Loans & Scholarships [WTA] Dentistry prospect in Malaysia, heard from friends that its oversupplied

TSem0kia
post Dec 8 2018, 11:08 PM, updated 6y ago

Photography+Musician+Travelling
1,309 posts

Yo peeps,

First of all, I will appreciate whoever replies to this thread because any comments about the topic now will definitely add value to me. So my sister has just recently completed her pre U and she has expressed her interest to further her studies in Dentistry. After doing some research, we concluded that there aren't much choices when it comes to dentistry schools in Malaysia. Based on our findings, we only found MAHSA, IMU and SEGi and we planned to opt for MAHSA for its more reputable for the price it charge.

Now here's some of my doubts:

1. In the recent years, I heard that certain medic-related field is facing oversupply issue in Malaysia. Is dentistry one of them? I am worrying about my sis' employability after 5 years when her programme ends.

2. The programme fee varies a lot across local universities. Some can go up to RM500k while others at RM100k+. Regardless, they are all still a bit on the high side for both of my retired parents. Are there any good dentistry scholarships that you guys can recommend apart from the uni-offered ones?

3. Is MAHSA a good dentistry school? If not, are there any other recommendations? We do consider studying abroad option too. Heard that its more affordable to study dentistry in India but my parents are worried about her studying there alone. Any advice?

4. Is specialisation a necessity? I saw that some uni offered that but I am not sure if the added years will benefit my sis greatly as compared to gathering practical work experience.

5. Any other advice from our fellow dentists?

Thank you so much. Couldn't find a thread for dentist here so I decided to post this.

Hope it doesn't create any inconveniences.

limeuu
post Dec 12 2018, 06:13 PM

11,922 posts

Which pre u? What's the forecast result?
Batusai
post Mar 7 2019, 05:44 PM

Weeeeeee
2,039 posts

QUOTE(em0kia @ Dec 8 2018, 11:08 PM)
Yo peeps,

First of all, I will appreciate whoever replies to this thread because any comments about the topic now will definitely add value to me. So my sister has just recently completed her pre U and she has expressed her interest to further her studies in Dentistry. After doing some research, we concluded that there aren't much choices when it comes to dentistry schools in Malaysia. Based on our findings, we only found MAHSA, IMU and SEGi and we planned to opt for MAHSA for its more reputable for the price it charge.

1. In the recent years, I heard that certain medic-related field is facing oversupply issue in Malaysia. Is dentistry one of them? I am worrying about my sis' employability after 5 years when her programme ends.

2. The programme fee varies a lot across local universities. Some can go up to RM500k while others at RM100k+. Regardless, they are all still a bit on the high side for both of my retired parents. Are there any good dentistry scholarships that you guys can recommend apart from the uni-offered ones?

3. Is MAHSA a good dentistry school? If not, are there any other recommendations? We do consider studying abroad option too. Heard that its more affordable to study dentistry in India but my parents are worried about her studying there alone. Any advice?

4. Is specialisation a necessity? I saw that some uni offered that but I am not sure if the added years will benefit my sis greatly as compared to gathering practical work experience.

Thank you so much. Couldn't find a thread for dentist here so I decided to post this.

Not sure if it is too late to reply to this but yeah. Hope this is useful. Just my opinion and I myself is a Dental Graduate in 2016 now working in private sector.

1. No doubt the amount of Dentist is rising in recent years, problem from having private institutes churning out dentists uncontrollably. It is more of an issue of not having enough resources or place for us to practice. The facilities are not increasing as the numbers of worker are increasing. Dentist need chair and space for their work but our government isnt supplying enough therefore graduates have to wait for their posting. But now the system has change whereby it will be under contract basis so not all dentist will get a permanent post in the gov sector. So most of them probably have to come out to the private sector eventually.

Adding on the private sector scene, due to increasing number of dentist, there has been a lot opening of new dental clinics especially franchising clinics etc. They get to hire dentist to work for them and dentist will either get a fixed pay or commission based on whichever higher.

Its hard to say what can happen in the next 5 years, dental is a professional service. There will always be a demand for it and as long as you're doing good work, people know and eventually will come to you.

