Preve Exec 2015 vs Honda City E 2010

digilife
post Dec 3 2018, 06:01 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,024 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Dec 3 2018, 05:37 PM)
abang boleh bagi tips what to look out for when buying used Preve?
You need to join Preve FB MY to learn more

QUOTE(leon898 @ Dec 3 2018, 05:48 PM)
better handling than city, but I wont go as far claiming that it has 'superb' handling.

never owned altis before, what is the issue? I did point out some issue with preve at my last post.
Superb in my context here means value for money in its category .

I read from Altis thread, ppl complained of excessive engine oil burning [ makan minyak hitam ].
alphaz
post Dec 3 2018, 09:27 PM

406 posts

In this case, Preve no contest. IMO
Effy92
post Dec 3 2018, 10:46 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(d4rk_m4n @ Dec 3 2018, 02:53 PM)
The dealer said no because only cover 3 years. But he said can be extended at proton. I'm not sure.
Me as well then I asked him, he said its cikgu car, used only for going to school. The cikgu sold his preve and bought wish from him. But looking at the car, its really look like a to b to a car only. Everything is standard as well.
City is rm40+k
Preve is rm30+k

City is 7 years tenure.
Preve still can 9 years.
Why mate?
Thanks. I really like the handling and cornering tho. Feels like the car planted on the road. Lol.
Hmm. 30+ for preve executive is expensive. You can get premium with that price.
Effy92
post Dec 3 2018, 10:56 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(lsthian @ Dec 3 2018, 05:32 PM)
Preve lo.
tail power is awesome.
i don own one but most of the time this ride can really speed like mad.
very powerful car compare to city. 150 to 220......canot fight at all.
Not sure what so powerful about preve exec. City way faster. shocking.gif
mr_geforce
post Dec 4 2018, 12:13 AM

240 posts

2nd hand dealer... confirm mileage preve kena usik. bring the car reg number to sc for check n ready to be shocked.

people let go preve because of few reasons, mainly gearbox kong.
mr_geforce
post Dec 4 2018, 12:16 AM

240 posts

Preve lo.
tail power is awesome.
his targetting preve exec.. is a non turbo. kalah with city.
mytaffeta
post Dec 4 2018, 01:11 AM

1,311 posts

QUOTE(mr_geforce @ Dec 4 2018, 12:13 AM)
2nd hand dealer... confirm mileage preve kena usik. bring the car reg number to sc for check n ready to be shocked.

how much cost to replace this?
mr_geforce
post Dec 4 2018, 04:21 AM

240 posts

QUOTE(mytaffeta @ Dec 4 2018, 01:11 AM)
how much cost to replace this?
nowadays there are a lot of punch cvt gearbox specialist in malaysia, thanks to punch gb problem n they have learned to repair it. for repair probably 2-3K, if new probably 9K.

but mostly gb issue is on exora turbo (most common), preve turbo (a lot recently), suprima s also but very rare.

This post has been edited by mr_geforce: Dec 4 2018, 04:21 AM
leon898
post Dec 4 2018, 08:23 AM

733 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Dec 3 2018, 06:01 PM)
You need to join Preve FB MY to learn more
Superb in my context here means value for money in its category .

I read from Altis thread, ppl complained of excessive engine oil burning [ makan minyak hitam ].
must be piston ring or something. better than sudden burst of OCH on the road for me. but if you have made your mind, then just take note on the issue I mentioned before.
romalis51
post Dec 4 2018, 09:02 AM

94 posts

Almost bought a Preve but opt for different car. The issue with Preve that I found is the CVT and the turbo maintenance. Ask yourself la, if the owner sold that car for that low mileage, must be because of the car issue right? And almost all 2nd hand car dealership I go the Preve they sold is below 30K.
Jason
post Dec 4 2018, 09:26 AM

5,846 posts

Between these two choices. Preve. Since the CVT and engine still under warranty, make sure service history is there to be eligible for the warranty.

