Windows 4K animation lag, Intel HD 610

xxboxx
post Nov 24 2018, 08:12 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,093 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Nov 24 2018, 06:49 PM)
Single channel might not be sufficient for the graphics. I see you have extra RAMs on your main rig, no harm trying to use them in your HTPC.

I agree dual channel RAM will improve those integrated graphic that share memory. I read it before 2200G can see 20% improvement just by getting the RAM to run dual channel.
1024kbps
post Nov 24 2018, 08:21 PM

李素裳
5,781 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 22 2018, 05:55 PM)
So far the only issue is with Windows animation right? Your usage is only for HTPC right?
I think try to decrease or turn off Windows visual effects, and make sure less program running in the background and when windows startup.

Try playback 4K video on youtube.

Upgrading processor is the most expensive choice, so better it to be the last option.
4K youtube is currently forcing us with their VP9 which is not widely supported by GPU decoding.
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/firefo...-youtube-videos
Mostly due too licensing issue, vp9 is developed by Google while h264 require to pays.

Don't use youtube 4k as benchmark as it will choke your CPU to death, VP9 GPU acceleration will be available in the future of GPU>
xxboxx
post Nov 24 2018, 09:19 PM

5,093 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Nov 24 2018, 08:21 PM)
4K youtube is currently forcing us with their VP9 which is not widely supported by GPU decoding.
Mostly due too licensing issue, vp9 is developed by Google while h264 require to pays.

Don't use youtube 4k as benchmark as it will choke your CPU to death, VP9 GPU acceleration will be available in the future of GPU>

Ya, h264 and H265 need to pay.

His HD 610 got hardware acceleration to decode h264/h265. But VP9 will use CPU processing, same like Windows animation, etc also rely on CPU processing.
1024kbps
post Nov 24 2018, 09:40 PM

李素裳
5,781 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 24 2018, 09:19 PM)
Ya, h264 and H265 need to pay.

His HD 610 got hardware acceleration to decode h264/h265. But VP9 will use CPU processing, same like Windows animation, etc also rely on CPU processing.
How to increase global warming speed in secret way, brought to you by Google!
at least improve the cpu decoding speed lah what the hell Google.

Also VP9 will be just another forgettable codec, they just announced AV1 codec...

For Windows animation lag, yes it required a bit of horse power to drive in 4K, just turn off those fancy pansy windows animation to reduce the gpu and cpu workload.
xxboxx
post Nov 25 2018, 08:31 AM

5,093 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Nov 24 2018, 09:40 PM)
How to increase global warming speed in secret way, brought to you by Google!
at least improve the cpu decoding speed lah what the hell Google.

Also VP9 will be just another forgettable codec, they just announced AV1 codec...
For Windows animation lag, yes it required a bit of horse power to drive in 4K, just turn off those fancy pansy windows animation to reduce the gpu and cpu workload.

Hardware acceleration will depends on GPU maker to implement it, including Intel.

For company like Google that stream billions of videos, where most of their profit is from ads instead of subscription like netflix, understandably they wouldn't want to pay royalty for each time a video is streamed.

AV1 is the update of VP1, and now got more big player supporting it like Amazon, hulu, netflix and now even MS, so hopefully will see hardware maker also support it.
1024kbps
post Nov 25 2018, 09:08 AM

李素裳
5,781 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 25 2018, 08:31 AM)
Hardware acceleration will depends on GPU maker to implement it, including Intel.

For company like Google that stream billions of videos, where most of their profit is from ads instead of subscription like netflix, understandably they wouldn't want to pay royalty for each time a video is streamed.

AV1 is the update of VP1, and now got more big player supporting it like Amazon, hulu, netflix and now even MS, so hopefully will see hardware maker also support it.
Though, there's a way to force Youtube play h264, is using Edge, but only support up to 1080p60.
The only browser does not lag while playing VP9 4K60 is chrome, but cpu utilization is still 90% most of the time.

