HSBC Global Support Executive, The world local is paying local salary.

cheryl08
post Apr 21 2008, 12:38 PM

206 posts

[quote=eternalshiroh,Mar 20 2008, 08:26 PM]i am waiting the hr call also,last week i interview for hong kong security dept. the manager told me to do so. usually how long i have to wait?
some ppl say if u already meet the future manager means ur chance is very high,is it true?

[/quote]
I've just start working at HDPM last month. The whole proces is quite fast for me. They call me up for interview, 2 days later they offer me the employment, then the following day go for medical check-up and finally the next day collect offer letter abd sitting for Eng assessment test. But normally is 5 working day unless they told you when. For my case is within the same week, therefore they call me up 2 days after interview.
I think I agree with you although I'm still new as the person interviewed me is AMO previously, but when I start working a week after interview, he's promoted to MO. By the way are you in HDPM also? Actually I don't like Call centre as it's quite stressful and my friend told me that i can apply for lateral movement, I hope I may do so right now.
For your info, last Dec 2007, I got an interview under HK Security as well, the MO interview me, he told me HK security a bit messy compare to UK Security, their motto is FAST & ACCURATE. UK more systematic, arrange everything accordingly, easy for you to do the job. But, the benefit for staff is good, I wish I can go to that dept at least better than call centre which I totally NO CONFIDENCE in that area.

Added on April 21, 2008, 12:45 pm[quote=Elayne,Mar 21 2008, 10:38 PM]
r u goin to securities / call center / hr ?
the one who interviewd u from which dept.?

[/quote]
I think I'm going to either call center/back ends. I'll call them up to re-confirm tomorrow.
The one who interviewed me is a lady in around mid30,forgotten her name as i'm extremely nervous at the interview moment sweat.gif And at the same time,she explained lots of things to me as i'm a newbie so i just focus on what she have said. She is finding people for aust/new zealand to fill up. But now my working hours is from 7am-4pm,it is possible it is aust/new zealand time zone? More prob i'm into processing already liao i think unsure.gif

[/quote]
Is it fix 7am-4pm, which dept then? I wish I get that working time.

Added on April 21, 2008, 1:11 pm[quote=tenddyooi,Jun 21 2007, 01:52 AM]
Aussie dept..hmm..I heard that the people there need to handle english, mandarin and cantonese calls at same time..little chinese working in aussie dept n if not mistaken only 2chinese gals there..haha..aussie dept just beside taiwan dept..aussie shift is change every 2months..workload kinda heavy always que call same like us..if u can get better job..don work in call centre..especially hdpm.. =D

I'm stuck in hdpm now..lazy to leave.. blink.gif

[/quote]
I just start working at HDPM, me too have to handle call in Mandarin, Cantonese and English. Sometime when the phone show Man/Can, i just have to think fast, greeyting in man then can and so on. In that area, I think Eng much easier as we conduct training in Eng. Since, I'm not Chi ed, so it's difficult for me as I don't read or write in Chi, my sis told me, even you able to read all the content, but do you get what it mean, it's make sense, if you yourself don't u/stand, how when cust ask in between you read out the agreement, where shld you find the portion that cust asking, then I think I'll be?????????. To be more fair, I think ALL call centre is the same as this, that's why turnover very high. I think I won't stay long also, unless I can apply for movement now to other dept that don't req me to read/speak Chi all the time.

Added on April 21, 2008, 3:04 pm[quote=preducer,Nov 22 2007, 02:56 AM]
the building is niceee. so u confirmed it's IBM ??

[/quote]
It's IBM, I plan to apply but by the way what is their qualification, I'm not a Degree holder just Higher Diploma.

Added on April 21, 2008, 3:21 pm[quote=amir77,Mar 16 2008, 01:40 PM]
they might throw u in credit card processing..ur working hours/holiday will follow that country..

[/quote]
To be more precise, there's NO public holiday for GSE, either M'sia nor the country you serve. But you may apply leave, that's the reason they gave you 26 day annual leave.

