7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

The iPhone XS / XS Max Discussion Thread | V4, Welcome to the big screens.

TOMEI-R
post Nov 3 2018, 03:40 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Yen8on3 @ Nov 3 2018, 03:29 PM)
Apple's pirce hike strategy is paying off

Apple devices are getting more expensive across the board, helping the company earn more per device

Despite a zero percent change in iPhone unit sales year over year, Apple ended its fiscal fourth quarter with a 29 percent revenue increase in its smartphone division. It also met its overall revenue target of $62.9 billion — up from $52.5 billion this quarter last year. Both sales and profit exceeded Wall Street expectations for the quarter.

Apple’s Q4 quarter ended in September, meaning it only accounted for the first few weeks of the new iPhone XS and XS Max going on sale. (The iPhone XR, which was also announced in September, did not become available for preorder until October.) Despite the slow sales growth, the average selling price per iPhone is now $793, up from $724 in Q3.

The increase suggests that Apple’s price hike strategy appears to be working; the trillion-dollar company introduced its first smartphone to cross the thousand-dollar starting price in 2017 with the 10th anniversary iPhone, and continued the trend of pricier phones this year with the $749 iPhone XR, $999 iPhone XS, and $1,099 iPhone XS Max. (It also discontinued its cheapest $399 iPhone SE after the announcement.)

Apple also announced new iPad and MacBook devices at an event this week. The starting price of the refreshed MacBook Air is now $1,199, up from $999, and the Mac mini starts at $799, up from $499. Accessories are also seeing a price bump: the new Apple Pencil 2 costs $129 — up from $99 — and the new Smart Keyboard starts at $179, the price of the most expensive version of the folio’s previous model. The more expensive Apple products come as the Cupertino company stated to the US Trade Representative last month that proposed tariffs by the Trump administration will make Apple products — including the Apple Watch, AirPods, and chargers — even more expensive.

Meanwhile, Apple’s Services division, which includes AppleCare, iCloud, and Apple Music, reached an all-time revenue record of $10 billion. (It should be noted that the costs to fix Apple products seem to also increase alongside them, with the new iPad Pro costing as much as $649 to repair without AppleCare+.) iPad sales were expectedly down compared to last quarter ahead of this week’s keynote, while Mac sales saw a unit increase of 42 percent after a new MacBook Pro was announced in July

With many new Apple hardware announced this week and priced at their most expensive yet, Apple is naturally forecasting a strong holiday quarter ahead, with a fiscal Q1 revenue expected between $89 billion and $93 billion, up from $88.3 billion this time last year. It’ll be harder to calculate the average selling prices of iPhones, Macs, and iPads going forward, though. Apple’s Chief Financial Officer Luca Maestri announced during the earnings call that the company will no longer disclose unit sales starting next quarter, claiming that those numbers do not accurately represent sales performance.
Nothing strange about not disclosing their sales figures. Apple is going for quality sales now rather than quantity.

#Make Apple a thrillion dollar company
#attw laugh.gif
TOMEI-R
post Nov 3 2018, 04:18 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

Here we go again. How Apple is going to make you buy the latest Iphone XR, XS and XS Max. Thrillion Dollar company, in the making. rclxm9.gif

CNet :- Apple is throttling performance on the Iphone X, Iphone 8 and 8 Plus with IOS 12.1

"Apple admitted last year that it slows down older iPhones to help prevent battery issues like unexpected shutdowns. But not everyone took kindly to their iPhones being purposefully throttled.

Initially, this battery throttling only applied to the iPhone 6S or older. Later it came to the iPhone 7 and iPhone 7 Plus. As of iOS 12.1 it's coming to the iPhone 8, iPhone 8 Plus and iPhone X. It shouldn't be as drastic, however, as it was on the 6S.

In iOS 11.3, Apple gave iPhone users access to its battery management tools, which let people using older iPhones turn on or off the throttling feature (called peak performance capability). In a support page updated Wednesday, Apple said that the feature will come to last year's iPhones, the iPhone 8, 8 Plus and X, with iOS 12.1. But Apple points out that performance management may be less noticeable due to the newer iPhones' more advanced hardware and software.

iPhone batteries naturally degrade as time goes on, and the throttling and unexpected shutdowns are more likely to occur with older iPhones. Since the 8, 8 Plus and X are newer, their batteries are likely to be in better shape than their older iPhone counterparts.

Still, if you do suspect any throttling or battery degradation in your 2017 iPhone, you'll be able to closely monitor battery management in iOS 12.1 settings. From there you'll be able to see if your iPhone is being throttled, and turn it on or off."

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Nov 3 2018, 04:19 PM
TOMEI-R
post Nov 3 2018, 04:38 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Nov 3 2018, 04:28 PM)
sweat.gif luckily i havent see my ipx get throttle with 94% battery health... almost a year coming 24th Nov biggrin.gif
Time to change to the XS/ XS Max. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Nov 3 2018, 04:38 PM
TOMEI-R
post Nov 4 2018, 04:09 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(derrickmoo @ Nov 4 2018, 02:44 PM)
Plus.. wifi wont shoot to 800mbps...

seriously.. 100mbps is more than good enuf for me already....
Actually 10gb is more than enough unless you need to constantly download through bittorent. Normal surfing and app usagw definately wont reach 800mbps.

