay. That’s how I build my “home”.
TSMrs.A
post Dec 10 2018, 11:15 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Dec 10 2018, 10:41 PM)
This Mdm not looking at 15K kitchen cabinet wooo. This is your league  cool2.gif

But she went for teak when she could get your white oak...oh my  shocking.gif
I almost considering white oak, because I do love Oakwood. Used to live with full of Oakwood furniture. The problem is my carpenter has no experience to make the design and finishing that I want with white oak.. but already know his workmanship well on teak, and I’m very happy with it, so I go for teak..
TSMrs.A
post Dec 10 2018, 11:17 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 10 2018, 10:44 PM)
hopefully she didnt pay for plantation indo teak instead of the scarce teak  biggrin.gif
Oh well don’t worry, it’s worth every penny. smile.gif
ijan
post Dec 11 2018, 11:00 AM

The one with a boring life...
3,444 posts

You Mdm Ts is a very unique woman. You know your stuff well, not like many. Do share your kitchen, I cannot imagine a RM119k kitchen.

(plus you are rich, but everyone in LYN /k also rich)
TSMrs.A
post Dec 11 2018, 12:05 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Dec 11 2018, 11:00 AM)
You Mdm Ts is a very unique woman. You know your stuff well, not like many. Do share your kitchen, I cannot imagine a RM119k kitchen.

(plus you are rich, but everyone in LYN /k also rich)
Don’t get wrong, I’m not rich. We’re just have enough. The reason why I created this thread is not to give an idea about getting the most expensive things for your home. I just want to share my own journey, the most expensive thing if it’s not perfect it wouldn’t give me any happiness instead of grievances. It’s about the passion.. taste.. preference.. Regardless how much money that you spend to build your home, make sure it’s worth every cents for you. For an example, You are pointing out at my 119K cabinets. Sir, do read my explanations why I go for it. Most of the contractors quoted me 75-80K for plywood.. you can say it’s much cheaper but it’s plywood you know.. you spend 80k on plywood cabinets with the “Good” quality level... for me it’s too pricey. Why I go for the highest spec of Toyota Camry if by top up abit I can get C-class Benz, it’s for me.. my preference..
TSMrs.A
post Dec 11 2018, 12:43 PM

309 posts

By today almost all of the bathrooms and kitchen walls+ Marble floor almost completely gone.

Lucky I got plumber to manage everything related to pipes, fittings, and other apparatus of water supply, sanitation, and heating systems. So the hacking boys just focus to remove the wall+floor. Oh by the way, these people that I engage are not from Indonesia or Bangladesh or chinese. At first I was convinced that if I want a really good one I must go for chinese contractor, then I realised that we can’t really judge people by their race before we witnessing their works.. *myownexperience smile.gif smile.gif their rate about RM11(you should nego by urself). What I like most from them is their work ethics. Careful and pay attention for everything while hacking. Not just do it blindly. They also give me input and discuss things if there’s anything that concern them regarding the project. I think it’s pretty fair. My Apartement gotta big glass+frame(u can see on the picture @1st page) that connected to the building/floor, it’s required an extra care while removing the marble. And I think they did a very good job so far.

This post has been edited by Mrs.A: Dec 11 2018, 01:04 PM
ijan
post Dec 11 2018, 12:44 PM

The one with a boring life...
3,444 posts

Mdm Ts, RM80k on plywood cabinet is mahal, no matter how good it is.

No worries, i'm not getting you wrong, i understand you perfectly on your selection. My gomen lawyer friend beli RM12k handbag, and i'm the only one who told her, go for it, you deserved it, because you worked for it.
quintesson
post Dec 11 2018, 12:44 PM

559 posts

rich is one thing taste is another thing, i did see some rich people with poor taste deco. looking forward for a well taste deco here. thanks for sharing.

