Public Bank Credit Cards V5, PB Visa Sig 6% & Quantum 5% Cash Back

SNHY693
post Dec 14 2018, 05:49 PM

174 posts

Need some help guys,
I bought some items using the Quantum Master on Shopee on 11.11 and one of my transactions received the 5% cashback

However for my mums credit card, there is 3 transactions on Shopee on the same date that did not received the cashback.

After calling to their hotline, they claim that the 3 transactions is listed under e-commerce and no cashback is given.

The CS claim that it depends on how each seller in Shopee is registered, either as e-commerce or online.

Just wanna ask, isnt it that all payment is thru Shopee as they are using the Shopee's payment gateway? So isnt it all transactions will get cashback?

Even my transaction on 10.12 did not get cashback. Dun tell me shopee using diff payment gateway leading to no cashback already? ranting.gif

This post has been edited by SNHY693: Dec 14 2018, 05:53 PM
SNHY693
post Dec 14 2018, 05:57 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Dec 14 2018, 05:52 PM)
She didn't receive OTPs, Direct debit instead of Online.
QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 14 2018, 05:53 PM)
PBB treats online as whether you receive OTP or not.
OTP == online

Some mentioned Shopee payment can be without OTP.
Just checked all transactions had OTP..
SNHY693
post Dec 14 2018, 06:04 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 14 2018, 06:00 PM)
Shoot an email to CS by attaching those OTP screenshots as proof.
Anyway how do we argue with them that OTP = online transaction?

This post has been edited by SNHY693: Dec 14 2018, 06:05 PM
SNHY693
post Dec 14 2018, 06:09 PM

174 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Dec 14 2018, 06:06 PM)
They'll argue with you using that point.
I see, thanks man, dunno whether if straight shoot them with OTP they will deny or not.

Maybe I think i need to send them an email first to bait them to tell me that OTP = online transactions
SNHY693
post Dec 20 2018, 08:08 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(kart @ Dec 20 2018, 06:08 AM)
Can you call Public Bank Customer Service, to ask about the merchant category code (MCC) of all your Shopee app transactions?

If Public Bank Customer Service Executive says that your Shopee app transactions are not online transactions, just ask the CS how Public Bank classifies your Shopee app transactions. Did Public Bank detect the transactions as direct marketing, direct debit, and so on?

Post the clarifications given by the Public Bank Customer Service Executive in this thread, so that the credit card experts here can help you to figure out why there is no online cashback given for your Shopee app transactions.

Good luck. smile.gif
Previously I called the CS and they claimed it was under e commerce but I didn't ask for the MCC code though. I tried sending an email to custsvc@publicbank.com.my last Friday to ask about this. Only received the automated reply but until now there is still no response from them. I wonder anyone knows how long it takes for them to reply.
SNHY693
post Dec 21 2018, 10:49 AM

174 posts

Update on Shopee issue, this is their reply

Please be informed that the Bank is only acting in the capacity of a Billing Agent for Biller (Merchant). In other words, the billing is done by Merchant and all data pertaining to the transactions made on your Credit Card are from the Merchant not the Card Issuing Bank.

As long as the Merchant had indicated to us that the said transaction is an Online Transaction or E-Commerce Transaction, Cardmember will enjoy 5% Cash Back when using their Quantum MasterCard to make the purchases (capped at RM 30.00 Per Month Per Principal Cardmember).

The email also mentioned that one of the shopee transactions is not indicated as online transaction.... but then the next sentence mentioned they will deduct my VIP Points and credit the cashback to me next month. Is this considered goodwill or what?
SNHY693
post Dec 21 2018, 11:33 AM

174 posts

QUOTE(SNHY693 @ Dec 14 2018, 05:49 PM)
Need some help guys,
I bought some items using the Quantum Master on Shopee on 11.11 and one of my transactions received the 5% cashback

However for my mums credit card, there is 3 transactions on Shopee on the same date that did not received the cashback.

After calling to their hotline, they claim that the 3 transactions is listed under e-commerce and no cashback is given.

The CS claim that it depends on how each seller in Shopee is registered, either as e-commerce or online.

Just wanna ask, isnt it that all payment is thru Shopee as they are using the Shopee's payment gateway? So isnt it all transactions will get cashback?

Even my transaction on 10.12 did not get cashback. Dun tell me shopee using diff payment gateway leading to no cashback already? ranting.gif
QUOTE(beLIEve @ Dec 21 2018, 11:19 AM)
Gurus here say that Public Bank treats transactions with One Time Password as Online. If you received the OTP over SMS for this transaction, then they are correcting their mistake. If you did not, then it's goodwill.
Yup, received OTP for all transactions, but previously when my mum called for hers, they said e-commerce no cashback. Now the reply email for mine says e-commerce has cashback
SNHY693
post Dec 26 2018, 03:24 PM

174 posts

Previously mentioned here that some of my Shopee transactions did not receive cashback. Public Bank CS called and said that the transactions are not listed as online transactions as it depends on merchant's settlement method. The CS mentioned that there is no way to determine whether our online purchases qualify for cashback until the transaction goes through. PBB also does not have any TnC or statement that mentions what qualifies for cashback under "online" category. So basically the cashback for "online" category is not a guaranteed. Can be a hit and miss thing..

0.0781sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 03:51 PM