6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The iPhone XS / XS Max Discussion Thread | V4, Welcome to the big screens.

celciuz
post Nov 3 2018, 07:07 PM

14,033 posts

CarPlay users who frequently use Waze for navigation, does your iPhone heat up a lot? Was traveling earlier, noticed it heat up quite a bit and is abnormal. Restarted iPhone and tried again still same, then I disconnected and later on plug back then it was normal now šŸ¤¦ā€ā™‚ļø

My car’s CarPlay USB port is 1.5A only.
celciuz
post Nov 3 2018, 08:16 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Nov 3 2018, 07:22 PM)
nope, my phone screen off when using waze for carplay. if slight warm could be gps from phone is in used.
Hmm, just now was ok. Otw back from dinner, it heated up again damn dry.gif. Wonder what is wrong though.

QUOTE(desreg2913 @ Nov 3 2018, 07:26 PM)
Are u using up x lol
What is "up x"?
celciuz
post Nov 3 2018, 09:17 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 3 2018, 08:59 PM)
I think he meant ā€œip xā€ laugh.gif
Oh, XS Max. Friend's X on the same car didn't noticed this issue hmm.
celciuz
post Nov 4 2018, 04:03 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(vetkin_gray @ Nov 4 2018, 03:36 PM)
Where can buy Xs silicon case ori but cheaper
So far the only place I know confirm selling original plus cheaper than RRP for Apple items is Lazada Apple Store, you may consider there.
celciuz
post Nov 5 2018, 09:38 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(MegaThroned @ Nov 5 2018, 01:07 AM)
Guys, anyone know how to solve icloud stuck at waiting for approval on ā€˜Approve this iphone’?Check at other device that my xs max already in the device list, but why icloud still asked for approval?
You need to approve from your other iOS devices (eg. your previous iPhone) cause you have 2FA turned on.
celciuz
post Nov 5 2018, 09:56 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(desreg2913 @ Nov 5 2018, 09:50 AM)
yeah la ip x lol
auto correct
Oh, XS Max. I mean... this is XS/XS Max thread right laugh.gif

QUOTE(wtw0911 @ Nov 5 2018, 09:51 AM)
Already reset my network setting and I am still having the same issue. Phone is showing 4G with full bar signal but mobile data cannot be used and no call can be made. Called Digi Helpline and she said that she can see that I am using XS Max in the system and she said since this device is still new, the sim card that I am using may not be compatible and she advised me to go to Digi Center to check my sim card. Hopefully it is really sim card issue or software issue and not anything related to hardware  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Did you try with a fresh phone? Or restored from back up already?
celciuz
post Nov 5 2018, 10:00 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(wtw0911 @ Nov 5 2018, 09:58 AM)
By fresh phone you mean reset everything to factory default?
Either that or when you just boot up phone for the first time (out from the box).
celciuz
post Nov 5 2018, 10:40 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 5 2018, 10:07 AM)
I’ve noticed quite a number of micro scratches on my Ringke already, and it’s less than a month old laugh.gif I remember when I used the clear Ringke for my Note 5 it yellowed in less than a year! Anyway I’m not gonna make too much of a fuss over a RM59 case, haha...
I think you more hardcore than the both of us bro, haha
My Ringke Fusion has scratches... and it was because me wiping the internal area sweat.gif with a microfiber cloth dry.gif. But the outer area so far so good (didn't shine with LED light to check.. and don't want to do that tongue.gif)
celciuz
post Nov 5 2018, 10:47 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 5 2018, 10:44 AM)
His income already 3x ours just because of exchange rate biggrin.gif
As long as my phone is protected, I’m fine with whatever happens to the case laugh.gif
Mine got very minor scratches from the case dry.gif. But oh well, few months down the line I'm gonna change to Spigen Neo Hybrid Black color... the shiny black + gold outline at the camera, port and mute area... tongue.gif I think should look classy, for now need to show the gold color yay.
celciuz
post Nov 5 2018, 01:30 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 5 2018, 11:19 AM)
Go get your sim card replaced then. Make sure you go to Digi Centre rather than dealers as dealer will charge for sim card replacement.
I heard Ringke Fusions turn yellow are 2 months old .... not sure if its true.
My first time using Ringke Fusion, let me see how fast it turns yellow tongue.gif

QUOTE(marquis @ Nov 5 2018, 11:43 AM)
Huh. You made me check and you're indeed right. I already have scratches on mine. Meh. It's a case, it's bound to get scratches laugh.gif

Any other case you've used similar to the Ringke?

I tried this Spigen and it looks alright. Just don't really like the rubber sides and the lack of a hole to attach a lanyard.
That case looks big though. If you're rocking a Gold max, transparent casing looks really quite nice. That Neo Hybrid kinda takes away from the whole gold thing. My take at least sweat.gif
---------------------

So any case recommendation for something that is good against drops AND has lanyard loop?
Yeah, but I still prefer dark colored iPhone case tongue.gif. Having the gold accent on the sides is enough la.

Mous and RhinoShield both have lanyard loop.

