KINGSTON SSD A400 240gb Budget SSD, ssd

TSRainings
post Nov 23 2018, 04:15 PM, updated 6y ago

1,101 posts

is this budget SSD good? planning to get one to store some daily games for the loading speed.
It is really cheap compared to WD and SD.
TSRainings
post Nov 23 2018, 08:51 PM

1,101 posts

QUOTE(wailam @ Nov 23 2018, 04:19 PM)
Its like the entry of all SSD. That's why its cheap.
yea. but quite a number of brands, by far this one is the cheapest from lazada

QUOTE(mrcg @ Nov 23 2018, 04:20 PM)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nJEpQsGkNgg

watch this....dont know how to embedded
Thanks a lot it is really informative. Looks like most of the entry lvl SSD is good.

QUOTE(mbr @ Nov 23 2018, 04:56 PM)
When you are used to old 28 seater school busses (HDD drives), even the Perodua Kenari (A400) feels luxurious though smaller. Easier to park, drives around fairly well. That sort of comparison.

Crucial MX500 is like... Honda City... value for money
Samsung 860 Evo SATA is like...  a Toyota Camry... pricey, faster and classy
and the 970 Evo NVMe is like Ferrari 438 Italia... different class of speeds, with smaller seating space
Nice comparison, but i try to search around crucial mx500 pricing higher compare to kingston.
I plan to get this the cheap SSD purely for game storage only.
right now using Nvme 970 evo as boot drive. it is blazing fast!
But i don't plan to install any game in this drive.

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Nov 23 2018, 05:05 PM)
And 970 Pro is the Bugatti Chiron laugh.gif
970 Evo pro is another lvl, i am fine with 970 evo for now hehe.

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 23 2018, 05:28 PM)
All those super cheap ones very likely does not have DRAM cache. Crucial MX500 got price drop and it is definitely better than Kingston A400.
is DRAM really that important?
Crucial mx500 better you mean because it has DRAM? i am eyeing for A400 because of the pricing hehe, not still searching for other brands tho.
i only plan to get one SSD drive purely for game storage.

TSRainings
post Nov 24 2018, 06:58 PM

1,101 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 23 2018, 09:35 PM)
Im using evo 970 nvme as my boot drive. for game storage i think can go for non DRAMless sdd? hmm.gif

QUOTE(mbr @ Nov 23 2018, 10:00 PM)
Crucial has 512mb cache I think, depending on model. You are right, if you only want for game storage, the dram may not play that big a role
Great. thanks for ur feedback.

QUOTE(mondayblue17 @ Nov 24 2018, 12:21 AM)
MX500 crucial

DRAM
250GB 256MB DDR3
500GB 512MB DDR3
1TB        1GB DDR3

if you use for boost disk better choose the SSD got DRAM
thanks for ur intro
TSRainings
post Oct 14 2019, 02:08 PM

1,101 posts

Finally decided to pull the trigger during 11-11 planning to get 250gb or 500 gb SDD just for games. Till this date, any recommended brand.
Base on the meaningful discussion with the forumer can i rank the recommended brand like below?
Budget SSD for gaming storage
Realiability > Price

1. Crucial MX500
2. Seagate
3. ADATA
4. KingSton A400

This post has been edited by Rainings: Oct 14 2019, 02:26 PM
TSRainings
post Apr 24 2020, 05:10 PM

1,101 posts

The price for 250GB and 500GB SSD is getting closer and closer.
Im comparing Crucial MX500 and Samsung Evo 860. Most likely will go with Samsung
Both also comes with DRAM. After 2 years I still using HDD for games.
Hopefully this year i have budget to spend on tech.
TSRainings
post Sep 9 2020, 02:29 PM

1,101 posts

after almost 2 years, finally pull the trigger on 1TB mx500 with 5 years warranty. Today 9.9 sales really get a better deal.
thx for all the meaningful discussion and I did learn a lot from the sifu here. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Rainings: Sep 9 2020, 02:30 PM
TSRainings
post Sep 10 2020, 08:33 PM

1,101 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Sep 9 2020, 04:15 PM)
Really salute your withholding power.
Because is not urgent and my requirement changing over the years, at first thinking only to get 250 then later 500.
In the end, decided just bite the bullet and go for 1TB instead.
since the game files getting bigger and bigger each year.

QUOTE(PJng @ Sep 10 2020, 07:21 PM)
As i remember there is a google sheet post about SSD spec
Search half hour did not remember where
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1B27...2gT4/edit#gid=0

0.2089sec    0.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:29 AM