[Worklog]Black Box, My first mod :)

TSDaRkSyThE
post Jun 7 2007, 06:30 PM, updated 19y ago

4,809 posts

hey guys, ive been lurking around in the dark corners of lowyat.net for sometime (actually i meant the Casing and Modifications section tongue.gif), and ive been inspired to actually start my own mod biggrin.gif
well, as most of you guys know, i'm the same age as Sherren (yes, one of the great modders of lowyat.net) so do not expect very prompt updates as i don't really have all the time to complete this mod. I'm just gonna take it slow and make sure that it turns out nice. dont wanna waste any money ><

ok, my main inspiration actually came from a modding site, namely plexmod.de . i was impressed with their shuttle mod, and so i thought to myself, why not atempt to do one of my own. however, i am not using a shuttle case. infact, my case is way bigger, so im hopping that it will turn out. my aim is to transform this HTPC into a game cube (well, sort of)

ok, enough said. here are the specs of the pc:=

Intel Pentium P4 (2.4ghz)
OEM Dell Motherboard
1GB RAM
Some old Nvidia GPU
Antec 380Watt PSU

so, as u can see, this pc is actually a VERY cheap pc. very old too. if the mod turns out well, i might get new internal organs for it. until then, we'll see how it goes.

here is the picture of the case smile.gif (courtesy of Silent PC )

and here is what i have in mind smile.gif

*edit. few more pics smile.gif

a real pic of what has been done so far tongue.gif

well. this is all for now.

im currently trying to come out with the design for the internals. nothing has struck me so far though.

This post has been edited by DaRkSyThE: Jun 7 2007, 06:37 PM
sherren
post Jun 7 2007, 06:50 PM

Retired
1,298 posts

The Design is quite good, Btw Good Luck, Hope To See More nod.gif
so you are using wood?

This post has been edited by sherren: Jun 7 2007, 06:51 PM
@meno
post Jun 7 2007, 06:58 PM

It's "A Meh Noh" not Meno!!!
2,386 posts

Bro, those mesh at the side, are they for fans?
I think it's be more efficient if they were placed where there is no blockage.
With the airflow partially blocked there, i doubt how much air would be moving in/out through there.
TSDaRkSyThE
post Jun 7 2007, 07:08 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(sherren @ Jun 7 2007, 06:50 PM)
The Design is quite good, Btw Good Luck, Hope To See More  nod.gif
so you are using wood?
yeah ive already made the frame actually tongue.gif

QUOTE(@meno @ Jun 7 2007, 06:58 PM)
Bro, those mesh at the side, are they for fans?
I think it's be more efficient if they were placed where there is no blockage.
With the airflow partially blocked there, i doubt how much air would be moving in/out through there.
well, its not a very high powered rig, so airflow is the least of my concern.
im gonna mod the back to allow better airflow because the sides will be blocked.
peaceofluck
post Jun 8 2007, 12:54 AM

357 posts

wat about the pic no 4....not quite understand? can giv some more info
for example...how u do tat..from wat...etc...
anyway..nice design n very diff than usual...kepp up bro

Ryo
post Jun 8 2007, 06:20 AM

.:: Rise Lord Vader ::.
871 posts

this should be nice...really looking forward to it man thumbup.gif
btw, did you design the 4th image using sketch-up?
TSDaRkSyThE
post Jun 10 2007, 02:33 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(peaceofluck @ Jun 8 2007, 12:54 AM)
wat about the pic no 4....not quite understand? can giv some more info
for example...how u do tat..from wat...etc...
anyway..nice design n very diff than usual...kepp up bro
QUOTE(Ryo @ Jun 8 2007, 06:20 AM)
this should be nice...really looking forward to it man thumbup.gif
btw, did you design the 4th image using sketch-up?
hey guys, sorry for the late reply.
i had some camp for this upcoming production my school will be conducting
well, the 4th picture is actually the real thing. just that the pieces are not properly fitted and stuff. then i used the picture and edited it in photoshop tongue.gif really simple stuff
anyways, my next update should be coming soon smile.gif
ianho
post Jun 11 2007, 06:41 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

All finished or active worklogs bumped to avoid deletion.
TSDaRkSyThE
post Jun 11 2007, 09:18 PM

4,809 posts

alrighty. here is my next lovely update tongue.gif

well, here is the place then i will be conducting all my mods in case anyone is interested tongue.gif

here is the pc with the removed front panel tongue.gif

gotta remove them if not i wont be able to swing open the lid later on.

i wanted to make this mod cost effective. so i spent my whole night making a mockup of the real thing
used cardboard, newspaper and a whole load of tape. took me around 5 hours rclxub.gif

anyways, here it is

well, the mockup is an exact replica of what is going to be of the lid.

the next update will include the wood frame that i made.
anyone has any ideas for the internal? it looks too bare

This post has been edited by DaRkSyThE: Jun 11 2007, 09:20 PM
serve
post Jun 11 2007, 11:48 PM

