Taking SPM as private candidate, Interested on requirements

TSZenithSkirmisher
post Nov 3 2018, 10:41 PM, updated 8y ago

261 posts

Just interested, if one wants to take spm as a private candidate for the first time, ( not SPMU )

1) Does one need to have taken pmr/pt3 before?

2) Can one choose any subject he / she likes?

3)Does he or she need to be in at the very least a private school? Or can he or she homeschool and self-study and take spm as private candidate?

4) Is there a minimum age requirement?

This post has been edited by ZenithSkirmisher: Nov 3 2018, 11:06 PM
iSean
post Nov 4 2018, 11:16 AM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

1. PMR/PT3 not required.
2. Based on the list and you will need to do oral test for language subjects. Typically coursework subjects are not offered.
3. Self study
4. Above 17.
aremeemamin99
post Nov 4 2018, 04:01 PM

QUOTE(ZenithSkirmisher @ Nov 3 2018, 10:41 PM)
Just interested, if one wants to take spm as a private candidate for the first time, ( not SPMU )

3)Does he or she need to be in at the very least a private school? Or can he or she homeschool and self-study and take spm as private candidate?

Hello , I'm SPM private candidate 2017. Let me answer from what I know.

1) You don't need PMR / PT3 certificate to take SPM. ( I don't have it xD )

2) Yes, you can choose any subject you like (Maximum 12 subject) except Pendidikan Seni Visual because it has coursework in school. But you also need to take six subjects that compulsory I think for new SPM candidate namely BM, BI, MATH, SC, SEJ, PAI/MORAL

3) You can self-study ( I'm also self-study at home ) if u want to know anything about how I study just ask me. tongue.gif

4) The requirement is you have to be 17years old at 1 January (year you take the SPM private)
For example, my birthday is on NOVEMBER, so I can't take it at age 17 because I'm not 17 yet. So I register at age of 18.
In a simple word, if you don't have PMR/PT3 you need to take it at the age of 18

For now, that's what I know. Sorry if I accidentally gave the wrong information as they change the requirement or etc.
iSean
post Nov 4 2018, 07:30 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(aremeemamin99 @ Nov 4 2018, 04:01 PM)
Hello , I'm SPM private candidate 2017. Let me answer from what I know.

1) You don't need PMR / PT3 certificate to take SPM. ( I don't have it xD )

2) Yes, you can choose any subject you like (Maximum 12 subject) except Pendidikan Seni Visual because it has coursework in school. But you also need to take six subjects that compulsory I think for new SPM candidate namely BM, BI, MATH, SC, SEJ, PAI/MORAL

3) You can self-study ( I'm also self-study at home ) if u want to know anything about how I study just ask me. tongue.gif

4) The requirement is you have to be 17years old at 1 January (year you take the SPM private)
For example, my birthday is on NOVEMBER, so I can't take it at age 17 because I'm not 17 yet. So I register at age of 18.
In a simple word, if you don't have PMR/PT3 you need to take it at the age of 18

For now, that's what I know. Sorry if I accidentally gave the wrong information as they change the requirement or etc.
You can register on the Year you're 17 and special condition for those born on 1st of January at age 16.

This post has been edited by iSean: Nov 4 2018, 07:31 PM
TSZenithSkirmisher
post Nov 4 2018, 09:06 PM

261 posts

Thanks isean and aremeemamin99 for enlightening my queries!

I was asking for a relative who was homeschooling , so I dont think I will need the study tips XD but thanks anyway !

aremeemamin99
post Nov 5 2018, 05:41 PM

QUOTE(iSean @ Nov 4 2018, 07:30 PM)
You can register on the Year you're 17 and special condition for those born on 1st of January at age 16.
Yeah, you can register on the year you're 17 if you have taken PMR/PT3 exam.

Actually, I've called the school clerk when I was 17 and tell them that I want to take SPM in that year. After that, they already call KPM or I don't know, about my situation and they said that I need to take it at age 18 if I don't have a PMR/PT3 certificate.
Or if u read the requirement to take SPM Private, they already stated about it.
aremeemamin99
post Nov 5 2018, 05:42 PM

QUOTE(ZenithSkirmisher @ Nov 4 2018, 09:06 PM)
Thanks isean and aremeemamin99 for enlightening  my queries!
I was asking for a relative who was homeschooling , so I dont think I will need the study tips XD but thanks anyway !
You're welcome bro smile.gif
haturaya
post Nov 5 2018, 05:47 PM

2,554 posts

QUOTE(ZenithSkirmisher @ Nov 3 2018, 10:41 PM)

Based on my son experience last year (17 years old)
1 - No
2 - Yes, there's a price for each subject... very cheap. Total 8 subjects RM160 if I'm not mistaken.
3 - No
4 - Not sure

At the end, he did't go for the exams. sweat.gif Abandon the plan to take SPM altogether. sweat.gif

0.0152sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:04 PM