KINGSTON SSD A400 240gb Budget SSD, ssd

TristanX
post Nov 9 2019, 01:57 AM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(ghostcommand @ Nov 9 2019, 01:39 AM)
Samsung is for those who can afford it, they are among the best in the market due to their good quality control.
Their asking price for most of the models is becoming extreme though. You can get double the storage space for most of other brands.
hashtag2016
post Nov 9 2019, 06:00 PM

505 posts

For budget SSD just get Crucial MX500 (SATA).

Or can consider Kingston A2000 (NVME).

Both also have 5 year warranties. You will probably never notice the difference in both unless you are transferring or working with huge file sizes.

Anything cheaper is a risk, I would personally never buy those. I have seen many cheap SSD fail in just a few months. It is a big hassle when the drive fails, especially if you haven't done a backup.

Samsung is for those who can afford it, they are among the best in the market due to their good quality control.
The price of samsung 860 evo (the sata one) is quite fair nowadays... only RM300ish (less than RM350) for 500GB
fat cat
post Nov 9 2019, 09:34 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(wilsonsin @ Nov 8 2019, 02:48 PM)
guys, i am looking for cheaper ssd too..
for my ps4 and desktop main os storage

Crucial, samsung or kingston/sandisk?
which one cheaper and recommended?

btw if samsung 850 evo or 860 evo any different?
860 should be cheaper since its still in production. but generally, 860 is faster, and can have more terabytes written.

This post has been edited by fat cat: Nov 9 2019, 09:35 PM
Selectt
post Dec 15 2019, 08:56 PM

wattttt!!
1,708 posts

as i did my research, here is my 2sen. in nutshell,

a400 is dramless, it is only suitable for those who is casual users usually surf net, microsoft office application (not heavy user). Dramless ssd wears out faster than dram ssd.

if you are only looking for super cheap ssd without much reliability, a400 is for you.
ahbenchai
post Dec 17 2019, 12:45 PM

what do you mean you people?
1,210 posts

guys, i plan to get a budget M2 SSD? any recommendation

saw a WD green 480GB for RM220, quite nice

any other better alternative?
TristanX
post Dec 17 2019, 12:52 PM

Where is my stars?
24,340 posts

QUOTE(ahbenchai @ Dec 17 2019, 12:45 PM)
guys, i plan to get a budget M2 SSD? any recommendation

saw a WD green 480GB for RM220, quite nice

any other better alternative?
DRAMless rubbish. Adata XPG SX8200 Pro 512GB is not a lot more expensive for significantly more performance.
Jescon
post Dec 17 2019, 01:07 PM

452 posts

For budget SSD just get Crucial MX500 (SATA).

Or can consider Kingston A2000 (NVME).

Both also have 5 year warranties. You will probably never notice the difference in both unless you are transferring or working with huge file sizes.

Anything cheaper is a risk, I would personally never buy those. I have seen many cheap SSD fail in just a few months. It is a big hassle when the drive fails, especially if you haven't done a backup.

Why no love for Sandisk Ultra?
pretty23
post Dec 17 2019, 01:46 PM

1,791 posts

dramless is nice. especially 900p 905p.
ghostcommand
post Dec 17 2019, 10:05 PM

671 posts

QUOTE(Jescon @ Dec 17 2019, 01:07 PM)
Why no love for Sandisk Ultra?
Because Sandisk Ultra is more expensive than MX500. For 1TB I can get MX500 at RM490 (shopee), Sandisk Ultra is RM550.

If I'm not mistaken, local retailer only offer 3 year warranty for Sandisk Ultra, when it should be 5 years global warranty (as stated on the packaging).

Crucial MX500 got 5 years warranty and is well-known for its quality.
Jescon
post Dec 17 2019, 11:43 PM

452 posts

QUOTE(ghostcommand @ Dec 17 2019, 10:05 PM)
Because Sandisk Ultra is more expensive than MX500. For 1TB I can get MX500 at RM490 (shopee), Sandisk Ultra is RM550.

If I'm not mistaken, local retailer only offer 3 year warranty for Sandisk Ultra, when it should be 5 years global warranty (as stated on the packaging).

