Boost App Discussion Thread V2, Malaysia's Homegrown Lifestyle E-Wallet

car_computer
post Nov 25 2018, 08:04 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Nov 25 2018, 04:02 PM)
I only pay for Fave using Boost once my AMEX quota has been filled up.
use fave-amex on weekends and fave-boost on weekdays

today i just used boost for Rm60 purchase in 11street. lousy shake reward at Rm1 ( equivalent to 1.67% cb). if not because of the Rm5 cb promo for Rm60 in 11street, i normally amex for confirmed 5% cb on weekend.

QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Nov 25 2018, 05:28 PM)
I'll try fully update the thread tonight, sorry if it looks rushed.

If you have any suggestions on what to add, do post here and lemme know. smile.gif
to include info about wallet topup/spending/withdrawal limit for standard and premium accounts, so that newbies can just refer to the 1st page and no need to ask so many times here.

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Nov 25 2018, 05:36 PM)
I saw v1 already closed.

also fave doesnt seems to store monetary value, just cc bypass. not really true ewallet. agreed, more like payment app.
for fave, all cb and refund money go automatically to ”my cashback” section, similar to lazada

QUOTE(wtw0911 @ Nov 25 2018, 06:21 PM)
I just went to one 99 speedmart trying to use boost for payment. The manager was in the store but she asked “tak boleh guna cash me” in a somehow rude way. And I am still thinking that the cashier there has been trained now since it is already quite some time since 99speedmart is boosted
let’s report to boost
i’ve done this a few times

QUOTE(Leroi2x @ Nov 25 2018, 07:39 PM)
Boost no more voucher for 11st
Which rm45 to get rm50 ?
Only saw the rm20
it is probably sold out
however, boost always replenishes 11street vouchers

car_computer
post Nov 25 2018, 09:31 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Nov 25 2018, 08:10 PM)
If I have Fave credits in my account, can I use them to topup my Boost account, and how to do it?
QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 25 2018, 08:19 PM)
Fave cash back is troublesome.
It has two types: general cash back and merchant specific cash back.
ya... in the beginning i was very confused about fave cb and also favedeal vs favepay
through some mistakes made and frequent usages nowadays, i am rather familar with fave

favedeal cb goes to “fave cashback” section, which will be given after 3 days, and will be automatically used to offset next favedeal or favepay transaction.

favepay cb goes to “partner cashback” section instantly, which will be used for next purchase in the same specific merchant/brand (acceptable in different outlets, but must be under the same merchant brand ). partner cb is kinda useless if u dont go back to the same merchant.

i use fave-boost for weekdays and fave-amex for weekends to optimize cb

anyway off topic here. hope there is a dedicated fave thread to discuss favepay and favedeal, and also fave discount codes smile.gif
car_computer
post Nov 26 2018, 03:15 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(ziniowong @ Nov 26 2018, 10:20 AM)
last time naughty nuri also like, must spend minimum rm50 for boost and cc....
after i complained kaw kaw to boost......this happened

if everyone kept quiet, merchant lebih2
haha.. i also complained about naughty nuri to boost a few months ago during the 50% promo time
my bill was slightly below Rm20 but the staff said my spending didnt hit the minimum requirement to use boost as payment method. i argued with the staff and his supervisor. they allowed me to payment with boost in the end
car_computer
post Nov 26 2018, 03:26 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(ziniowong @ Nov 26 2018, 03:16 PM)
which branch? kl live branch refused to let me pay with boost
sri hartamas
luckily there were very few customers that time, allowing me to waste 5mins to argue with the staff and supervisor who initially disallowed me to pay with boost
car_computer
post Nov 26 2018, 03:34 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Nov 26 2018, 01:41 PM)
I signed up with Boost over the weekend & went to Mydin this morning to shop BUT the cashier, after 3 attempts, said that the system's down, probably due to Mydin's ongoing warehouse sales!

So much for my very 1st usage... sad.gif
well... i am sure all ewallet users in malaysia have gone thru this kinda painful experience
but this wont discourage us to use boost, because its continuous promo and reward

QUOTE(vin_ann @ Nov 26 2018, 03:15 PM)
Yesterday evening dine in at 1 vegetarian shop, when making payment, I asked for Boost...

Cashier mentioned Boost is not available at the movement, have to pay cash.

Is this excuses not to accept Boost? O boost system
actually down around 8pm?
most probably they didnt charge their device. they were lazy to charge and switch on the device ( which will take time ) so that’s the easiest excuse
car_computer
post Nov 27 2018, 01:12 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(msa9696 @ Nov 27 2018, 12:14 AM)
Paid RM 70+ got RM 1. Then paid RM 17+ got RM 0.20. Never before got RM 0.20 for paying > RM10. Shake reward really getting lower
just spent Rm31 in 11st. shake reward Rm0.50 vmad.gif
2 days ago Rm60 spending in 11st too, shake Rm1.00 bangwall.gif luciky i received Rm5 cb from boost-11st promo

This post has been edited by car_computer: Nov 27 2018, 01:19 PM
car_computer
post Nov 27 2018, 01:33 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(giko @ Nov 26 2018, 05:43 PM)

7-for-7 challenge for RM7.