This post has been edited by quintesson: Dec 11 2018, 12:45 PM
TSMrs.A
post Dec 11 2018, 01:02 PM

309 posts

Another good things to get each specialist by yourself rather than engage one main contractor. Based on my own experience, when you engaged one contractor to do everything, usually they’ll sub-contract to their partner, and you’ll have less options/restriction to do whatever that you want or get the best out it. Oh well.. maybe I’m too fussy... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
TSMrs.A
post Dec 11 2018, 01:07 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(ijan @ Dec 11 2018, 12:44 PM)
Mdm Ts, RM80k on plywood cabinet is mahal, no matter how good it is.

No worries, i'm not getting you wrong, i understand you perfectly on your selection. My gomen lawyer friend beli RM12k handbag, and i'm the only one who told her, go for it, you deserved it, because you worked for it.
smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif

TSMrs.A
post Dec 11 2018, 01:29 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(quintesson @ Dec 11 2018, 12:44 PM)
rich is one thing taste is another thing, i did see some rich people with poor taste deco. looking forward for a well taste deco here. thanks for sharing.
Thank for visiting this thread. Not only about the taste, but it’s about the function as well. There’s no point to get everything blink but completely dysfunctional hehehehe. Not only some rich.. but many.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif I’ve seen so many high end units that completely dysfunctional and with weird design. There’s several reasons, 1. Their ID fault, 2. They have no time/chance to build their home, 3. They are completely ignorant, 4. Some of the rich are so stingy biggrin.gif .

This post has been edited by Mrs.A: Dec 11 2018, 01:30 PM
TSMrs.A
post Dec 11 2018, 01:42 PM

309 posts

My strong advice for ID out there.. if you charge like 10K for Apartement/home design and consultation, 1. Listen to us let me tell you what we want, 2. Guide us, with an honest explanation and feedback. Not sweet sweet BS talk, 3. Use your knowledge to find the best solution for us, not relaying on your partner, or softly directing us to buy/order anything from your partner, 4. Willing to put your effort and heart, to make your clients dream house come true by helping them to get the specialist on their field with the best price to build/decor their home. 5, Do not take more advantage from your client out of the fee that they pay for your service. I believe you not only could get many clients, but also personal statisfaction smile.gif
ar188
post Dec 11 2018, 09:12 PM

9,188 posts

QUOTE(Mrs.A @ Dec 11 2018, 12:05 PM)
Don’t get wrong, I’m not rich. We’re just have enough.  The reason why I created this thread is not to give an idea about getting the most expensive things for your home. I just want to share my own journey, the most expensive thing if it’s not perfect it wouldn’t give me any happiness instead of grievances. It’s about the passion.. taste.. preference.. Regardless how much money that you spend to build your home, make sure it’s worth every cents for you. For an example, You are pointing out at my 119K cabinets. Sir, do read my explanations why I go for it. Most of the contractors quoted me 75-80K for plywood.. you can say it’s much cheaper but it’s plywood you know.. you spend 80k on plywood cabinets with the “Good” quality level... for me it’s too pricey. Why I go for the highest spec of Toyota Camry if by top up abit I can get C-class Benz, it’s for me.. my preference..
yeah but how you know your 119k cabinet is worth 119k? maybe they only used 20k worth of "teak" wood? hmm.gif
TSMrs.A
post Dec 12 2018, 12:59 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Dec 11 2018, 09:12 PM)
yeah but how you know your 119k cabinet is worth 119k? maybe they only used 20k worth of "teak" wood? hmm.gif
smile.gif smile.gif
luvox
post Dec 12 2018, 12:45 PM

