Need a helping hand w/ overclocking my cpu

TSNitrate82
post Jun 8 2007, 07:17 AM, updated 19y ago

Hello everyone. I am looking for some help here about overclocking my CPU. At the moment, I am playing LotRO with a new x1950 pro but my CPU is only a Pentium 4 3 Ghz.

Everything in the game looks fine, no graphical lags, but CPU is hogging up everything so the game is not slow, but choppy when the CPU is taking up its load.

If anyone wants to help. please let me know asap. Or else, i will have to buy a new PC which I do not have the money for anyhow. I plan to maybe upgrade by the end of this year. For now, I'm very happy with everything except the choppiness that is due to my CPU.

My system specs are:

P4 3 Ghz
2 MB DDR400 Ram
X1950 256 MB DDR3 (8x AGP) which i upgraded from a GeForce 6800.

In fact, if my CPU isn't bottlenecking right now, i'll be able to enjoy the game.

PS - I am willing to give away my 6800 as a token of appreciation.

All in good intentions.

Best regards,
Isaac.

Added on June 8, 2007, 7:23 amAlso, I am using an Asus motherboard, which was top of the line back in 2005. I'm not so much a computer savvy now but I used to be, since the GeForce Ti 4200s, were released.

I am totally one or two generations behind time as far as computer tech is concerned because I kinda lost interest. But now i'm back and ready to enjoy gaming like I used to before.

Cheers biggrin.gif

Added on June 8, 2007, 7:27 am
QUOTE(Nitrate82 @ Jun 8 2007, 08:17 AM)
Hello everyone. I am looking for some help here about overclocking my CPU. At the moment, I am playing LotRO with a new x1950 pro but my CPU is only a Pentium 4 3 Ghz.

Everything in the game looks fine, no graphical lags, but CPU is hogging up everything so the game is not slow, but choppy when the CPU is taking up its load.

If anyone wants to help. please let me know asap. Or else, i will have to buy a new PC which I do not have the money for anyhow. I plan to maybe upgrade by the end of this year. For now, I'm very happy with everything except the choppiness that is due to my CPU.

My system specs are:

P4 3 Ghz
2 MB DDR400 Ram

In fact, if my CPU isn't bottlenecking right now, i'll be able to enjoy the game.

All in good intentions.

Best regards,
Isaac.

Added on June 8, 2007, 7:23 amAlso, I am using an Asus motherboard, which was top of the line back in 2005. I'm not so much a computer savvy now but I used to be, since the GeForce Ti 4200s,  were released.

I am totally one or two generations behind time as far as computer tech is concerned because I kinda lost interest. But now i'm back and ready to enjoy gaming like I used to before.

Cheers  biggrin.gif
Oh by the way, are there any PC shops in PJ that will do this sorta thing for me? I would gladly appreciate all your feedbacks, so please help a brother out.

This post has been edited by Nitrate82: Jun 8 2007, 07:27 AM
shahiryusoff
post Jun 8 2007, 08:01 AM

487 posts

Escuse me if i'm not mistaken,but ur ram is 2 MB OR 2 GB....but pentium 4 are usually like this...i'm using a pentium 4 to and it's like that when it is starting the window..try not to shutdown but hibernate...hibernate will safe ur time and money when starting windows...by the way,what window are u using???xp??vista??

quote=Nitrate82,Jun 8 2007, 07:17 AM

My system specs are:

P4 3 Ghz
2 MB DDR400 Ram

All in good intentions.

Best regards,
Isaac.

Added on June 8, 2007, 7:23 amAlso, I am using an Asus motherboard, which was top of the line back in 2005. I'm not so much a computer savvy now but I used to be, since the GeForce Ti 4200s, were released.

Cheers biggrin.gif

Oh by the way, are there any PC shops in PJ that will do this sorta thing for me? I would gladly appreciate all your feedbacks, so please help a brother out.

[/quote]

SlayerXT
post Jun 8 2007, 10:06 AM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

What resolution ur playing that game? Besides what is LotRO? Maybe u should just tweak a bit ur system so u can play the game smoothly.
lohwenli
post Jun 8 2007, 10:42 AM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

Better check if its really the CPU that is holding back the game. Could be that your other programs may be taking up CPU processing power. What is the CPU utilisation on idle? Also, try running task manager in the background while playing and then alt-tab out and have a look at the CPU utilisation history graph-if the graph is full all the time then the CPU is definitely the bottleneck.

Btw, may I know its your P4 a Northwood or Prescott? Because both these chips overclock differently. Also is it a 533fsb or 800fsb chip? I'm guessing its probably a socket 478 chip rather than 775 because not many 775 boards support AGP & DDR. I'm rebuilding my old 478 rig at the moment-setting up a PC to support legacy applications running win98. Before it took it apart and rebuilt it was one of the killer 478 overclock rigs, trying to break my old performance record-this time with better memory and watercooling.

Added on June 8, 2007, 10:47 am
QUOTE(Nitrate82 @ Jun 8 2007, 07:17 AM)

Added on June 8, 2007, 7:23 amAlso, I am using an Asus motherboard, which was top of the line back in 2005. I'm not so much a computer savvy now but I used to be, since the GeForce Ti 4200s,  were released.

Cheers  biggrin.gif

I'm guessing you're using one of the P4P800/P4C800 series boards? That would make things easier. I've never heard of PC shops in Malaysia that do overclocking though-if there are any I would like to visit, should be interesting. Usual shops will never bother because its too much effort to do stable overclocking, if its not stable they will have to deal with a lot of complaints.

Added on June 8, 2007, 10:52 amJust had a look at LotrO system requirements/recommendations, your system should be more than enough to run it properly. Probably something not set up properly.

This post has been edited by lohwenli: Jun 8 2007, 10:52 AM
superpc
post Jun 8 2007, 11:09 AM

Owned by Doggies
954 posts

wat do u mean by "choppy" and how do u confirm it is ur proc tat is causing the "choppiness"? P4 3Ghz shud be able to handle the game...

wat detail and resolution u r using to play the game?
if the proc is bottlenecking, unless u can overclock it reli high, mild overclock wont help anything in game

SlayerXT
post Jun 8 2007, 03:41 PM

PRIDE!
2,042 posts

Online game kah? So better check network is working find. Maybe cause of network so lagging in game.
lohwenli
post Jun 8 2007, 08:36 PM

Penang Overclockers Club
971 posts

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jun 8 2007, 03:41 PM)
Online game kah? So better check network is working find. Maybe cause of network so lagging in game.
Yeah, forgot about that..slow internet is a very common problem in Malaysia..

Too bad can't overclock internet connections..
Frankiec91
post Jun 11 2007, 09:41 PM

253 posts

lolz overclock internet connection... should be dreaming tongue.gif
but you can maximize the internet speed.. drool.gif
serve
post Jun 12 2007, 11:24 AM

141 posts

i dun think its ur cpu la...LotRO is online gaming bro...so no wonder its lag...btw...if u think its ur cpu...try close anything u don use
soulfly
post Jun 12 2007, 01:10 PM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

read the sticky threads for noob guides. this thread has nothing to do with overclocking.

closed.

0.0210sec    0.22    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:46 PM