141 posts

mind if i ask this silly question...u gonna use the whole htpc or cut it to fit ur design?seem would be really bulkhy if u use the whole htpc frame IMOH
well..for the inside u could place hdd and 5.25'' bay. all u need to make use that the placement of the bay so that airflow is not disturb

TSDaRkSyThE
post Jun 11 2007, 11:55 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(serve @ Jun 11 2007, 11:48 PM)
mind if i ask this silly question...u gonna use the whole htpc or cut it to fit ur design?seem would be really bulkhy if u use the whole htpc frame IMOH
well..for the inside u could place hdd and 5.25'' bay. all u need to make use that the placement of the bay so that airflow is not disturb
yups its gonna be big. i know smile.gif
its gonna be sittng on this huge table anyways, so thats not my concern haha
yeah, i plan to put mesh at the front to allow direct airflow to my HDD.
serve
post Jun 12 2007, 12:07 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Jun 11 2007, 11:55 PM)
yups its gonna be big. i know smile.gif
its gonna be sittng on this huge table anyways, so thats not my concern haha
yeah, i plan to put mesh at the front to allow direct airflow to my HDD.
haha...so biggy overthere ohmy.gif ...so any plan for the interior?or u just gonna stick with the old htpc one? rolleyes.gif
sherren
post Jun 12 2007, 12:12 AM

Retired
1,298 posts

Btw what casing is that? where to get? and$$ ? brows.gif

looks like a media center pc casing brows.gif

This post has been edited by sherren: Jun 12 2007, 12:12 AM
peaceofluck
post Jun 12 2007, 01:45 AM

357 posts

about the internal, wat ur ideas?....
i think if u used the HTPC internal is also good for it....
if wan another design just take out the HTPC then build ur own
mayb fr the wood...nice too
TSDaRkSyThE
post Jun 12 2007, 05:58 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(serve @ Jun 12 2007, 12:07 AM)
haha...so biggy overthere ohmy.gif ...so any plan for the interior?or u just gonna stick with the old htpc one? rolleyes.gif
haha. well, i wanna give a brand new look. something that really screams out smile.gif
LEDs maybe?

QUOTE(sherren @ Jun 12 2007, 12:12 AM)
Btw what casing is that? where to get? and$$ ?  brows.gif

looks like a media center pc casing  brows.gif
yeah it is as mentioned tongue.gif Antec NSK2400. not that cheap. it was RM 398 O.o

QUOTE(peaceofluck @ Jun 12 2007, 01:45 AM)
about the internal, wat ur ideas?....
i think if u used the HTPC internal is also good for it....
if wan another design just take out the HTPC then build ur own
mayb fr  the wood...nice too
haha well. i was thinking of a motherboard cover. with LEDs and UV. but i need some inspiration smile.gif
serve
post Jun 12 2007, 09:31 PM

141 posts

LED...u wan bling2 the whole interior ey hmm.gif ?then it good if u open the casing so that we can see the interior doh.gif
TSDaRkSyThE
post Jun 12 2007, 10:23 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(serve @ Jun 12 2007, 09:31 PM)
LED...u wan bling2 the whole interior ey hmm.gif ?then it good if u open the casing so that we can see the interior doh.gif
there are 2 school of thoughts
well, i thought of using mesh, to show the interior without having to open the cover.
yeah, and the second is like wht u said. ill open it for braggin rights? biggrin.gif
peaceofluck
post Jun 12 2007, 11:18 PM

357 posts

why don use the acrylic?
if mesh we still cant c the interior perfectly....
mayb green transparent acrylic..hmm.gif
serve
post Jun 13 2007, 02:56 AM

141 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Jun 12 2007, 10:23 PM)
there are 2 school of thoughts
well, i thought of using mesh, to show the interior without having to open the cover.
yeah, and the second is like wht u said. ill open it for braggin rights? biggrin.gif
haha..if u open then the air flow will be lost...so not sufficient air cooling for ur rig unles u wan try put wc in it thumbup.gif

QUOTE(peaceofluck @ Jun 12 2007, 11:18 PM)
why don use the acrylic?
if mesh we still cant c the interior perfectly....
mayb green transparent acrylic..hmm.gif
haha...he's right to...but maybe just plain transparent acrylic enuf to do the trick...u wont want to spoilt the bling2 colour rite rclxms.gif brows.gif
TSDaRkSyThE
post Jun 13 2007, 10:19 PM

4,809 posts

QUOTE(serve @ Jun 13 2007, 02:56 AM)
haha..if u open then the air flow will be lost...so not sufficient air cooling for ur rig unles u wan try put wc in it thumbup.gif
haha...he's right to...but maybe just plain transparent acrylic enuf to do the trick...u wont want to spoilt the bling2 colour rite rclxms.gif  brows.gif
i thought of using clear acrylic, but im afraid u will see the cacatness inside.
so i sprayed it to a mirror finish to hide the internals while the lid is down

0.0207sec    1.30    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:40 PM