Stolen phone, but I got their email

TSHansLau
post Nov 29 2018, 08:21 PM, updated 6y ago

91 posts

My iPhone X stolen recently. I thought no more hope, but then I noticed the thief somehow manage use my Grab. He even changed my email to his!

Question is, can police track owner of email, and then find out who the thief is? or is reporting police a waste of time?

Anyone with police experience or past experience?

This post has been edited by HansLau: Nov 29 2018, 08:32 PM
westlife
post Nov 29 2018, 08:27 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(HansLau @ Nov 29 2018, 08:21 PM)
My iPhone X stolen recently. I thought no more hope, but then I noticed the thief somehow manage use my Grab. He even changed my email to his!

Question is, can police track owner of email, and then find out who the thief is? or is reporting police a waste of time?
I am more curious why they can even use ur phone even ur phone has Face ID and passcode enabled? dun tell me u dun?
TSHansLau
post Nov 29 2018, 08:32 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Nov 29 2018, 08:27 PM)
I am more curious why they can even use ur phone even ur phone has Face ID and passcode enabled? dun tell me u dun?
I have no idea, but the Grab driver called me, asking for my location. Then only I realise what's happened.

Maybe he use my number to login to Grab? But then why change the email? Why use my Grab account?

This post has been edited by HansLau: Nov 29 2018, 08:34 PM
jetblast
post Nov 29 2018, 08:36 PM

1,010 posts

He only use your sim not the iPhone
TSHansLau
post Nov 29 2018, 08:39 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(jetblast @ Nov 29 2018, 08:36 PM)
He only use your sim not the iPhone
So he stole my phone, use my Sim to use Grab? Why? I just want to know if police can catch this guy
westlife
post Nov 29 2018, 08:44 PM

12,295 posts

QUOTE(HansLau @ Nov 29 2018, 08:32 PM)
I have no idea, but the Grab driver called me, asking for my location. Then only I realise what's happened.

Maybe he use my number to login to Grab? But then why change the email? Why use my Grab account?
yes. dun think he can easily use ur phone.

If he can, u may need to worry about ur data instead of your phone.
acbc
post Nov 29 2018, 08:51 PM

8,475 posts

If using SIM, why didn't u terminate the old SIM with the telco?
TSHansLau
post Nov 29 2018, 08:54 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Nov 29 2018, 08:51 PM)
If using SIM, why didn't u terminate the old SIM with the telco?
I went to get new SIM already, meaning old one cannot use anymore, only me can.
adriankhoo153
post Dec 1 2018, 05:28 PM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Don’t have find my iPhone? Suggest u to report police but then dun ask them to find for u or go with u. Else they will need your phone as exhibit item to charge the criminal. That will takes years for court hearing. Better to ask ur fren to gangbang them
TSHansLau
post Dec 2 2018, 04:07 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Dec 1 2018, 05:28 PM)
Don’t have find my iPhone? Suggest u to report police but then dun ask them to find for u or go with u. Else they will need your phone as exhibit item to charge the criminal. That will takes years for court hearing. Better to ask ur fren to gangbang them
WA, so chance of phone recovery in general is super low? Guess I should just move to Android then, cheaper and better anyways
attw
post Dec 2 2018, 09:42 AM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(HansLau @ Dec 2 2018, 04:07 AM)
WA, so chance of phone recovery in general is super low? Guess I should just move to Android then, cheaper and better anyways
Yes you should. Cheers!
jumpstat
post Dec 5 2018, 07:56 AM

1,352 posts

Congrats...
kevinpss
post Dec 9 2018, 04:19 PM

464 posts

Change to Android phone doesn’t increase the stolen phone recovery chance. LOL. Your logic is a bit off, but one things I am sure you have no basic knowledge about the phone and the telco service.
nexona88
post Dec 13 2018, 04:21 PM

The Royal Club Member
41,797 posts

Android or iPhone doesn't really matter to thief.. as long can get some $$$ is already enough... and 1 day, not 1 phone only he go rob.. I'm sure few biji per day...
decavalera
post Dec 17 2018, 10:08 PM

1,921 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ Dec 1 2018, 05:28 PM)
I managed to retrieve back my stolen ip4 years back 1 month after my co-driver’s window was broken.

After 1 month, received find my iphone notification that my iphone was detected & auto locked at the KL police stations housing. The police raided the pencuri house and bring back my iphone to his police home quarters & tried to use my phone... kekeke
Kilohertz
post Apr 29 2019, 03:11 PM

2,172 posts

QUOTE(HansLau @ Nov 29 2018, 08:21 PM)

Anyone with police experience or past experience?
Did you eventually made a police report? Just lost my phone this morning, wonder if it's worth to make a police report or could be a waste of time?
stringfellow.
post Apr 29 2019, 03:27 PM

83 posts

well.. its better to make police report.. and if u do have the thief location.. better provide with them too.. they might help you

the report will help you if got some money involved.. u can use it as proof you phone stolen...

kmrdeva
post Apr 29 2019, 05:12 PM

4,590 posts

Lost my ipx before Christmas last year. The phone has not come online since then, according to Find My Iphone app.

Made a police report, just in case.
attw
post Apr 30 2019, 06:56 AM

32,264 posts

QUOTE(Kilohertz @ Apr 29 2019, 03:11 PM)
Just lost my phone this morning, wonder if it's worth to make a police report or could be a waste of time?
Yes, it is, also as a safeguard in case your phone is used for criminal activity.
krishtiano86
post Apr 30 2019, 10:34 AM

6 STAR HOTEL
1,165 posts

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

0.0161sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 05:32 PM