2. Some dental groups do offer a small scholarship to those who want to pursue dentistry, of course you will end up getting bonded. PTPTN is also a good alternative to start with.

3. Looks like you're limited to dental schools in Klang Valley? PIDC, AIMST, Melaka Manipal, Lincoln also offer dentistry course as well.

Studying full time in India is cheaper for sure. Some people actually did their full 5 years in India and they survived, it takes some time to get use to and just gotta be careful when you plan to go out at night and never go alone.

4. Basically a Dental Degree will prepare you on the clinical diagnosis, treatment planning for different dental problems. Plus the compulsory service with Gov where you practically do cases everyday will further improve your skills. Specialization will be focusing more on the subject that you're taking and eventually grant you the title of Specialist. And one does not specialize straight after their degree, usually a specialization course will require a minimum few years of working experience before you can enroll into the specialist course.

5. If her interest is in dentistry, go for it! She can request to observe in a dental clinic how a dentist work and get a feeling of it and see if she likes it or not first.

Hope this helps. Cheers!
IXKAIXI P
post Jul 20 2019, 03:31 PM

Probation

Yo peeps,

Definitely, but oral awareness within the Malaysian people is still low and I’ve met wealthy patients that still think that everything can be solved by extracting the decayed tooth and proceed with implants. In a nutshell, It is still a highly demanded career in our country. The prospect is still wide for a newly grad dentist, especially when there’s a lot of new technologies coming in from overseas that are awaiting to be employed in Msia.

I would assume that you’re not looking into JPA or JPA-MARA, as they’re provided by the government. Public unis like UM, UKM etc are paying 2.5K per semester = 25,000. Private university (like mine) can range from 350,000 (MAHSA, SEGI, MMMC)  to 600,000 (the notorious IMU HAHA). Back to the question, try scholarships offered by Top-Glove (I’ve seen they had scholarship for dentistry in the year 2016), although there are no other private organisations offering scholarships for dentistry.

Ok. Disclaimer here: I’m studying in MAHSA and I’ll be entering my Year 4 in a few months. I used to thought that my uni was bad due to the bad management but it turns out a lot of my friends frm other unis are impressed with our facilities. We have just shifted into a new campus that has a 9 storey dental Fac building with 200 simulation units and almost 300 dental chairs (one for each student). The lecturers are mostly frm India so you’ll need some time to get used to their accent. There’s some of my classmates who’re Studying in India initially but was transferred back to Malaysia as there’s an issue with the Education Ministry of India. Turns out most foreign students studying in India won’t be allowed to study there anymore. (Pls clarify if I’m wrong). Even a partnered univeristy in India for PIDC was forced to send their Malaysian students back. Can check with the Indian education ministry before first.

[COLOR=red]Cant answer this for now, Student nia.

[COLOR=red]Advice frm student can ah? Don’t study dentistry just because your parents want her to, or because “dentists can earn a lot”. It’s not a easy professsion and we struggle more than our medical friends as we have to treat real patient during clinical years. Imagine spending half a year fabricating a denture and being told by the patient that she rejects your denture. Dentistry is not for anyone, so think twice before studying this course.

limmi01
post Jul 20 2019, 06:30 PM

113 posts

Does the compulsory service with Gov, a year, still required to have SPM with credits in BM, Sejarah & Moral subjects ?

moonchildjk P
post Dec 14 2019, 04:19 PM

Probation

QUOTE(Batusai @ Mar 7 2019, 05:44 PM)
Not sure if it is too late to reply to this but yeah. Hope this is useful. Just my opinion and I myself is a Dental Graduate in 2016 now working in private sector.

1. No doubt the amount of Dentist is rising in recent years, problem from having private institutes churning out dentists uncontrollably. It is more of an issue of not having enough resources or place for us to practice. The facilities are not increasing as the numbers of worker are increasing. Dentist need chair and space for their work but our government isnt supplying enough therefore graduates have to wait for their posting. But now the system has change whereby it will be under contract basis so not all dentist will get a permanent post in the gov sector. So most of them probably have to come out to the private sector eventually.

Adding on the private sector scene, due to increasing number of dentist, there has been a lot opening of new dental clinics especially franchising clinics etc. They get to hire dentist to work for them and dentist will either get a fixed pay or commission based on whichever higher.