QUOTE(vez @ Nov 4 2018, 03:16 PM)
i get 400++Mbps only for my Xs, but mine UniFi is 500Mbps package
Try standing nearer to the router.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Nov 4 2018, 04:12 PM
TOMEI-R
post Nov 4 2018, 05:41 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Nov 4 2018, 04:17 PM)
It won't reach 500 mbps one, only max 400+
Look below.. icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 4 2018, 05:19 PM)
I think iPhone and Android can only detect less than 700mbps

TOMEI-R
post Nov 4 2018, 06:27 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 4 2018, 05:45 PM)
detect my home google wifi lah
If your phone can detect means such speed is possible.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Nov 4 2018, 06:33 PM
TOMEI-R
post Nov 5 2018, 11:16 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 5 2018, 09:59 AM)
attw and millions dollars man TOMEI-R
Im only a coffee maker in my office pantry bro..... tongue.gif laugh.gif
TOMEI-R
post Nov 5 2018, 11:19 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(wtw0911 @ Nov 5 2018, 09:51 AM)
Already reset my network setting and I am still having the same issue. Phone is showing 4G with full bar signal but mobile data cannot be used and no call can be made. Called Digi Helpline and she said that she can see that I am using XS Max in the system and she said since this device is still new, the sim card that I am using may not be compatible and she advised me to go to Digi Center to check my sim card. Hopefully it is really sim card issue or software issue and not anything related to hardware  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Go get your sim card replaced then. Make sure you go to Digi Centre rather than dealers as dealer will charge for sim card replacement.

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 5 2018, 10:40 AM)
My Ringke Fusion has scratches... and it was because me wiping the internal area  sweat.gif with a microfiber cloth dry.gif. But the outer area so far so good (didn't shine with LED light to check.. and don't want to do that tongue.gif)
I heard Ringke Fusions turn yellow are 2 months old .... not sure if its true.
TOMEI-R
post Nov 5 2018, 11:42 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Nov 5 2018, 11:34 AM)
I think all transparent case will turn yellow after sometime
Yes. But the backcover behind is hard plastic. Plus 2 months is abit too quick for a premium product from Spigen no?
TOMEI-R
post Nov 5 2018, 02:29 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(drcro @ Nov 5 2018, 02:25 PM)
Maybe power output from usb to your phone not stable... My experiance with my ipx, my battery health drop significantly when using it with car usb... Im not using carplay anymore...
Yes. Charging your phone through car usb chargers will degrade your phone's battery badly as power output is not stable from your car. Im not sure if power output would be more stable with branded car chargers but the cheapo usb charge would be a definate no no.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Nov 5 2018, 02:32 PM
TOMEI-R
post Nov 5 2018, 03:10 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Nov 5 2018, 02:51 PM)
unless is third party system install after, car that come built in with Apple CarPlay or Android Auto, mostly not cheap car  sweat.gif easily 100k or above
i doubt the charger can be poor in quality
What I meant was the usb type charger that you poke into your ciggarete lighter type. The built in ones should be okay though.
TOMEI-R
post Nov 5 2018, 06:16 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(vetkin_gray @ Nov 5 2018, 05:12 PM)
Anyone ordered from T&L telecom the iPhone Xs last week during the RM400 digital promo qoo10?

I checked the tracking no in gdex and this came out:

05/11/2018 10:09:00 Undelivered due to Held Back In Office Petaling Jaya
Better to call GDex to enquire what is wrong with the delivery. Its been quite some time and I think most who preordered already got their phones already/
TOMEI-R
post Nov 5 2018, 11:39 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Ch3n_low @ Nov 5 2018, 10:11 PM)
First time seeing this error message, any idea what’s this?
Try out the solutions Here. Never encountered this before so I wouldn't know which one works.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Nov 5 2018, 11:39 PM
TOMEI-R
post Nov 6 2018, 11:21 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 6 2018, 12:18 AM)
It does, on the volume button bottom side.
Did you get the kit that comes with the Ringke Fusion+Kit package? It consists of a lanyard which you can hooked on to your wrists and a card holder.
TOMEI-R
post Nov 6 2018, 11:24 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Nov 6 2018, 10:44 AM)
A waste coz theirs is the cheapest in the region smile.gif
Not really uness your name is Tom..... biggrin.gif
TOMEI-R
post Nov 6 2018, 01:47 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(xproc @ Nov 6 2018, 11:48 AM)
i still feel ipxsmax being cheapskate no include this adapter to our phone..

[attachmentid=10097268]
[attachmentid=10097269]
[attachmentid=10097270]
Lol. Fat hopes. You have to pay through your skin for anything you want for Apple though you already paid good money for your Xs Max.

QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 6 2018, 12:28 PM)
Not so fast man, I awaiting as well
Btw, I feel that my Remax fast 2.0V charger does charges my Iphone faster than the stock charger. So Im ok with that. No need to buy this over priced charger kua? sweat.gif
TOMEI-R
post Nov 6 2018, 09:40 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(limkj @ Nov 6 2018, 07:16 PM)
How do you mute the sound for Japanese set?
You can't. That's the feature with Jap IPhones to prevent upskirt picture photography. laugh.gif
TOMEI-R
post Nov 8 2018, 08:05 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(carlitofreak @ Nov 8 2018, 06:39 AM)
My phone seems can’t detect my face ID if im not wearing my spec 🤦🏻‍♂️
If you wear your specs most of the time, do another round of face ID recognition with your specs on.
TOMEI-R
post Nov 8 2018, 08:10 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(marquis @ Nov 7 2018, 09:07 AM)
There's a Kit? Damn. Didn't know about that. I just googled and don't quite understand the card holder. Is it supposed to be hooked to the lanyard?
Not too sure about this. There is a seller selling with kit for a very good price of Rm60 at shoppee. Go check it out.
TOMEI-R
post Nov 8 2018, 08:46 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(celciuz @ Nov 8 2018, 08:29 AM)
I noticed there is some alternate appearance? Maybe could try to teach that instead.
Yes. IOS 12 allows alternate appearance now. Meaning you can add an additional face ID on your phone with a different look. Like mentioned, maybe with your makeup, glasses on and hair combed to a specific style.

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0640sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 12:56 PM