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 5 2018, 12:02 PM)
Yeah, gonna change to a non-transparent case soon, waiting to see what good deals come on 11.11 smile.gif
I think most clear ones will scratch. I’ve used Otterbox Symmetry Clear for my previous S8+ and also have an Otterbox Statement case which I bought for my iPhone X and both also got scratches like no tomorrow smile.gif

So my conclusion is if it’s a clear case, it will scratch and it will turn yellow. Just a matter of time laugh.gif
Ya, the temptation for the new iPad Pro is strong, hahaha
Unless you buy those with glass back, saw a few brands having this now.
celciuz
post Nov 5 2018, 01:46 PM

14,033 posts

Anyone using app that could monitor the CPU utilization? Pretty interested to find out why my XS Max heats up so much when connected to CarPlay Waze, but Waze itself no issue.
celciuz
post Nov 5 2018, 03:55 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(drcro @ Nov 5 2018, 02:25 PM)
Maybe power output from usb to your phone not stable... My experiance with my ipx, my battery health drop significantly when using it with car usb... Im not using carplay anymore...
Exactly what I was worried about, but it only happens on Waze so far. Didn't notice for Apple Music or Google Maps.

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 5 2018, 02:29 PM)
Yes. Charging your phone through car usb chargers will degrade your phone's battery badly as power output is not stable from your car. Im not sure if power output would be more stable with branded car chargers but the cheapo usb charge would be a definate no no.
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 5 2018, 03:10 PM)
What I meant was the usb type charger that you poke into your ciggarete lighter type. The built in ones should be okay though.
Yeah I'm pretty picky about the 12v converted USB chargers, but for CarPlay its from the car itself...
celciuz
post Nov 5 2018, 04:06 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Nov 5 2018, 03:58 PM)
lol, those are tested with volt tester, dont be silly that only Apple type-c to lightning can fast charge
you know what Apple fast charge is? it is Power Delivery, any third party usb-c to lightning support PD can fast charge  doh.gif
i myself have ori apple usb-c to lightning and those third party, the total Watt draw, almost equally same
I guess the initial theory is that third party doesn't have the MFI chip as Apple has not released it. However, now that I'm curious you mentioned similar wattage draw from the charger, how did you measure it btw? Tapped the signals on the cable?
celciuz
post Nov 5 2018, 04:11 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(desreg2913 @ Nov 5 2018, 04:10 PM)
just pulling your leg lol
cause heating issue more frequent happened to ip x user
Ahh sorry, my previous iPhone was 6+... haven't been keeping up with the latest tech.
celciuz
post Nov 5 2018, 04:20 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Nov 5 2018, 04:12 PM)
get something like this https://www.aliexpress.com/item/SZLOOP-USB-...54-86b466eb04f8

some old one only usb-A, there are usb-c supported like above 4 directions, can easily check how many watts draw by phone, Volts and Amps will be shown as well..
just plug to charger, and cable plug to the tester, thats it
bangwall.gif

Ah dang it, was looking for something with Type C... didn't see one. I ended up buying this https://www.aliexpress.com/item/3-in-1-Batt....44964c4d4XQ6LC, basically to check charging speed of my other USB products laugh.gif
celciuz
post Nov 5 2018, 05:23 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(vetkin_gray @ Nov 5 2018, 05:12 PM)
Anyone ordered from T&L telecom the iPhone Xs last week during the RM400 digital promo qoo10?

I checked the tracking no in gdex and this came out:

05/11/2018 10:09:00 Undelivered due to Held Back In Office Petaling Jaya
Ordered on 29/10, arrived today. Le happy wife today laugh.gif
celciuz
post Nov 5 2018, 09:51 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(marquis @ Nov 5 2018, 06:04 PM)
Mous huh. I've heard about them but have never actually looked at their offerings. Thought it was just another one of those overhyped Kickstarter product.

Do you happen to know if RhinoShield have improved their quality? The last time I bought from them, both of my bumpers broke (tore) from normal daily usage. I find that very disheartening (despite the claim for lifetime warranty - I have yet to try that)
I used their first generation SolidSuit, so far so good. Its durable as advertised and well my phone didn't crack. Not using them now LOL, using Ringke Fusion instead for clear case. Gotta show them gold color off tongue.gif. Btw Ringke Fusion also has holes for lanyard.

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 5 2018, 06:29 PM)
Hahaha, yeah, I think so too. Anyways, I have some additional financial commitment starting next year so maybe it’s a good time to repent and change my evil ways devil.gif
Ahh, didn’t know that about glass casings, thanks for the heads up. I am concerned about dropping it though, that surely means time for a new case smile.gif
Congrats! Finally thumbup.gif
laugh.gif took sometime, but oh well. This time gonna unbox with video tongue.gif
celciuz
post Nov 5 2018, 11:16 PM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(vivi1995 @ Nov 5 2018, 10:59 PM)
Hi everyone. Just wanna ask anyone having issue with soft earpiece volume during calls. Seem to be a bit soft during calls. I did turn off my phone noise cancellation.
I find the earpiece speaker really loud in my case shakehead.gif
celciuz
post Nov 6 2018, 12:18 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(marquis @ Nov 5 2018, 11:44 PM)
Yup. Using the Ringke Fusion myself now, the black frosted type. Not really a fan of the solid suit myself though. I think I bought my bumper when the solid suit was still on preorder.

I don't remember it having a lanyard hole. Should dig it up and check.
Pretty sure you need PD for it to quick charge. And that looks very much like a one way input.
It does, on the volume button bottom side.
celciuz
post Nov 6 2018, 10:22 AM

14,033 posts

QUOTE(no3no4 @ Nov 6 2018, 08:04 AM)
Buy USA set better than Japan set.
Many Years ago was purchased Iphone 5 in japan set.

you know what,  You can't silent your phone completely.
When you want to take picture, there is a lousy sound will come out .
And then everybody look at you.
Horrible !!
Well, its one of Japan's law to have the sound and light indicator. I guess too many peeping tom there.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0285sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:09 PM