Its hard to say what can happen in the next 5 years, dental is a professional service. There will always be a demand for it and as long as you're doing good work, people know and eventually will come to you.

2. Some dental groups do offer a small scholarship to those who want to pursue dentistry, of course you will end up getting bonded. PTPTN is also a good alternative to start with.

3. Looks like you're limited to dental schools in Klang Valley? PIDC, AIMST, Melaka Manipal, Lincoln also offer dentistry course as well.

Studying full time in India is cheaper for sure. Some people actually did their full 5 years in India and they survived, it takes some time to get use to and just gotta be careful when you plan to go out at night and never go alone.

4. Basically a Dental Degree will prepare you on the clinical diagnosis, treatment planning for different dental problems. Plus the compulsory service with Gov where you practically do cases everyday will further improve your skills. Specialization will be focusing more on the subject that you're taking and eventually grant you the title of Specialist. And one does not specialize straight after their degree, usually a specialization course will require a minimum few years of working experience before you can enroll into the specialist course.

5. If her interest is in dentistry, go for it! She can request to observe in a dental clinic how a dentist work and get a feeling of it and see if she likes it or not first.

Hope this helps. Cheers!
[COLOR=purple]
Hi I have a few questions regarding dentistry. I have wanted to study dentistry but I’m quite worried about the hands on practices and is dentistry course really that stressful? And after posting is it easy to get a job? I’m quite lost now as I’m considering between pharmacy and dentistry. Would be thankful if you could answer me =)
Jedi
post Dec 14 2019, 05:33 PM

Pax Et Bonum
2,239 posts

Forget all medical related field incl dentistry and pharmacy
All are contract basis, terminated after a year.

If ur aim is for money, really, just forget it.
Batusai
post Dec 16 2019, 03:12 PM

Weeeeeee
2,039 posts

QUOTE(moonchildjk @ Dec 14 2019, 04:19 PM)
[COLOR=purple]
Hi I have a few questions regarding dentistry. I have wanted to study dentistry but I’m quite worried about the hands on practices and is dentistry course really that stressful? And after posting is it easy to get a job? I’m quite lost now as I’m considering between pharmacy and dentistry. Would be thankful if you could answer me =)
I guess everything goes with passion, my advice is go and tag along in a dental clinic and see if you like the work and daily life of a dentist. The practices and subjects is something everyone has to go through, its never ending learning even after you have graduated. Its the skills and experience over the years that will make you practice with ease. Stress depending how you take it, you'll learn biology of tooth, diseases of the mouth etc and eventually learn to diagnose and treat a dental problem. Eventually you need to be able to diagnose and tackle the issue and patient would become comfortable, that would be the reward at the end of the day.

Job is quite an uncertainty at the moment. Its up to what the government is planning to do to utilize all the graduates, Malaysia is still in need of dentist, more so in rural areas, small towns.

Again, go tag along in a dental clinic and see how does a dentist work, that would be the best hands-on experience for now. You can always specialize in dentistry if you have specific interests on those fields.

Hope this helps
behmushi
post Jan 30 2020, 07:09 PM

I'm a dental sales consultant and by looking at the ongoing trend, Malaysia has too much dentist and to make matters worse, fresh graduates would not get a permanent post in the Government sector. Basically, fresh graduates have 3 options.

1) Work in other fields related to dental such as my current job. This option is the most unlikely decision as nobody wants to spend tons of money on dental courses to go to waste. This option is more suitable for freshies waiting for posting in the government sector.

2)Work in the private sector. But we have oversupply of dentists and fierce competition is to be expected in order to get hired. There are not enough private sectors to accomodate such surplus of dentists in the market currently.

3)Operate your own dental clinic. Judging by our statistic over the years, the trend of opening new dental clinics is rising heavily as there are many factors as I mentioned above affecting dentist to this option. Demand will always be there but for freshies or practicing dentist who wants to open a new dental clinic, fierce competition must be expected as reputation is an important factor no matter which business you are in. For the first two years will be harsh to built your own clinic image through whatever means (social media reviews, service rating, word of mouths, advertising, etc). If you are able to sustain the first two years and your treatment availability is wide with good reviews and rating, you will surely succeed in this market as in Malaysia, there are many dental clinics that has bad reviews, or equipment not modern enough.

