21 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

The iPhone XS / XS Max Discussion Thread | V4, Welcome to the big screens.

attw
post Nov 20 2018, 11:35 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Nov 20 2018, 11:00 AM)
NZ set, I’m working there now biggrin.gif
One thing I noted that is true that the reception is not as stellar as the iPhone X, my network sticks to 3G more often when 4G is clearly in abundance.
Oh ya, I forgot, haha. What becomes of your Xr then? smile.gif
attw
post Nov 20 2018, 03:05 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Nov 20 2018, 11:51 AM)
Sold it to a lucky someone biggrin.gif
Now using some cheap brand less thin case
Quite satisfied.

The phone is amazing, the screen, the size, the keyboard
It’s like an iPad mini mini!
I went the opposite route, from the Xs Max to now the Xr, hahaha. Let us know what do you think of the battery life of the Xs Max in comparison to the Xr after a week or so ya..

QUOTE(marquis @ Nov 20 2018, 11:56 AM)
Whut. 48 hours standby. That's incredible. I wonder if the wife would be interested in that. Hmm. I've heard about how great the battery life is, but this is insane. Should I be regretting getting the max? laugh.gif
Yes, Apple devices have incredibly long standby times when not in use, but once you start using them, they start depleting like a flowing stream, haha. That said, I’m impressed so far with the Xr battery life. The compromises of a lower res screen and no 3D Touch works for me smile.gif

This post has been edited by attw: Nov 20 2018, 03:05 PM
attw
post Nov 20 2018, 08:53 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ Nov 20 2018, 03:35 PM)
Do u miss anything from the Xs Max?
No, nothing yet, but to be fair, it's only been four days since I've switched to the Xr smile.gif

I must say I'm growing rather fond of the Xr - the size, the battery life, and the striking red color!
attw
post Nov 21 2018, 08:29 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Nov 20 2018, 09:31 PM)
Battery life and lighter weight should be the main selling point to me. I think we can forget about the ram right? Not sure but usually i will use alot of tab in browser so more ram actually do matter for me. I dont like the browser keep refreshing or crash.
Ya, it’s lighter by far compared to the Xs Max. So far based on my usage patterns I’m not really missing the extra 1GB of RAM in the Xs Max, but then again I don’t usually keep browsers or apps open smile.gif

QUOTE(fadzly @ Nov 21 2018, 12:57 AM)
Xr nice. My sister use it. Can compare side by side. U will miss

1) the oled screen. Really different.
2) the dual camera!
Maybe it’s just me bro, but I prefer LCD to OLEDs. I feel they are less strenuous on my eyes. Maybe I’m getting old, hahaha...
attw
post Nov 21 2018, 08:44 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(buyoq @ Nov 21 2018, 08:40 AM)
eat chapati while looking at iPhone's LCD
life is good  :thumbsup:
Hahaha, I prefer thosai!
attw
post Nov 21 2018, 04:25 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(cynicks @ Nov 21 2018, 02:52 PM)
The LTE connection speed just happened again (not wifi this time) . Speedtest can’t even find a server. And when found, it can’t even load to test the speed.

My Ipad Pro 10.5 LTE beside the phone, just fired up and ran about 50mbps on the same network!

And again, I rebooted the phone, speedtest now can find the server, and ran half the speed.

This Xs max really sucks.
Sounds like time to visit a service centre then...
attw
post Nov 21 2018, 06:05 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 21 2018, 04:29 PM)
Got Macdonalds' McDoDo cable? If not you are not ready son! tongue.gif
QUOTE(Benefon @ Nov 21 2018, 04:48 PM)
Send to your SG branch 😂😂
Hahaha, you two still at it?

Anyways, let me know if you guys TT in Singapore during Christmas week - I'll join, hahaha...
attw
post Nov 21 2018, 06:24 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 21 2018, 06:17 PM)
You have to buy us drinks lar then. Since we come all the way down to Sinkapor to meet up. tongue.gif

Bro fadzly Wanna join?
Of course the fella earning Sinkapor dollar must buy la.. 3.05 now!!
attw
post Nov 21 2018, 07:07 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(carlitofreak @ Nov 21 2018, 07:04 PM)
Got my esim at Maxis The Garden using Huawei Watch story 😂😂😂

The staff keep telling not to use on iPhone 🤦

Surely they must know by now that the people telling these stories are using it for iPhone laugh.gif
attw
post Nov 22 2018, 08:04 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(deric79k @ Nov 22 2018, 12:59 AM)
yes , this is the main reason i buy iPhone xs  . for me travel oversea is easy . reach there buy one local sim card , than malaysia ppl can reach me watapps, and also can reach me by call. don't need carry two phone  .
That’s what I do when I go overseas as well, which is why a dual sim iPhone is very useful. Hopefully by next year eSIM will be widely adopted by all our telcos otherwise I’d be buying HK iPhones from now on laugh.gif
attw
post Nov 22 2018, 08:19 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(fadzly @ Nov 21 2018, 07:31 PM)
nope.. 25th December is the worst day to go there. Packed. Jammed..
We just meet there and go somewhere else lor, hahaha...
attw
post Nov 22 2018, 12:57 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(deric79k @ Nov 22 2018, 08:46 AM)
but since u already get the E sim now , and confirm that u put another normal sim card in , it works.
should be ok right . 