Yeah, 3 years warranty only. Hmm, time to re-think my ssd purchase
Selectt
post Dec 18 2019, 11:24 AM

wattttt!!
1,708 posts

QUOTE(ghostcommand @ Dec 17 2019, 10:05 PM)
i read overseas forum ssd, most recommend mx500 for reliability. mx500 is toyota.

those looking for bmw, mercedes, ferrari can opt for high end samsung ssd, optane.

if die die want cheaper one, buy bx500 at least it is from crucial not kingston.

sifu like tristanx, k!nex already advise.
imin
post Dec 23 2019, 01:00 PM

818 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Nov 28 2018, 09:51 AM)
I also just bought Kingston A400 and i used it for my OS. I noticed a very annoying issue with it. more often than not, my screen will freeze(unresponsive) along with the mouse cursor sometimes being able to move and sometimes not being able (stuck) but sounds are still being played without a problem during those unresponsive moments. Especially when programs are being opened.

Damn bloody annoying and it only happened right after i switched to A400 SSD. reformatted it and still the same shit.

does that have to do with the SSD not having DRAM cache?
happened to me often enough... at first I thought my A400 is having issues... it seems this is the common traits of cheap SSD... haishhh. my other laptop with crucial mx500 never faced this issue. should have skipped this A400 altogether.

QUOTE(TristanX @ Nov 28 2018, 09:53 AM)
Yup. Thats no DRAM cache for you. Stutters when the load is heavy.
never thought it's going to be this often & annoying though. my other laptop with crucial mx500 never faced this issue.

ahbenchai
post Dec 30 2019, 03:41 PM

what do you mean you people?
1,210 posts

guys..

where to buy M2 ssd screw? bangwall.gif bangwall.gif
lawliet88
post Dec 30 2019, 04:45 PM

993 posts

QUOTE(ahbenchai @ Dec 30 2019, 03:41 PM)
guys..

where to buy M2 ssd screw?  bangwall.gif  bangwall.gif
shopee/lazada
Valentino46
post Jan 3 2020, 03:35 AM

638 posts

was using XPG s40g nvme drive in my ryzen 3600 rig,now temporarily migrate to sandisk ssd plus sata drive for RMA of that XPG drive
i don't know about the DRAMLESS "stuttering nightmare",i bet if you do a blind test between my 2 different ssd you may not detect much different at all loading games and doing the usual window thing.

This post has been edited by Valentino46: Jan 4 2020, 02:00 PM
JackySP
post Jan 13 2020, 02:33 PM

25 posts

Pny xlr8 cs3030 1tb NVME rm 540
TSRainings
post Apr 24 2020, 05:10 PM

1,101 posts

The price for 250GB and 500GB SSD is getting closer and closer.
Im comparing Crucial MX500 and Samsung Evo 860. Most likely will go with Samsung
Both also comes with DRAM. After 2 years I still using HDD for games.
Hopefully this year i have budget to spend on tech.
1024kbps
post Apr 25 2020, 11:38 AM

李素裳
6,014 posts

QUOTE(Rainings @ Apr 24 2020, 05:10 PM)
The price for 250GB and 500GB SSD is getting closer and closer.
Im comparing Crucial MX500 and Samsung Evo 860. Most likely will go with Samsung
Both also comes with DRAM. After 2 years I still using HDD for games.
Hopefully this year i have budget to spend on tech.
It depends on what games you're playing, unless you keep dying in game and needed to reload frequently sweat.gif
or the game has long loading time if changing map, ect, installing game in SSD might not improve fps nor reduce stutter,

I have stutter because either steam or Windows is downloading and updating game while im playing, this will cause the game stuttering badly,
I simply raise the game process priority to the highest and no more stuttering, plus enable game mode, Windows 10 wont disturb you during gaming session.

Cheaper way would be installing games on RAID 0 hdd, the burst read speed is much high than non raid sata ssd, around 1800MB/s for 50mb files, bigger files the read speed will drop further.

OR, get a Samsung 860 Evo with rapid mode enabled, your game read and write speed will off the chart, that will match the system RAM read and write speed if the ssd cached game map to RAM.
second option would be raid 0 with 2 SSD, but TRIM might not working depends on your mobo.

This post has been edited by 1024kbps: Apr 25 2020, 11:49 AM
TSRainings
post Sep 9 2020, 02:29 PM

1,101 posts

after almost 2 years, finally pull the trigger on 1TB mx500 with 5 years warranty. Today 9.9 sales really get a better deal.
thx for all the meaningful discussion and I did learn a lot from the sifu here. notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Rainings: Sep 9 2020, 02:30 PM
xxboxx
post Sep 9 2020, 04:15 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

Really salute your withholding power.

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0228sec    0.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:09 AM