Steelmate Active Subwoofer SW826V

TSScuZziE
post Jun 9 2007, 02:05 AM, updated 19y ago

Is there anyone happened to know where can I get this locally? Urgent help is needed and feedback is highly appreciated in advance.
craziechild
post Jun 9 2007, 11:55 AM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

find a proice authorized dealer... they will be able to get it for you...
marky
post Jun 9 2007, 12:57 PM

xoxo
893 posts

pm cola...he is selling it
TSScuZziE
post Jun 11 2007, 09:29 AM

craziechild/marky,

many thanks. Pending further reply from ProIce... While waiting for their feedback, I wish to check with you guyz whether I should go for under-seat or boot version, both also amplified (active) coz I'm having difficulties choosing the proper one since pricing is almost the same. The other model I mention is Steelmate SW806V and here goes the pic.

Sorry to trouble you guys but I'm no ICE expert... I also include some tech. specs for comparison and I truly appreciate positive feedback.

SW806V
RCA/speaker inputs
Thermal protection
Overload protection
Short circuit protection
2.1 Channel
Maximum output power: 500W
Subwoofer R.M.S.: 170W
Main channel (L & R) rated power: 100W
Main channel (L & R) frequency response: 20Hz~20kHz
High-pass: 20Hz~190Hz (variable)
Low-pass: 20Hz~125Hz (variable)
Phase switch: 0 degs/180 degs
Low-pass: 20Hz~125Hz (variable)

SW826V
Self-amplified Subwoofer With 2.1 Channel
RCA Inputs
Speaker inputs for easy Up-grade
Thermal protection
Overload protection
Short circuit protection
Maximum Output Power: 288W
Main Channel Rated Power: 2 x 20W
Subwoofer Channel Rated Power: 56W
Main Channel (L/R) Frequency Response: 20Hz~20KHz
Main Channel Signal & Noise Ratio: 90db
Subwoofer Frequency Response (-3db): 20Hz - 125Hz
Woofer Channel Signal & Noise Ratio: 80db
Input Impedance: 15K Ohms
Input Sensitivity: 300mV - 3V
High Level Input Sensitivity: 500mV - 15V
Power Supply Voltage: 12V (Allowed 11 - 15V)
High-pass: 20Hz~250Hz(variable)
Low-pass: 20Hz~125Hz(variable)
Phase Switch: 0°/180°

Like to cool.gif very much but rclxub.gif to decide a decent one! shakehead.gif

Added on June 11, 2007, 1:48 pmmarky:
I've called cola and he carries SW826 only and quoted RM450 per unit.

craziechild:
I've got the response from ProIce and SW826V is available but price tag is RM1,100 including installation. That is way too expensive considering 'Made in China' and I can only consider Blaupunkt THb-200A if that's the case coz I got the same price as SW826 including installation.

Brother, your feedback is highly appreciated in advance. Budget is around RM500 but with quality. Brother's product is definitely no-no, hehe.

This post has been edited by ScuZziE: Jun 11 2007, 01:48 PM
craziechild
post Jun 11 2007, 04:56 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

well... to be honest with you... i have installed a lot of both units... but find tht they hav some pros and cons and similarities...

similarities are they both almost has the same level of loudness... bass are tight but not too low.... compared with an alpine active sub side by side... i would choose steelmate anyday because the sound more like a 10" sub only not going low enough and alpine set gets distorded easily...

pros:
SW826V: thin... even can put under a kancil's front seat...
SW806V: plays a little louder than the SW826V... and a little lower Hz...

cons:
SW826V: because its too thin... the enclosure is not even enough for the sub's full excursion... many times the sub hits the speaker grills when its playing loud...
SW806V: big and bulky... not really user friendly if you are looking to sa ve space around...

so chooce wisely...

marky
post Jun 11 2007, 06:11 PM

xoxo
893 posts

if space is not a prob then use a passive with enclosure to put in the boot the
sound is way better....