This post has been edited by cheryl08: Apr 21 2008, 03:21 PM
cheryl08
post Apr 22 2008, 04:44 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(Elayne @ Mar 22 2008, 05:06 PM)
Ohh,actually the lady who interviewed me told me that I am not suitable to work at the call center.
She asked me which department i prefer,i straight away told her i prefer back end part. Coz i heard it is quite tough in call center,have to work on team. One team member fall,others fall together cry.gif
How sweet ur interviewer actually asking WHICH DEPT YOU PREFER?How I wish I have such a luck. Actually at the call centre is not that diff once you know what to do but still I don't like it. Currently I'm at call centre but I do know how long I'll stay, probably once I get another job, I'll chau. Or if I'm able to switch to other dept, that will b the best.

This post has been edited by cheryl08: Apr 22 2008, 04:46 PM
cheryl08
post May 12 2008, 05:02 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(andy511 @ May 4 2008, 09:31 PM)
hi..
i got a call from hsbc CJ..
i tink gona b in call centre in french line..
can any1 here brief more to me??
job scope, pay, types of allowence, benefits, language allowence..etc etc..

Added on May 8, 2008, 12:01 amno ppl can enlighten me??

Actually I'm also under call centre but under US process. I think all call centre more or less the same, the job scope mainly handling inbound call. For me, I have call centre and language allowance. But french line pretty new, I think during the interview, you shld ask the interviewer what are the benefits for staff, at least you know what you get when you accept the offer. So do you work on shft, how's the working time?
cheryl08
post Jun 1 2008, 09:46 PM

206 posts

English oral assessment but now I don't know, myself have to go on the oral assessment. After assessment, they let you know later your Eng competency result, if you past you can proceed for the interview session. If not, they ask you to come back agn for any walk-in or re-apply agn. That's it!!!! Babymiki, so you're sitting for the assessment, then I wish you luck & all the best. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by cheryl08: Jun 1 2008, 09:48 PM
cheryl08
post Jun 2 2008, 12:28 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ Jun 2 2008, 03:28 AM)
im pretty nervous cause i heard u get to partner randomly with other candidate right? hope itsn't that tough.
Not to worry so much, so which process are you applying?? I don't mind who am I partnering, they just chose 2 people in a grp and go for the assessment.
cheryl08
post Jun 4 2008, 05:44 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ Jun 4 2008, 12:19 AM)
I was short-listed and time was arranged but last minute the agent suddenly said cancel the interview for me  rclxub.gif  mad.gif
R u interested in call centre???? Why cancel all of the sudden? So you finish your assessment and waiting for interview?
cheryl08
post Jun 5 2008, 10:24 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ Jun 5 2008, 05:57 PM)
did not go for accessment. was scheduled to go for the assessment one. i told him i wasn't free on that day and he threatened to blacklist me in jobstreet as well.
Whose the guy then? Care to let me know his name??Mayb you can PM me. There's no way he can blacklist you unless you told him you come but end up did't turn up as schedule. If that's not the case it's really bad of him, no one have the right to threaten other individual with this extent.
cheryl08
post Jun 6 2008, 10:21 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ Jun 6 2008, 12:17 AM)
it's a job agency. not hsbc's staff.
Is it jobstreet, I never encounter such problem b4. In fact the consultant quite nice.
cheryl08
post Jun 11 2008, 02:30 PM

206 posts

Off topic here as I do know where to post my question. To ALL PJ or Klang Lama residents. Any idea how to go to Tmn Seri Manja? Any transport LRT, or bus to go there?
cheryl08
post Jul 4 2008, 09:11 PM

206 posts

I think there's no call centre for HSS dept. Salary I think around RM2,000 kua.
cheryl08
post Jul 8 2008, 11:53 PM