If you're studying dental or any medical related field for the sole purpose of money or get rich. You really need to reevaluate as the current market expects a lot.
zeng
post Feb 1 2020, 12:21 PM

1,760 posts

So the well-connected private dental/medical schools has pocketed hugh amount of cash , and
most parents and dental/medical students are saddled with loans ?
...... with diminishing earning prospects , bravo to Gomen that sucks , literally .

This post has been edited by zeng: Feb 1 2020, 12:22 PM
zxcv96
post May 18 2020, 09:59 PM

190 posts

QUOTE(behmushi @ Jan 30 2020, 07:09 PM)
I'm a dental sales consultant and by looking at the ongoing trend, Malaysia has too much dentist and to make matters worse, fresh graduates would not get a permanent post in the Government sector. Basically, fresh graduates have 3 options.

1) Work in other fields related to dental such as my current job. This option is the most unlikely decision as nobody wants to spend tons of money on dental courses to go to waste. This option is more suitable for freshies waiting for posting in the government sector.

2)Work in the private sector. But we have oversupply of dentists and fierce competition is to be expected in order to get hired. There are not enough private sectors to accomodate such surplus of dentists in the market currently.

3)Operate your own dental clinic. Judging by our statistic over the years, the trend of opening new dental clinics is rising heavily as there are many factors as I mentioned above affecting dentist to this option. Demand will always be there but for freshies or practicing dentist who wants to open a new dental clinic, fierce competition must be expected as reputation is an important factor no matter which business you are in. For the first two years will be harsh to built your own clinic image through whatever means (social media reviews, service rating, word of mouths, advertising, etc). If you are able to sustain the first two years and your treatment availability is wide with good reviews and rating, you will surely succeed in this market as in Malaysia, there are many dental clinics that has bad reviews, or equipment not modern enough.

If you're studying dental or any medical related field for the sole purpose of money or get rich. You really need to reevaluate as the current market expects a lot.
Agree completely, dentistry is no longer a promising career nor it gives the glamour your parents wished for. My son is a Dr. So What? Dentistry nowadays is very competitive, imagine if you come out 5 years later. Jobless, minimum 300k loan above you. Go IT instead of healthcare.
Salary
post May 19 2020, 11:03 PM

664 posts

Dentistry has been over glamourised due to the Dr. title. In reality, there is a surplus of dentists everywhere. Most countries which are open to immigration have taken dentists off their list due to the surplus.
Nothing_12345 P
post Jun 17 2020, 11:56 AM

Probation
25 posts

Yo peeps,

Hi, I know it is super late but I'm interested in dentistry as well. Wanted to ask where did your sister end up? Did she decide to follow her passion? I've been thinking of enrolling dentistry for a long time until the condition during MCO hits both me and my family... That was the time I realise, the financial issue was a huge concern to my family. Yet I'm having a younger brother that is 3 years behind me...
Nothing_12345 P
post Jun 17 2020, 12:18 PM

Probation
25 posts

QUOTE(Salary @ May 19 2020, 11:03 PM)
Dentistry has been over glamourised due to the Dr. title. In reality, there is a surplus of dentists everywhere. Most countries which are open to immigration have taken dentists off their list due to the surplus.
In fact, I do hope that our government will stop providing dental certification for more universities. Our country is mass producing dentist like cows. In the past, only top students are able to enrol dentistry, but nowadays private universities just wanted to make money... As far I know, XXXX University will accept student who are able to pay the sem1 fees (estimated 11k±, first come first serve basis ) despite their poor academic performance... I'm not mentioning all but can you imagine some students with cgpa below 3.0 are also able to get into dentistry course as long they are wealthy enough to afford the fees for 5years (360k-700k) As we all know, scholarship for medic students are very limited, until now I could only find Cimb ASEAN scholarship but the competition is super fierce....
myo
post Jun 19 2020, 05:55 AM

89 posts

Dentistry is still far than going to oversupply..
the problem is in Malaysia.. we didn´t take good priority of dental healthcare.. in comparison with other countries where children at younger ages already have their dental visit.

0.0163sec    0.62    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 05:53 PM