example : ur main is E sim , watapps num also this  . if u switch off this data , ur second sim ( celcom)  is on data . can the watapps still function ?
I don’t use eSIM bro, both my iPhone XS Max and Xr and HK sets with two physical sim slots thumbup.gif
attw
post Nov 22 2018, 04:04 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(flabbymaster18 @ Nov 22 2018, 02:26 PM)
I really like how Apple implemented dual-SIM on the Xs/Xs Max/Xr. Single SIM tray but with both sided slot. Too bad it's only for selected countries.
Agree on both counts - the dual SIM implementation is really elegant, and a pity that Apple chooses to restrict this particular model to China, HK and Macau only!

QUOTE(Ares187 @ Nov 22 2018, 02:45 PM)
any idea why those selected countries get the dual sim slot and us eSIM ?
https://www.forbes.com/sites/bensin/2018/09...g/#4a4559cb6a43

This post has been edited by attw: Nov 22 2018, 04:08 PM
attw
post Nov 22 2018, 04:56 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Nov 22 2018, 04:48 PM)
they doing miserable in china, altho u see alot richfag use iphone but china not everyone is rich. so they wanna penetrate china market.

heck even Xr is actually created to target china market.
Still not cheap enough, hahaha. Try again next year, Apple tongue.gif

https://www.gsmarena.com/analysts_apple_sho...-news-34341.php
attw
post Nov 22 2018, 06:59 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(deric79k @ Nov 22 2018, 05:40 PM)
good good
Yup, until eSIM gets widely adopted here I'm sticking with my HK sets thumbup.gif
attw
post Nov 23 2018, 06:47 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(fadzly @ Nov 22 2018, 08:35 PM)
Yup. Bring back the old pricing. Iphone last time were pretty cheap. I can remember the time before our pricing were not following singapore pricing and its cheaper to buy here rather than singapore. And of course that time the currency rate was much2 better
The old pricing is dead and buried bro. Tim Cook's Apple is not bothered about volume, they just want to sell at the highest prices possible to maximize profit. Hopefully this strategy will backfire sooner or later laugh.gif

QUOTE(Reventon @ Nov 22 2018, 10:49 PM)
Was waiting for the wide adoption as well. Cant wait for the esim to be available as my malaysia number is from digi, and i rely the number for tac as i need transfer fund to pay bill when roaming now.
Worry about the esim stability when its quite new and i think when this esim is widely used it will be more secure for people when roaming because the profile can be added again without going to the telco.
Yeah, I think that's why eSIM isn't officially launched here yet - stability. Even though maxis has it now for the Huawei watch they are insisting that you don't use it for your iPhone, hahaha. It remains to be seen how long it will take before it finally takes off!

QUOTE(cynicks @ Nov 22 2018, 11:37 PM)
Planning to send it back to T&L soon
OIC. Do keep us updated on the progress yeah, quite a number of us here also bought from them. Interesting to see how their customer service is like.
attw
post Nov 23 2018, 09:42 AM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(fadzly @ Nov 23 2018, 07:49 AM)
If direct conversion to US then it’s considered as ok. But if not, and we are following singapore conversion, then its not ok. But yeah, even in Us, they are paying with installments showing how expensive the phone are in US.
Correct, considering you can buy a used car for the price of an iPhone in the US! smile.gif
attw
post Nov 23 2018, 03:33 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(Reventon @ Nov 23 2018, 12:46 PM)
Now will be travelling quite alot and cant afford any instability due to needed tac for banking during travel. If not surely choose the esim device but seems digi also tarak sound. So just get the HK set instead by then i think 11 is near our shore.
So far see no complaint from the esim user which is good enough.
I like the eSIM concept but don’t know when only will be widely adopted here. In the meantime I’m good with dual physical sim iPhones smile.gif
attw
post Nov 23 2018, 07:04 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(GAME_ON @ Nov 23 2018, 04:09 PM)
iPhone X Might Be In Production Again, Due To Weak iPhone XS Series Sales .. lol..guess apple should decide their price tagged more wisely after this for their next batch of iPhone  biggrin.gif
I don't think they'll lower prices anymore bro, but this weak sales stuff is good news.. serves them right!
attw
post Nov 23 2018, 07:40 PM

32,468 posts

QUOTE(fadzly @ Nov 23 2018, 07:13 PM)

Cheap2. Qoo10
But the Xr more expensive this round laugh.gif

Anyways, still can’t beat the deal you got bro!

21 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0712sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:03 PM