Eternals (2021), Marvel Phase Four

TS6so
post Nov 14 2018, 06:25 PM, updated 5y ago

135 posts

While GOTG3 went back to drawing board, MCU ramping up on Eternals as various reports indicated.

Long story short to those unfamiliar with them:
They are the C-grade team. Think Jack Kirby was doing a lot of those trippy cosmic opera. Eternals failed at Marvel where he jumped ship to DC to do New Gods. That is until Neil Gaiman gave a popularity boost with his take on the revival.

If you ever wondered what is the point of origin for superheroes in marvel, it has everything to do with Eternals.

Honestly it is that long winded and not as straightforward as it is. Now the question is, are they ballsy enough to springboard the mutants and what not from Eternals lineage. If they are doing Celestials threat, then you will need FF Reed Richards to be that super genius to formulate a plan. Or only scratching the surface of the deep lore.

Popularity wise Galactus overshadowed the Celestials as a villain in terms of the simpler backstory.

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Nov 7 2021, 04:56 PM
Mov_freak
post Nov 7 2021, 04:54 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Eternals (2021)

Can Marvel do no wrong, in terms of the Marvel Cinema Universe?

Based on the word out there, yes. Yes it can.

Long story short, I think there are casting issues.

Jack Kirby's universe is... cosmic.

So while Marvels movies characters are Bigger Then Life in the movies very rarely are they cosmic (I think Ego was the closest they come to anything near the Cosmic level necessary) I not sure director Chloé Zhao, hit the nail on the head with this one.

They marketed this movie one way and when the viewers go and watch it, it came out the other way... Let me describe it this way, if you crave pizza and you favorite pizza place is not open and you had Chinese food instead. No matter how great the Chinese food is, you are still disappointed you did not get pizza!

This is the best analogue I can think of describing this situation.

It is not a bad Marvel movie.

Alot of resource had been put into the casting, the script and production. They show.

I think some mistake had been made in the marketing and casting....

If you can get pass that, you will enjoy the movie better...

I hope this review makes sense... laugh.gif

My Two Sen

P.S. There are two end credit scenes.

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Nov 7 2021, 10:02 PM
TS6so
post Nov 8 2021, 10:12 PM

135 posts

Not raining on anyone's parade, will definitely not be watching this. The visual is too clinic and not enough with Jack Kirby aesthetic. The last two MCU movies, Blwck Widow and Shang Chi is having identity crisis. I don't even bother to watch any of their TV shows not because they are badly made but simply it will be the same old lame jokes and half assing what's cool into stupid giant cg finale orgy that led you to another movie or another show. On one hand they want to break away from the formula by doing something different and yet it's the same old MCU tropes all over again and again. They went all the way to get these awesome actors like Florence Pugh, Tony Leung or Barry Keoghan and yet gave them low effort character to play. Luckily The Boys and Invincible did what's right in telling good comic book storyline that even bested source materials. At least there's a choice. WB new Batman has me more hyped than whatever the next dozen of MCU monotonous movies and shows.
greyshadow
post Nov 15 2021, 12:20 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Bearing the weight of MCU is a curse for this movie

many went in with high expectation for a typical MCU experience like Avengers, but came out disappointed laugh.gif

Their promo already told you, "Not your typical MCU movie" laugh.gif

It's not bad, but not great either, and definitely not the worst MCU movie like some have claimed

forget about the past MCU heroes, treat this as an alternate story/universe then you're good to go wink.gif

skylinelover
post Nov 25 2021, 05:40 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,256 posts

QUOTE(craxors @ Nov 25 2021, 03:04 PM)
sudah available to download ke?
Shang Chi yes hahahaha
SUSOlgakureylenko
post Nov 26 2021, 02:08 PM

13 posts

already watched it in cinemas last night
for me not as bad as people said.. feel like not any other mcu movies
quite a drama, little action
Zaszo
post Nov 26 2021, 04:28 PM

231 posts

The problem for me is that they are trying to tackle big issue where Im expecting more like roller coaster ride movie since Marvel is really good at it. Also not wanting to miss out the whole MCU experience since the upcoming team up will required some knowledge of the characters.
kochin
post Nov 27 2021, 12:04 PM

I just hope I do!
10,316 posts

pros:
many members to see. it's like an all star team rather than solo individual.
angelina jolie is a delight personally to me.
quite nice scenery
very long movie

cons:
don't get enough screen time for some due to too many members.
kit harrington character is almost like non essential at all
hype of their powers does not live up. i.e. so many claiming don lee's gilgamesh supposedly can take out thanos rendered quite useless here actually. lame!

overall, feel like very lazy mcu movie. it's almost like thor 1st movie kinda vibe to me.

somehow this year, shang chi and eternals have not been delivering as good as i kinda hope.
let's just hope the crazy hype to spiderman no way home can bring mcu home for 2021. the hype's unreal!
serbaboleh P
post Dec 11 2021, 05:24 PM

Probation

My complain about this movie is that the characters all make questionable decisions and are hardly believable.

Phastos makes the most sense. He has a loving family, so he protects humanity. Period.

Kingo enjoyed performing for the human for generations. But when it’s time to step up and protect humanity, he just give up for “not wanting to go up against Ikarus”.

Ajak, after serving the Celestials for entirety, suddenly defect simply after watching how humanity strive to survive in the Endgame event. It’s like you work hard for your entire life, but when you see someone else also working hard, you just give up your mission and support their cause.

And I dont wanna start on Ikarus. His decision flipflops like roti canai
skylinelover
post Dec 13 2021, 08:58 AM

11,256 posts

Hahahaha ouch

laugh.gif laugh.gif
serbaboleh P
post Dec 15 2021, 11:40 PM

Probation

QUOTE(serbaboleh @ Dec 11 2021, 05:24 PM)
My complain about this movie is that the characters all make questionable decisions and are hardly believable.

Phastos makes the most sense. He has a loving family, so he protects humanity. Period.

Kingo enjoyed performing for the human for generations. But when it’s time to step up and protect humanity, he just give up for “not wanting to go up against Ikarus”.

Ajak, after serving the Celestials for entirety, suddenly defect simply after watching how humanity strive to survive in the Endgame event. It’s like you work hard for your entire life, but when you see someone else also working hard, you just give up your mission and support their cause.

And I dont wanna start on Ikarus. His decision flipflops like roti canai
And Angelina Jolie still hot and vogue in style as ever
Blinklime
post Feb 12 2022, 04:36 PM

140 posts

just watch on disney plus last night.

quite meh movie. not alot memorable scene. some of the actors did a good job, tho i think director/writer abit flip flop cincai on how they wan to grow their characters. thats my opinion. how how oso got some closure i guess, but really kinda lame way. director did his job adding exposition into MCU lore, porobably an Eternals 2/ some MCU spinoff down the road.

should have been a mini series or at least 3 or 4 movies. wasted opportunity.

skylinelover
post Feb 12 2022, 06:18 PM

11,256 posts

Haha yayz then laugh.gif rclxms.gif

0.0171sec    0.87    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:33 PM