What do you think of Norton?
TSLilit
Jun 7 2007, 02:16 PM, updated 19y ago
I was just wondering what everyone thought of Norton Systemworks 2004 and Norton internet secturity. Norton products worked on our old pentuim 2 pretty well, so just trying to figure out if they have stayed with their reliablity. ___________________________ Offset Mortgage Best credit cards for bad creditThis post has been edited by Lilit: Jun 7 2007, 02:29 PM
charlieoscardelta
Jun 7 2007, 02:32 PM

I'm staying away from Norton. A resource hog plus always problematic whenever shutting down my pc. I almost always never fail to get the "ccApp not responding" msg when I shut down so I always have to sit in front of my monitor to make sure it shut down properly. Very annoying. An email to Norton provided very little help. Their kb said I shoud clear my temps if got this prob but imho, they should rectify this instead. I first experience it with NIS2005. NIS2007 is no better. So IMHO, stay away. There are better ones out there.
My 2cents.
super macgyver
Jun 7 2007, 07:18 PM
i choose norton systemwork tat time mostly of its cleansweep function.
cyew86
Jun 7 2007, 08:53 PM
memory hogging ... thats all i can say. and not to mention the antivirus failed to detect and clean viruses in my computer last time, forcing me to reformat
tan_pang
Jun 7 2007, 09:04 PM
juz look at money... they didnt help me to clean virus after expired...
Scud_eSpade
Jun 7 2007, 09:38 PM
what do i think of norton? the only product that getting worse with each new version:flex: . im not assume. already test and regret. their latest product n360 is a joke
syafthegeek
Jun 8 2007, 02:18 PM
better go for other softwares... norton make my pc go very slow... and eat up my ram and processor too..
~hunter~
Jun 8 2007, 04:35 PM
i also dun like norton...
always get prob the last time i used it...virus comin in like water...need to reformat....
haizzzz....
adriankhoo153
Jun 8 2007, 10:56 PM
Resource hog? then try Norton 360. Nice product!
nujikabane
Jun 11 2007, 08:59 AM
I used to like Norton .. But it was a long time ago .. When there were not many AV software available in the market ..
But now .. With the emergence of new AV solutions available .. I've switched to another AV provider ..
Norton now seems to lack the competitive edge as there are many other AV solutions available which provides similar ( if not better ) protections against viruses .
Norton uses more resources & takes longer time to complete the scanning process .. & it's more expensive too .. ( avast! provide free services wei ! )
When compared with my current AV ( avast! ).. Norton uses twice the time to complete scanning process ..
& when virus test is run ( AV is disable & then a test 'virus' is planted before AV is turned on again ) .. Norton ignored the virus ! Huhu ..
Norton's era of being 1 of the big boys are numbered ..
bean_man
Jun 11 2007, 11:02 AM
Norton....the world is their market. they protect 60% of the worlds computers nd networks. Great.... But they are also losing that status slowly but surely enough. Resource hog is one of the main issues, which they seem to have improved but not enough. Other programs have proven that superb protection doesn't need high high CPU and RAM resources.
Effective? Yes, they are very effective because they still detect over 95% of the viruses as per av-comparatives at www.av-comparatives.org. They also still have one of the lowest false positives compared to many other brands coming. This also explains why they are usually late on definition release(usually not amongst the first).
Price? They are the market leader globally. So a price tag is tagged to their brand name.
Role? They are moving away from just pure threat protection and management. N360 already proofs that they are moving away from this area. McAfee is already charting a new course. Backup is the key for Symantec. They have the world leading backup solution. People pay more for that than antivirus programs. What with users being offered more choices.....cheap...free...warez and cracks... Why spend more in R&D of Av when you have backup solution & enterprise security management service provider as your cash cow. Time to cash in....
As usual....my 2cents on this...
thenobodies
Jun 11 2007, 02:08 PM

hohoho, i never thought people will say much about norton while i'm still using it. i agree with the resource hog brief, but i dont see a problem with pc.
like "charlieoscardelta" said,"problematic whenever shutting down my pc. I almost always never fail to get the "ccApp not responding" msg when I shut down", i got this one too. but i dont know it is bcoz of norton. are u you sure this is bcoz of norton?
so what av u using now?
acib
Jun 16 2007, 01:46 AM

norton use up lot of memory  hate them. lagging when playing games.