Then join Preve owners group and make friends with the SC nearest to you.
SleeplessEyes
post Dec 4 2018, 10:08 AM

I'm me bro, let me be me
2,390 posts

Dear d4rk_m4n

Let me share with you my Exora FC. Preve FC maybe slightly better.
On my recent trip to Cameron , Kampar and Ipoh trip.
3 adults, 2 children and luggages.

Highway - Shows around 8.x L per 100KM.
Drive up from Simpang Pulai to Cameron and plus driving around with FC meter reset (for measuring purposes) from Simpang Pulai onwards,
does around 12.3L per 100KM.
By the time I drive downhill slightly its already 11.7KM/L

Good simulation of uphill and town driving + traffic jam when reach Kg Raja.

Upon returning back to KL, I averaged about 9.4L/100KM. Combined cycle aka Highway + City driving.
Total distance covered - 662KM . Total amount of fuel used - RM 143.50

Like I said before in other threads, I dont look at Exora (or Preve) as a " 1600cc" engine.
Its turbo-ed so the perfomance is equivalent to more or less a 2.2L (engine torque comparison)
Preve weights 1300KG. Exora nearly 1500KG. So for comparison, the Preve weights similar to a new Toyota Altis 2.0L or the older Civic 2.0L FD.

So I rather compare my Exora or Preve FC with 2000CC similiar FC. Yeah, the FC is kinda of a let down only during town driving.

Maintenance wise, so far my turbo is running fine.
CVT, its only jerky when reversing and suddenly releasing the accelerator, but I read that it needs clutch calibration once in a while to solve that issue. Otherwise my CVT is doing fine.
Other than that, I'm happy to drive it. Stable up to 140-150KM/H.

This post has been edited by SleeplessEyes: Dec 4 2018, 10:10 AM
TSd4rk_m4n
post Dec 4 2018, 11:36 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(Effy92 @ Dec 3 2018, 10:46 PM)
Hmm. 30+ for preve executive is expensive. You can get premium with that price.
I survey around from carlist and other thing on internet. That was the price for 2015 model. And im not looking for turbo one.

QUOTE(mr_geforce @ Dec 4 2018, 12:13 AM)

Can i call proton line and ask them to check if i have reg number?

QUOTE(romalis51 @ Dec 4 2018, 09:02 AM)
Almost bought a Preve but opt for different car. The issue with Preve that I found is the CVT and the turbo maintenance. Ask yourself la, if the owner sold that car for that low mileage, must be because of the car issue right? And almost all 2nd hand car dealership I go the Preve they sold is below 30K.
This one is not turbo. Turbo even got extra problem and the maintenance expenses might get higher. Not to mention the FC since turbo kicks in on 2k rpm based on what i read.

Which car do you opt to?

QUOTE(SleeplessEyes @ Dec 4 2018, 10:08 AM)
Dear d4rk_m4n

Let me share with you my Exora FC. Preve FC maybe slightly better.
On my recent trip to Cameron , Kampar and Ipoh trip.
3 adults, 2 children and luggages.

Highway - Shows around 8.x L per 100KM.
Drive up from Simpang Pulai to Cameron and plus driving around with FC meter reset (for measuring purposes) from Simpang Pulai onwards,
does around 12.3L per 100KM.
By the time I drive downhill slightly its already 11.7KM/L

Good simulation of uphill and town driving + traffic jam when reach Kg Raja.

Upon returning back to KL, I averaged about 9.4L/100KM. Combined cycle aka Highway + City driving.
Total distance covered - 662KM . Total amount of fuel used - RM 143.50

Like I said before in other threads, I dont look at Exora (or Preve) as a " 1600cc" engine.
Its turbo-ed so the perfomance is equivalent to more or less a 2.2L (engine torque comparison)
Preve weights 1300KG. Exora nearly 1500KG. So for comparison, the Preve weights similar to a new Toyota Altis 2.0L or the older Civic 2.0L FD.

So I rather compare my Exora or Preve FC with 2000CC similiar FC. Yeah, the FC is kinda of a let down only during town driving.