626 posts

I think if u aim for perfect reno with no budget limit, should hire professional ID. Some details DIYer may miss or wireman may dont hv experty in it like lighting planning, make use of task light, accent light, ambient light.., photo or canvas size n height, deco, color matching... But if u r good in research, planning n have artistic gift, DIY ID is rewarding experience
TSMrs.A
post Dec 12 2018, 02:47 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(luvox @ Dec 12 2018, 12:45 PM)
I think if u aim for perfect reno with no budget limit, should hire professional ID. Some details DIYer may miss or wireman may dont hv experty in it like lighting planning, make use of task light, accent light, ambient light.., photo or canvas size n height, deco, color matching... But if u r good in research, planning n have artistic gift, DIY ID is rewarding experience
Definitely agree with you, was attempted to engaged several ID, I cancel the arrangements because either they’re “sweetly dragged me to” buy/order/use the services of their partner, or they tend to depending on their minimal source that they had rather than find a new solution. “This is not available on the market” “do this do that it’s beautiful” “the items and design that you requested is too.. (ugly,difficult,fancy,uncommon,etc etc you name it)”. And another thing that I notice, some that come up with unique ideas, either lack of the risk and safety analysis or neglecting the important of “functionality”. What’s the point you have an apartment that super unique and beautiful, yet dysfunctional and might be leaked, break, got problem in a matter of single digit year, or even months. I’d rather get everything from ikea biggrin.gif.... cheap but totally functional biggrin.gif. I guess I was just unlucky.. so i decided to do it DIY, no choice maaaahh... I do have budget limit smile.gif.
yoonyin
post Dec 12 2018, 07:04 PM

319 posts

QUOTE(Mrs.A @ Dec 12 2018, 02:47 PM)
Definitely agree with you, was attempted to engaged several ID, I cancel the arrangements because either they’re “sweetly dragged me to” buy/order/use the services of their partner, or they tend to depending on their minimal source that they had rather than find a new solution. “This is not available on the market” “do this do that it’s beautiful” “the items and design that you requested is too.. (ugly,difficult,fancy,uncommon,etc etc you name it)”. And another thing that I notice, some that come up with unique ideas, either lack of the risk and safety analysis or neglecting the important of “functionality”. What’s the point you have an apartment that super unique and beautiful, yet dysfunctional and might be leaked, break, got problem in a matter of single digit year, or even months. I’d rather get everything from ikea biggrin.gif.... cheap but totally functional biggrin.gif. I guess I was just unlucky.. so i decided to do it DIY, no choice maaaahh... I do have budget limit smile.gif.
Yea, there nothing can't be created from designing. ID/architecturer who said "this cant be done or not available in market" is never really excellence in their field. A true designer will always give alternate solution on unworkable idea, at least something similar in the line to solve the problem. Back in days, i watched tons of Interior Design variety show like 全能宅急变 from china, Before After (超级全能住宅改造王)from Japan. Mostly all the projects showed are superb!
TSMrs.A
post Dec 12 2018, 09:23 PM

309 posts

QUOTE(yoonyin @ Dec 12 2018, 07:04 PM)
Yea, there nothing can't be created from designing. ID/architecturer who said "this cant be done or not available in market" is never really excellence in their field. A true designer will always give alternate solution on unworkable idea, at least something similar in the line to solve the problem. Back in days, i watched tons of Interior Design variety show like 全能宅急变 from china, Before After (超级全能住宅改造王)from Japan. Mostly all the projects showed are superb!
Well.. probably the market demands also one of the reason why many Local ID a bit “lazy” taking the challenge.
TSMrs.A
post Dec 12 2018, 10:07 PM

309 posts

I’ll share some info about my flooring plan, I hope some sifu here can give me any advice and comment. I have zero knowledge in construction, all the plan is my own research and little discussion with my husband. After completely hack the old marble down to the slab (-+50mm), Here’s my flooring plan.

1. Supply and apply with new waterproofing materials above the slab aprox : 5mm

2.Supply and apply cement sand screed approx : 15mm

3. Supply and Apply the adhesive aprox : 10mm

4. Laying the marble 20mm(its already drylaid w/proof before)

5. Grouting the joint marble joint. (Which one better keracolor or ultacolor plus?)

6. Sealing the joint

7. Grinding/Polishing/Crystallisation

Feel free to give me any advice, thank you. If your comments gonna be “better ask your tiler laaahhh” please don’t bother to reply ok biggrin.gif. I’m happy to get many useful advices and discussions.

This post has been edited by Mrs.A: Dec 12 2018, 10:10 PM

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0191sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 10:35 PM