if otherwise then go for active.....i myself drive a myvi therefore decided to go for active where i can put under my front seat...
craziechild
post Jun 11 2007, 06:49 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

the thinner set has active crossover... the biggy if not remember wrong got also... if i am not wrong la... cuz many people dun like tht set... no point cuz taking a proper sub and 2ch amp cost around the same also...
TSScuZziE
post Jun 11 2007, 07:07 PM

craziechild/marky:
I truly appreciate your feedback. After deep consideration, I decided to get Steelmate SW826 from cola that cost RM450/unit. The main cons is without controller and I have to go down underseat to adjust the settings. Sigh... an active subwoofer with controller (SW826V) can really cost so much difference, even after negotiation (RM900 without RCA Cable). I guess it's part of their marketing strategy... but it burns a big hole in my pocket just for the remote control alone!!

I totally agree with craziechild, coz I just tested Alpine-1000, Infinity BassLink & Steel Mate SW826 but final result goes to Made in China. Not bad... icon_rolleyes.gif

marky: I hope this guy can be trusted coz he mentioned 'new unit' and some more from Klang-lah. A bit scary about bad experience I had with accessories shops in Klang... sweat.gif
craziechild
post Jun 11 2007, 07:45 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

well... actually the setting if you set it correctly... you wont need to set it often... its like tuning... whenits done then its done... hehe...

happy to hear you are going to enjoy the ICE the way you wanted it...

cheers...
TSScuZziE
post Jun 12 2007, 07:22 PM

craziechild:
too fast, too furious... I just got it installed and the bass is umph! Very satisfy to own Steelmate, unlike Alpine & Infinity which costs a bomb and yet the result are below par. At the end of day, I added a set of tweeters for perfect match! Thanks a lot for sharing...

marky: the world is truly small. cola is so happened to be my ex-schoolmate in the 90s and we were both laughing at each other during our meeting this afternoon. Oh, and I got further discount sebab kawan punya pasal!! thumbup.gif

GUYS, terima kasih banyak-banyak. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by ScuZziE: Jun 12 2007, 07:27 PM
alvin_goh
post Jun 12 2007, 07:30 PM

-= [ Certified Trader ] =-
1,537 posts

actually alpine & infinity also made in china wat.. hehe
loon1031
post Jun 12 2007, 08:58 PM

Photography, ICE, Die Cast & Gundam Crazy
1,105 posts

Now a lot stuft made in China la... but they still got QC to control the quality....
TSScuZziE
post Jun 13 2007, 10:31 AM

tenchi0205
post Jun 16 2007, 10:29 PM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

this one how?

SW816
Self Amplified Subwoofer

Dimensions:
H = 35CM
W = 20CM
L = 35CM

Kelv
post Jan 2 2008, 10:32 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

Just wondering how much is Steelmate Active Subwoofer SW826V now?Got controller one? Didnt see in much shops...

Added on January 2, 2008, 10:34 pmis it this one? http://steelmate.manufacturer.globalsource...udio-System.htm

This post has been edited by Kelv: Jan 2 2008, 10:34 PM
howiechoo
post Jan 3 2008, 12:03 AM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

if u need any info, u can come to Automotive Genesis. We are the biggest dealer in south selangor

Added on January 3, 2008, 12:04 amsome of the steelmate active sub come with 2/4ch amp build in..so u can direct power ur 4 spk in ur car without adding another amp....
power of the amp is 50x2/4 and the sub should be around 100-130rms

This post has been edited by howiechoo: Jan 3 2008, 12:04 AM
XdeafzX
post Jan 31 2008, 08:09 PM

186 posts

i saw sumting in toyota wish...its jes dat diff design. but its nice.
NelsonBoy
post Apr 8 2008, 05:06 PM

l Audio Paradise l
1,120 posts

Blaupunkt Active Sub. ard RM880.
ezone8300
post Feb 15 2009, 03:34 PM

yea...would like to know too....anyone care to provide further advice....on its quality? price?
howiechoo
post Feb 18 2009, 01:39 AM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

so far steelmate active sub is the best bang for bucks..it offer really sub's feel unlike other branded brand which do active sub just for show...

0.0197sec    0.86    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:55 PM