Review Xiaomi Mijia 1S, Budget STARVIS CMOS Car Recorder

TSJayceOoi
post Dec 6 2018, 04:48 PM, updated 7y ago

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

Author's Note: The original review can be found at my blog - Xiaomi Mijia 1S Review @ JayceOoi.com.

Wow… 7 traffic offenders in 1 day. A quality dashcam is a must have nowadays. Yup, check out the latest Xiaomi Mijia 1S Dashcam with Sony IMX307 STARVIS CMOS image sensor. 3” IPS screen and F1.8 aperture. 140 degrees wide angle and 1080P resolution. And loaded with 470mAh battery for parking mode recording. Can be connected to Mi Home mobile app too. Interested? Watch this video review then…

ckweng
post Dec 6 2018, 07:13 PM

Craft beers for life!
1,615 posts

QUOTE(JayceOoi @ Dec 6 2018, 04:48 PM)
Author's Note: The original review can be found at my blog - Xiaomi Mijia 1S Review @ JayceOoi.com.

Wow… 7 traffic offenders in 1 day. A quality dashcam is a must have nowadays. Yup, check out the latest Xiaomi Mijia 1S Dashcam with Sony IMX307 STARVIS CMOS image sensor. 3” IPS screen and F1.8 aperture. 140 degrees wide angle and 1080P resolution. And loaded with 470mAh battery for parking mode recording. Can be connected to Mi Home mobile app too. Interested? Watch this video review then…

Do you happen to have handled a 70mai Pro dashcam too? Just wondering how does the Mijia 1S compare with 70mai Pro hmm.gif

This post has been edited by ckweng: Dec 6 2018, 07:13 PM
TSJayceOoi
post Dec 7 2018, 09:04 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(ckweng @ Dec 6 2018, 07:13 PM)
Do you happen to have handled a 70mai Pro dashcam too? Just wondering how does the Mijia 1S compare with 70mai Pro hmm.gif
Not yet, trying my best to get one soon. smile.gif
HMMaster
post Dec 13 2018, 02:45 PM

10K Club
10,308 posts

Whats the difference between this and the previous version?
TSJayceOoi
post Dec 13 2018, 08:16 PM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(HMMaster @ Dec 13 2018, 02:45 PM)
Whats the difference between this and the previous version?
Sorry, I don't have previous model to compare. blush.gif
yunodie
post Feb 25 2019, 08:36 AM

475 posts

need help here. using mihome app and in china region locale, i am unable to connect to the 1s dashcam. wifi already connected but the app unable to establish communication to the dashcam. any idea how to troubleshoot?

TSJayceOoi
post Feb 25 2019, 10:09 AM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(yunodie @ Feb 25 2019, 08:36 AM)
need help here. using mihome app and in china region locale, i am unable to connect to the 1s dashcam. wifi already connected but the app unable to establish communication to the dashcam. any idea how to troubleshoot?
Make sure you allow to stay on Wi-Fi connection even without Internet access. Check your Wi-Fi settings see.
yunodie
post Feb 25 2019, 12:28 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(JayceOoi @ Feb 25 2019, 10:09 AM)
Make sure you allow to stay on Wi-Fi connection even without Internet access. Check your Wi-Fi settings see.
thanks for replying. ny phone is connected to the dashcam hotspot all the time. would turning off my mobile data help?
TSJayceOoi
post Feb 25 2019, 01:21 PM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(yunodie @ Feb 25 2019, 12:28 PM)
thanks for replying. ny phone is connected to the dashcam hotspot all the time. would turning off my mobile data help?
Yes, some phones need to do so.
yunodie
post Feb 26 2019, 12:01 AM

475 posts

QUOTE(JayceOoi @ Feb 25 2019, 01:21 PM)
Yes, some phones need to do so.
resolved.

1. updated mihome app to 5.4.60
2. add devices manually-search for dashcam 1s-install plugin
3. connect to hotspot.
4. connect to dashcam via mihome

for more info:
https://help.70mai.com.cn/805.html

joeboto
post Jun 8 2019, 03:02 PM

insert title
913 posts

my unit recently got problem. bought on 15/6/17. so around 2 years of usage. was at kampung, tried browsing old footage inside. then slide back onto the suction. halfway home, the screen total blanks. sometimes got horizontal lines. tried restarting. logo appears completely normal, but once camera activated, i can only see the dates top right for half second, then blank again. havent tried reviewing footage through SD card, very tired.

my unit is this one from lazada. https://www.lazada.com.my/products/chinese-...s104205990.html
putera_david
post Sep 27 2019, 01:17 PM

Had a near incident today. Sorry but the video quality and camera really lacks a white balance and is very bad quality even at night.

this morning car was facing against the morning sun and can't even see clearly the number plate of the offender.

anyone knows whats the issue or is it my settings problem?
Solskjaer66
post Oct 5 2019, 12:18 AM

155 posts

hi, can tap this recorder to fuse directly?
lovevivi
post Oct 7 2019, 09:37 PM

61 posts

What is the difference between 1s and no 1s?
TSJayceOoi
post Oct 8 2019, 12:11 PM

Pro Blogger
2,741 posts

QUOTE(lovevivi @ Oct 7 2019, 09:37 PM)
What is the difference between 1s and no 1s?
1S is newer and better. But 70mai Pro is even better at same price.

tcw90
post Dec 16 2019, 10:48 PM

159 posts

Hi, is there any ways to check the battery level? Once I stopped engine, it shows battery too low for parking surveillance. The time is still remains after 7 hours without supply. Do I need to charge it for a longer time?

0.0187sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:14 AM