Maintenance wise, so far my turbo is running fine.
CVT, its only jerky when reversing and suddenly releasing the accelerator, but I read that it needs clutch calibration once in a while to solve that issue. Otherwise my CVT is doing fine.
Other than that, I'm happy to drive it. Stable up to 140-150KM/H.
Thanks for your informative input sir!

Cluth calibration can be done in SC? How much it cost?
Effy92
post Dec 4 2018, 01:56 PM

294 posts

QUOTE(d4rk_m4n @ Dec 4 2018, 11:36 AM)
I survey around from carlist and other thing on internet. That was the price for 2015 model. And im not looking for turbo one.

This one is not turbo. Turbo even got extra problem and the maintenance expenses might get higher. Not to mention the FC since turbo kicks in on 2k rpm based on what i read.

Then why not a new gen 2016 2017 used persona? More refine, better nvh and interior. Not to mention better fuel consumption since it more lighter and has vvt. The preve exec use the old campro iafm+ engine, new gen persona use campro vvt. Around 30+k also.
mcliong1
post Dec 4 2018, 04:19 PM

90 posts

my 2009 honda city still going fine at 210K KM, and of course u want more powerful engine and more superb handling then should be Preve...
DS51
post Dec 4 2018, 06:25 PM

470 posts

Preve lo.
tail power is awesome.
QUOTE(mr_geforce @ Dec 4 2018, 12:16 AM)
his targetting preve exec.. is a non turbo. kalah with city.
Ya lor. I agree, preve exec kalah with city.

Can see very few preve cfe on the road nowadaysm, majority preve exec, maybe mostly sell after use several years or keep at home use for long distance only.

This preve exec only got 107hp and it need to pull 1325kg. Imagine how heavy is it in start and stop traffic. On highway also, 107hp is not much although it still retain good stability due to heavy body.

I will settle down with city or preve cfe. This preve exec although very stable at high speed, but it will drink fuel like no tomorrow. 107hp not enough to drive high speed efficiently.
mr_geforce
post Dec 4 2018, 07:45 PM

240 posts

QUOTE(DS51 @ Dec 4 2018, 06:25 PM)

Can see very few preve cfe on the road nowadaysm, majority preve exec,  maybe mostly sell after use several years or keep at home use for long distance only.

This preve exec only got 107hp and it need to pull 1325kg. Imagine how heavy is it in start and stop traffic. On highway also, 107hp is not much although it still retain good stability due to heavy body.

I will settle down with city or preve cfe. This preve exec although very stable at high speed, but it will drink fuel like no tomorrow. 107hp not enough to drive high speed efficiently.
ya.. go for cfe.. the och hose burst only affect fews, as their oil cooling devices is having sludge inside which built up pressure and also the oil properties changes causing the hose to become brittle..

SleeplessEyes
post Dec 5 2018, 12:26 AM

I'm me bro, let me be me
2,390 posts

QUOTE(d4rk_m4n @ Dec 4 2018, 11:36 AM)
Thanks for your informative input sir!

Cluth calibration can be done in SC? How much it cost?
Regarding about turbo kick in, the answer is that it starts at 1.5K onwards but its not an "off and on" turbo operation. The turbo boost comes in a linear operation as it is controlled by the ECU . So there is minimal lag.

Now regarding about Clutch Calibration i havent done mine but it can be done even outside SC by those 3rd party CVT specialist. Maybe it just cost under Rm100 but apparently it does self calibration when you drive it as what Punch CVT officials claimed.
Like i mentioned earlier, it only jerks when you let go the pedal immediately. I learn to just let go slightly as i reverse the car. But in forward motion / D gear, no issue.
SUSDaylight2018
post Dec 5 2018, 07:11 AM

227 posts

Better buy bezza 1.0
at least it is brand new
Hassle free for 5 years

leon898
post Dec 5 2018, 08:42 AM

733 posts

QUOTE(DS51 @ Dec 4 2018, 06:25 PM)

Can see very few preve cfe on the road nowadaysm, majority preve exec,  maybe mostly sell after use several years or keep at home use for long distance only.

No. I own exec and confirm. hehe.
but it is good someone can read the brochure.

0.0159sec    0.10    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 06:34 PM