Adding a codec hardware acceleration into GPU is a slow process, probably we wont see the gpu support within 1 years or 2.
PJng
post Nov 25 2018, 10:42 AM

10,545 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Nov 24 2018, 08:21 PM)

borrow thread ask
If 1080 also? My pc with onboard graphic cannot play smooth 1080, very high CPU usage
xxboxx
post Nov 25 2018, 11:09 AM

5,093 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Nov 25 2018, 09:08 AM)
Though, there's a way to force Youtube play h264, is using Edge, but only support up to 1080p60.
The only browser does not lag while playing VP9 4K60 is chrome, but cpu utilization is still 90% most of the time.

Adding a codec hardware acceleration into GPU is a slow process, probably we wont see the gpu support within 1 years or 2.

If not mistaken AV1 haven't even finalized the format. So don't know for how long some more. And there's pressure for H265 to reduce their fees so can compete with AV1 once it come out.

QUOTE(PJng @ Nov 25 2018, 10:42 AM)
borrow thread ask
If 1080 also? My pc with onboard graphic cannot play smooth 1080, very high CPU usage

What's your spec? Play YouTube 1080p?

1024kbps
post Nov 25 2018, 11:40 AM

李素裳
5,781 posts

borrow thread ask
MPC-HC by default will enable h264 acceleration, try to use MPC-HC before anything else.

As for youtube, use Microsoft Edge, most newer system will play h264 smoothly,
dont use any other browser as Google force us to use VP9 as default, VP9 does not support GPU acceleration yet and it's too slow for low end and laptop processor.
TSlegenderycity
post Nov 25 2018, 01:56 PM

1,016 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Nov 24 2018, 06:49 PM)
Single channel might not be sufficient for the graphics. I see you have extra RAMs on your main rig, no harm trying to use them in your HTPC.
QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 24 2018, 08:12 PM)
I agree dual channel RAM will improve those integrated graphic that share memory. I read it before 2200G can see 20% improvement just by getting the RAM to run dual channel.
Tried with dual channel ram. Doesnt seem to feel significantly smoother if not at all. Cant tell any difference at least. I guess it only matters during gaming?
TSlegenderycity
post Nov 25 2018, 01:58 PM

1,016 posts

borrow thread ask
Mine if i set to 1080p then its smooth. Yours high CPU usage maybe is something else hogging the CPU?
PJng
post Nov 25 2018, 02:31 PM

10,545 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 25 2018, 11:09 AM)
If not mistaken AV1 haven't even finalized the format. So don't know for how long some more. And there's pressure for H265 to reduce their fees so can compete with AV1 once it come out.

What's your spec? Play YouTube 1080p?
QUOTE(legenderycity @ Nov 25 2018, 01:58 PM)
Mine if i set to 1080p then its smooth. Yours high CPU usage maybe is something else hogging the CPU?
Yes, youtube 1080p, over 90% CPU
If 720p or below ok, no high CPU usage
6 years pc, i5 2300 2x4GB RAM

junclj
post Nov 25 2018, 03:02 PM

2,297 posts

I was bought a very cheap used AMD R7 370 2GB (in China they called it as R9 370) from taobao to watch video in 1080p and even able to watch 2k video in Youtube by enable this graphics card Virtual Super Resolution without stuttering. Sorry to say that my TV only has 1080p.

I am very happy with this graphics card. My PC was put to living room and only use to watch IPTV and online dramas. Sometimes torrent and watch 1080p movies.

The most important is this graphics card has sound card on hdmi. So I no need to plug another audio jack or spdif optical cable to my receiver home theater system. I just need one HDMI cable only. Unlike the integrated intel GPU do not have sound card.

very satisfy, cheap and nice graphics card. Being using for half year since June 2018 (graphics card bought at May 2018 from taobao), running smooth and never complaint.