1st day Mydin & 99 speedmart KO me!  rclxub.gif
did you receive this thru email ?
i couldnt find this on boost fb and instagram. so i guess it is for selected users only
car_computer
post Nov 27 2018, 04:14 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(Ben Ling @ Nov 27 2018, 04:11 PM)
anyone gotten lucky shake reward for today yet ?
not announced yet
car_computer
post Nov 27 2018, 04:55 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(Ben Ling @ Nov 27 2018, 04:50 PM)
lucky shake reward normally got announcement from Boost ?? I have never seen any post from Boost at all since the beginning of the promotion... boost mail or their fb ?
boost will notify on their fb and instagram if the weekly shake reward is out
car_computer
post Nov 28 2018, 03:51 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Nov 28 2018, 03:46 PM)
Let's say I need to withdraw RM3,000 from Boost.
Do I have to do completed the 1st withdrawal of RM1500 before the system allows for the next RM1500 ?
If I withdraw RM1500, I should have minimum in my Boost balance of RM1502.00 ?
you to wait for successful withdrawal first in order to make another withdrawal
max balance in premium wallet is Rm1500. if u have the max balance of Rm1500, u can withdraw up to Rm1498 (Rm2 deducted as admin fee )
car_computer
post Nov 28 2018, 03:53 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(laymank @ Nov 28 2018, 03:51 PM)
I thought per withdrawal is RM1000/day, did it change?
and it would be RM1000 + RM2 (fee)
they just changed it recently to Rm1498 + Rm2
car_computer
post Nov 29 2018, 03:51 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Nov 28 2018, 10:03 PM)
Pardon my ignorance, but where can I find this yellow pie icon and green tick icon ? Thanks
it is for android only

QUOTE(ck_tonny @ Nov 28 2018, 10:27 PM)
Funny, I never went to UiTM before, Boost gave a wrong cashback  laugh.gif
maybe other universities as stated in their T&C ?

QUOTE(msa9696 @ Nov 29 2018, 02:33 PM)
Boost shake through Fave payment is close to useless. Spent RM 16 from FavePay using Boost, got RM 0.10. How ridiculous. Have been getting RM 0.50, 0.20, 0.10 lately.

Fave merchant cashback also quite useless unless you plan to repeat the same merchant within the next 1-3 months. I.e if you spend RM 15, if 5% Fave merchant CB means only RM 0.75, will anyone repeat visit just because of the RM 0.75?

Not saying Fave is not good, I use Fave the most (it's super good if they have attractive offers). But what I'm saying, if you have better credit card CB option, need to reconsider using Fave+Boost especially if your amount is huge. Don't be misled by the double dip CB from Fave+Boost
QUOTE(msa9696 @ Nov 29 2018, 02:51 PM)
Yup I'm using both too.
Also, we need to consider when a merchant accept both Boost and Fave, do we want to:-

1) Use Fave with Amex
2) Use Fave with Boost
3) Use Boost

I'm not sure if using Boost directly will get better shake, but I would like to believe so. Boost definitely cannot afford to give similar shake reward if tied to Fave, too many levels of CB already. Probably someone can share when using some of these options and we can compare. So far, from my usage, Fave with Boost gets very low shake.
use fave-boost on weekday and fave-amex on weekend
if i use fave app on weekend, i definitely choose amex as the payment method because 5% cb from amex is guaranteed
car_computer
post Nov 30 2018, 09:26 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 29 2018, 10:27 PM)
50 cents shoud be the lowest amount for the Shake Reward right?
QUOTE(jfleong @ Nov 29 2018, 10:28 PM)
I got 5 sen before. Even 0 also got
QUOTE(Ben Ling @ Nov 30 2018, 12:54 AM)
lowest is 0, but didn't get that, my lowest was 0.10
ya.. i got Rm0 three times already. 1st 2 times were utility bills
last night i spent Rm3.90 in fave, shake 0

This post has been edited by car_computer: Nov 30 2018, 09:28 AM
car_computer
post Nov 30 2018, 04:17 PM

755 posts

just transacted favepay Rm85+ . shake Rm1
car_computer
post Nov 30 2018, 04:19 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Nov 30 2018, 04:19 PM)
Please update us if you happen to receive the additional RM5 CB. notworthy.gif
will know by end of tomorrow
car_computer
post Nov 30 2018, 08:20 PM

755 posts

my friend and i tried boost just now - SS2 Durian House Stall
car_computer
post Dec 1 2018, 08:35 AM

755 posts

QUOTE(coolguy99 @ Dec 1 2018, 08:06 AM)
Is it Durian Station next to the police station?
not that one. many stalls there carry the name SS2 so it is rather confusing

this stall is located in the middle. the exact name is SS2 Durian House Stall
car_computer
post Dec 2 2018, 01:12 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Dec 2 2018, 12:52 PM)
Also for online purchases like 11street where you "Scan & Pay", if you're paying on a phone and you have to sign in to pay, that'll also count as a "Scan & Pay" transaction. I asked Boost support about this.
oh.. thats a good news . pay with boost via 11st app and fave app need to sign in to pay without displaying qr code.
i always thought only transactions involved qr code would be qualified

This post has been edited by car_computer: Dec 2 2018, 01:42 PM
car_computer
post Dec 2 2018, 01:51 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(talexeh @ Dec 2 2018, 12:58 PM)
Do you have any idea if users that use "Scan Me" functionality is eligible?
it doesnt matter whether you scan the merchant’s qr code or the merchant scans your app qr code. they are both considered “scan&pay”

apart from this, there is an interesting finding. a forumer reported that he received weekly special cb for paying with boost via fave app. another forumer also just mentioned that paying with boost via 11st app is also considered scan&pay, although we need to purposely log in to pay with boost via 11st app and fave app but no qr code is displayed
car_computer
post Dec 2 2018, 05:22 PM

755 posts

QUOTE(jishu @ Dec 2 2018, 03:06 PM)
actually their cs guy is like 2-3 people only. It either Hafiz, or the Indian guy Satish and the other Indian.
And they really seems to not knowing much about the merchant.

Have an issue with MBO cashback previously, and i have to argued so long then finally receive the cashback lol
too many promos by boost
not only customers are confused, boost customer service staff are also confused too
why not just do like the previous promo- 50% cb up to Rm10 for all

14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0504sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:42 AM