206 posts

Elayne, so you're at the 2nd Flr, me too also at the same flr, but timing is different, I work permanently night shft, following US hr. Going for the annual dinner? I join HDPM on Mar also, how I like to work for back-end process, no need to talk all the time. The benefit for dental & optical is quite tempting!!!!
cheryl08
post Jul 9 2008, 11:43 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(Elayne @ Jul 9 2008, 10:24 PM)
Oh,sorry dear. I gave the wrong info,i'm into back ends and working on the ground floor smile.gif
Hmm..still considering whether to go or not since I don't have transport to go there sweat.gif
Are you going too?Hehe,well the back ends is alright but also still got loads of works to do lor.Different ways to serve customers only tongue.gif
Yaya,so tempting!!! brows.gif  Are you going to purchase a new spec instead? Hehehe laugh.gif
I'm not going although I'm on leave, if not I need to work on Sat also. I prefer back end than call centre, really have to entertain the most irritating custs.At this moment no, but I thought we need to be at least 6 mth working here for this benefits entitlement?
cheryl08
post Jul 10 2008, 07:19 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ Jul 10 2008, 01:22 AM)
wuts the diff between back ends and call centre?
back end like normal off work & call centre interact with cust with banking inquiry.
cheryl08
post Jul 11 2008, 11:24 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(babymiki @ Jul 11 2008, 05:49 PM)
diff shift serves diff clients from around the world
Nope, different time different process will be more precise. My dept serve clients from US, therefore follow their time, the earliest shift 7.00pm-4.00am.
cheryl08
post Feb 24 2009, 03:47 AM

206 posts

I think for back end process, HSS get the highest pay compare to others, even more than call centre.
cheryl08
post Mar 28 2009, 04:09 AM

206 posts

Hi, all, just one question, for lateral movement, is it everybody compulsory to take typing assessment, then only they decide where you fit into? If yes, what type of typing, words or excel (number). What process that need fast speed typing skill? Any information, pls let me know. Thanks in advance!!!!!!!!!!!!

Added on March 31, 2009, 10:42 pmAnybody from Brunei credit card, my friend got an offer, hr called her today and she asked me how's the job like. Any info? Thanks in advance!!!!!!!!!

This post has been edited by cheryl08: Mar 31 2009, 10:42 PM
cheryl08
post Jun 25 2009, 12:39 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(neato4u @ Jun 23 2009, 02:38 PM)
omg, who bumped into this 2006 topic shocking.gif

anyway, the working environment there is just 'so-so'
the peoples are friendly (that was 3 years plus ago when i was there) laugh.gif got lots of cute chicks too hahaha.. (dunno if they now evolved into 'makciks' or not) laugh.gif

parking will be an issue.

salary will later become an issue (when you realize how much work there is).

turnover is high on all callcentres (that's what i know) - unless you have a super friendly and understanding supervisor.

I heard the Callcenter part had been closed off - and migrated over to somewhere.. lots of people were retrenched because of that. And they are downsizing.

Not sure about the condition right now (a retreched ex staff just joined our company not long ago) - so i guess there still is risk there to be last in first out.

all the best!

p/s : I left the company because of my personal dissatisfaction with the way callcenter agents evolved to became a salesperson. Nevertheless, the people under my team was great, so does my superior - office politics is there, but who can escape from that tongue.gif
I beg to differ, actually those staff no retrenched as waht you mention. True, some process close down like recently Taiwan call centre, due to economy downturn, everyone think abt cost, since Taiwan is more cheaper than Malaysia, then why not they took it back. Right now another few process coming in for example Canada process, Global Market & so on. The affected staff redeployed to other dept, so there's no retrenchment unless the staff choose to leave. Call centre is somewhere no one will stay for a long time, don't feel surprise with the high turnover!!!!!
cheryl08
post Jan 15 2010, 11:32 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(ryuuzaki86 @ Jan 15 2010, 02:50 PM)
hye guys...

i would like to ask how many exactly employee HSBC has in Call Center sector? is there anyone out there may be know about the figure.. smile.gif
I'm not sure the exact amount but could be abt few hundred ppl at this moment & will hire more this year as lots of migration will be in, the reason because it's 24/7..
cheryl08
post Jan 31 2010, 12:53 AM

206 posts

Actually the title GSE stands for Global Support Executive..so GSE doesn't mean must be base at contact centre, could be back end process.
cristiano7mu....yup, you're right, GSE securities is HSS (HSBC Security Service).
cheryl08
post Feb 1 2010, 10:06 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(cristiano7mu @ Feb 1 2010, 09:06 PM)
I heard we cant bring handphone along wit us during working hour. Is that true?
Yup, we keep our belonging including handphone in a locker (each staff have their own locker) before going into process floor..

0.0608sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 11:41 AM