The iPhone XR Discussion Thread | V2, Brilliant. In every way.

G-17
post May 4 2019, 08:44 AM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 3 2019, 04:11 PM)
I don’t need one more additional gadget to charge nightly, so no smart watches for me biggrin.gif
Same. That and I don't really see any benefit from the iWatch anyway. All my notifications require interaction levels that a small watch screen can't give me. Health tracking? I have cigarettes and alcohol for that. Maybe one day when smartwatches become so power efficient that they can be solar powered like those Casio G-Shock/ProTrek watches, then I might consider. Already have to worry about charging two smartphones, bluetooth headphones (f*ck Apple for removing the 3.5mm jack), laptop, etc. In future will probably even need to worry about charging our cars. Enough headache already.

This post has been edited by G-17: May 4 2019, 08:45 AM
G-17
post May 4 2019, 07:41 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(attw @ May 4 2019, 10:46 AM)
I like your health tracking solution, hahaha...

Ya, I’m happy with my hybrid solar/battery G-Shock - haven’t changed the battery in close to 5 years laugh.gif
I have a JDM model square G-Shock that's almost 8 years old. Battery still good. In fact, I don't think I've ever seen it go below the H (high) setting. Tough as nails too. I probably need to replace the resin strap soon since it's a bit degraded now, but the actual watch is running without issue. There's even an iPhone app available that uses the phone speakers to reproduce the atomic tower frequencies for the Multi-Band time sync.

QUOTE(westlife @ May 4 2019, 01:16 PM)
actually i dun mind to own an apple watch. but just that i dun have the habit of wearing watch. haha.

and also apple watch display to me is still too small. prefer diver watch that kind of size.
You might find something you like from Garmin. I believe they even have one smartwatch model that's also a dedicated dive computer. Probably more expensive than the Apple Watch though, plus still have to worry about charging. Personally, I can't justify spending so much on a disposable watch - we know t will eventually get outdated. I think you'll only get the benefits of a smartwatch if you wear it throughout the day. I'm the type that takes off my watch once I get home, so less useful.

G-17
post May 4 2019, 09:14 PM

Securely Paranoid
1,748 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ May 4 2019, 08:50 PM)
my colleague who is using apple watch love it. i believe apple watch does have its strenghs to make people love it. not to forget it is the best selling smartwatch in the world.

dun think i will like garmin too. becos watch to me is mainly for decoration. haha. i like the diving watch not becos i am into sports, just mainly becos of the look. bigger and looks man. haha.
Oh, I thought you ware a hardcore PADI certified diver tongue.gif
Yeah, I totally understand you about looks. I only have one Swiss mechanical for dressy occasions, and one digital quartz for visiting those parts of town where easy to get robbed. I do have my eyes on one of those new full metal square G-Shocks though, or maybe a Pro Trek on an aftermarket nato/zulu strap because I like to pretend I'm a bad-ass "tactical" man. sweat.gif

Unfortunately, I have skinny hands, so cannot wear big divers or chronographs. I used to like the Panerai Luminor look when I was younger. Then I tried one on and it looked like a wall clock on my girly-man wrists. doh.gif

0.0556sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 01:14 AM