Use EPF to lower down principle, When can we do it?

TSstormchaser
post Jun 7 2007, 05:34 PM, updated 19y ago

love your neighbour, help serve society
594 posts

I've planned to use my EPF to lower down the principle, but usually when can we do it? I know it is written in agreement, but which part or term used? The loan i have still very new, not yet start paying installment.... planned to lower down the principle before they start charging..

thanks.. icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by stormchaser: Jun 7 2007, 05:35 PM
yewkhuay
post Jun 7 2007, 05:38 PM

I don't even belong here....
6,657 posts

go epf office ask for the form to apply, bring along ur S&P and loan agreement if case needed.
wufei
post Jun 7 2007, 05:41 PM

3,039 posts

Download the form from the web site . Fill in the form

Photocopy :-
1. i/c
2. S&P
3. letter of offer for your loan
4. a copy of your active bank statement or photocopy of your buku simpanan.

bring along ori s&P and ori letter of offer
TSstormchaser
post Jun 7 2007, 05:42 PM

594 posts

i know the procedure, but i'm not sure whether the bank allow me to do so or not.. the form are downloable from EPF website... EPF side, i'm ok.. just the bank side...

This post has been edited by stormchaser: Jun 7 2007, 05:42 PM
yewkhuay
post Jun 7 2007, 05:48 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(stormchaser @ Jun 7 2007, 05:42 PM)
i know the procedure, but i'm not sure whether the bank allow me to do so or not..  the form are downloable from EPF website...  EPF side, i'm ok.. just the bank side...
u can always call up n ask wat....
hongleong bank is OK with it as long as u don put too lump sum.
i settled partial of my loan during the 1st yr 1% interest period.
wufei
post Jun 7 2007, 06:51 PM

3,039 posts

QUOTE(stormchaser @ Jun 7 2007, 05:42 PM)
i know the procedure, but i'm not sure whether the bank allow me to do so or not..  the form are downloable from EPF website...  EPF side, i'm ok.. just the bank side...
depends on what type of loan you taking lor. if flexi one sure no problem.

Lcsx
post Jun 7 2007, 11:05 PM

1,016 posts

QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Jun 7 2007, 05:48 PM)
u can always call up n ask wat....
hongleong bank is OK with it as long as u don put too lump sum.
i settled partial of my loan during the 1st yr 1% interest period.
Well it would be better to not pay during the 1% interest rate period. Coz if you keep it in EPF the returns would probably be higher than the 1%.

Or even if you have money. Putting in FD for 3.5% would be better than saving 1% interest rate.
yewkhuay
post Jun 8 2007, 12:16 AM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(Lcsx @ Jun 7 2007, 11:05 PM)
Well it would be better to not pay during the 1% interest rate period. Coz if you keep it in EPF the returns would probably be higher than the 1%.

Or even if you have money. Putting in FD for 3.5% would be better than saving 1% interest rate.
do u really understand how a houseloan works and how a bank will accept u to pay lump sum? did i mention i used my epf money n did i say i paid lump sum? since it's not related to TS topic , i m not going to discuss further here.
TSstormchaser
post Jun 11 2007, 02:43 PM

594 posts

I call up the hotline, but the girl seems to be playing guessing game, where she said, usually cannot, but after a few years only can do it. Which i doubt so. I just understand that usually, we can't refinance the loan in certain period (5 years) or else kena kau-kau interest..
yewkhuay
post Jun 11 2007, 03:31 PM

6,657 posts

QUOTE(stormchaser @ Jun 11 2007, 02:43 PM)
I call up the hotline, but the girl seems to be playing guessing game, where she said, usually cannot, but after a few years only can do it.  Which i doubt so.  I just understand that usually, we can't refinance the loan in certain period (5 years) or else kena kau-kau interest..
it's called lock in period where ur loan has to serve 3-5yrs (depends) before u refinance it or else u will be penalised.

u sure u call the right line? r u calling the bank branch or the mortgage center ? usualy mortgage center customer service will be able to answer ur question. i had problem with branch officer oso , they know little thing about loan ( wat i think..).

0.0143sec    0.71    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:57 AM