Suggestion for New Accounts, Preventive measures for spam topics
TSAvangelice
Nov 21 2018, 12:21 AM, updated 8y ago
-- Please keep your post concise to ensure a speedy review from us. We suggest 250 words or less. --
I am suggesting giving a cooling period to new accounts from opening new topics Eg for one week. Also if its possible, IP address should be tied to one account to prevent some trolls from opening multiple accounts within a time limit.
Temporary blocking opening of new accounts is treating the symptoms but not the root cause.
Kaerna
Nov 21 2018, 01:46 AM
I believe the dupes are mainly created for creating controversy in Kopitiam. So why not restrict new accounts from posting in Kopitiam until a post count in other serious forum (which contribute to post count) is reached?
This way we still allow people to create account for posting legit queries in the other subforum (including serious Kopitiam) which is subject to more strict moderation.
This post has been edited by Kaerna: Nov 21 2018, 01:47 AM
TSAvangelice
Nov 21 2018, 07:44 AM
QUOTE(Kaerna @ Nov 21 2018, 01:46 AM) I believe the dupes are mainly created for creating controversy in Kopitiam. So why not restrict new accounts from posting in Kopitiam until a post count in other serious forum (which contribute to post count) is reached? This way we still allow people to create account for posting legit queries in the other subforum (including serious Kopitiam) which is subject to more strict moderation. I have mooted this idea out before but the mods explained that if they were to do that, there will be an influx of useless content in the other sub threads from people looking to get stars.
SUSslimey
Nov 21 2018, 11:47 PM
one week kinda extreme........
but restrict number of topics per unit time is good for spam bots.
i don't really mind the dupes if the behave themselves........but the obvious nicknames indicating dupes are just asking for it.
UserU
Nov 23 2018, 02:40 PM
CSONLINE2.NET - FREE COUNTER-STRIKE
Cooldowns wont work though, they will just create a bunch of dupes and let them loose after that.