Watch IPTV (axtro) in 1080p, can run very smooth without stuttering.

my system specs

This post has been edited by junclj: Nov 25 2018, 03:29 PM
xxboxx
post Nov 25 2018, 05:43 PM

5,093 posts

QUOTE(legenderycity @ Nov 25 2018, 01:56 PM)
Tried with dual channel ram. Doesnt seem to feel significantly smoother if not at all. Cant tell any difference at least. I guess it only matters during gaming?

So maybe the igpu is still not fast enough to process windows animation at 4k 60fps
But since you not playing 4k video, why not just set it to 1080p resolution?

QUOTE(PJng @ Nov 25 2018, 02:31 PM)
Yes, youtube 1080p, over 90% CPU
If 720p or below ok, no high CPU usage
6 years pc, i5 2300 2x4GB RAM

Can try 1024kbps suggestion to use Edge so that youtube use H264 codec instead of VP9.
Else you need external GC, my ancient HD7770 can even process 4k60fps VP9 video (not hardware decoding) smoothly.
kingkingyyk
post Nov 25 2018, 05:47 PM

15,425 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 24 2018, 09:19 PM)
same like Windows animation, etc also rely on CPU processing.
Unfortunately, Windows animation is from DirectX. DWM

QUOTE(legenderycity @ Nov 25 2018, 01:56 PM)
If it doesn't work, then accept it is what it is. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by kingkingyyk: Nov 25 2018, 05:48 PM
PJng
post Nov 25 2018, 05:50 PM

10,545 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 25 2018, 05:43 PM)
So maybe the igpu is still not fast enough to process windows animation at 4k 60fps
But since you not playing 4k video, why not just set it to 1080p resolution?

Can try 1024kbps suggestion to use Edge so that youtube use H264 codec instead of VP9.
Else you need external GC, my ancient HD7770 can even process 4k60fps VP9 video (not hardware decoding) smoothly.
Already buy a GC, have issue that i have been ask here before
xxboxx
post Nov 25 2018, 09:16 PM

5,093 posts

QUOTE(kingkingyyk @ Nov 25 2018, 05:47 PM)
Unfortunately, Windows animation is from DirectX. DWM

Means it will be limited to the integrated gpu only for processing the graphic? CPU won't matter?

QUOTE(PJng @ Nov 25 2018, 05:50 PM)
Already buy a GC, have issue that i have been ask here before

You mean you just bought the GC or the GC can't use?
PJng
post Nov 25 2018, 09:20 PM

10,545 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Nov 25 2018, 09:16 PM)
Means it will be limited to the integrated gpu only for processing the graphic? CPU won't matter?
You mean you just bought the GC or the GC can't use?
Few month ago
Need to write again
My monitor only have VGA
GC now no more VGA
Get a convertor working well only about 3 month
Then always black screen few second
But test on TV no issue
1024kbps
post Nov 25 2018, 09:25 PM

李素裳
5,781 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Nov 25 2018, 09:20 PM)
Few month ago
Need to write again
My monitor only have VGA
GC now no more VGA
Get a convertor working well only about 3 month
Then always black screen few second
But test on TV no issue

Poor connection, crap cable, or just driver issue,
My RX Vega also have same issue when connect with HDMI to my Philips TV, the black screen sometimes will occurs and it's annoying.
My Dell LCD also same. but even worst, sometimes it will just display black screen, all i have to do is just reset the display sweat.gif

PJng
post Nov 25 2018, 09:29 PM

10,545 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Nov 25 2018, 09:25 PM)
Poor connection, crap cable, or just driver issue,
My RX Vega also have same issue when connect with HDMI to my Philips TV, the black screen sometimes will occurs and it's annoying.
My Dell LCD also same. but even worst, sometimes it will just display black screen, all i have to do is just reset the display sweat.gif
I don think driver issue, on TV no issue, even when black screen i remote control nothing error is show, windows running fine

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0204sec    0.55    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 11:14 PM