The Gigabyte Bearlake Overclocking Challenge, Many Attrative Prizes to be won

TSmoon*
post Jun 6 2007, 11:09 AM, updated 18y ago

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

Welcome to The Gigabyte Bearlake Overclocking Challenge thread.

(STARTs 1st June ~ 30th June 2007 ENDs)

Come and challenge one another and stand a chance to win RM1,000 cash & attractive Gigabyte Products!!..

Winners arent determined by the highest scores BUT their overclocking ability
(difference between default and overclocked score)

Judges will not pay attention to OC scores that are due to their graphic card being OC.

Hardware used for the default and OC benchmarking must be the same. Modified hardware, other than OC via software or hardware enhancements, will be disqualified.

Participants please take note*

IF there's a tremendous respond from this event, we will create 2 category

one will be the Expert and Novice Category.

Novice:- Air Cooling ONLY

Expert:- Everything else(Water cooling, Freon, Liquid Nitrogen)tongue.gif

There's no limit on how you want to overclock your system, as long as you use any GIGABYTE P35 Motherboard. (YES, that means Freon Cooling is possible too ! ) thumbup.gif
PS: the insane OCers are most welcome to use Liquid Nitrogen, IF u can find any. BUT we shall not be responsible or liable in anyway. tongue.gif

Rules, Regulations & Requirements:-
Participants must use Gigabyte Bearlake (P35) chipset motherboards for this over-clocking challenge*

Section A:- For those who own an Original Full copy of PCMark05, please proceed to the guideline below:- (Default system test only)

1) Run PCMark05 1.2 on their non-over-clocked machine

2) Take print screen of results with CPUZ as a prove and go online to save results.

3) Over-clock their machine and run PCMark05 1.2 again

4) Take print screen with CPUZ as a prove again and go online to save results.

5) you can repeat and over-clock as many times until user is satisfied with their before & after over-clocking scores. Then proceed in publishing both non OC & OC scores online & email me the links and screenshot.

Section B:- For those who don't own an Original Copy of PCMark05, please proceed to the guideline below:-

1) Download free trial edition PCMark05 1.2 from Futuremark site

http://www.futuremark.com/download/pcmark05/

OR

http://files3.majorgeeks.com/files/a6ff5a6...0_installer.exe

2) Run PCMark05 1.2 on their non-over-clocked machine

3) When benchmark finishes, view scores online

4) Register as a free user on the online site

5) take print screen of results with CPUZ as a prove

6) Over-clock their machine and run PCMark05 1.2 again

7) View over-clocked scores online
(take print screen with CPUZ as a prove again)

8) Log in registered user to save records.

9) You can repeat and over-clock as many times until user is satisfied with their before & after over-clocking scores. Notify us when you done over-clocking, provide us your username & password so that we will verify the final results.
Trial Users can only publish 1 score at a time, so for the judge to view all the scores, we will require to enter the user's database and verify all the scores submitted.

Remember to send us your print screen results,
(username & password for trial users only) to:-
moonweng@my.hardwaremag.com

For further enquiries, please post here or email to:-
moonweng@my.hardwaremag.com

PS: Winners will be interviewed and features in an up-coming Magazine (HWM & GameAxis)
*Disclamers :- WE shall not be liable & responsible for any damage to your hardware during this event.
Judges decision will be final

This post has been edited by moon*: Dec 31 2007, 10:58 AM
TSmoon*
post Jun 6 2007, 11:11 AM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

WINNERS!!!! notworthy.gif thumbup.gif nod.gif rclxms.gif

Air Cooling :-
1st - KidsCode
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?pcm05=954527

2nd - Boy
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?pcm05=953183

3rd - irenic
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?pcm05=954588

Water Cooling :-
1st - storm88
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?pcm05=949235

2nd - Coolice
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?pcm05=951099

3rd - sup3rfly
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?pcm05=954381

attention to the winners; we will contact you shortly regarding about the prizes and other further info.

Participants

Air Cooling
1. KidsCode
2. Boy
3. irenic
4. kazama

Water Cooling
1. storm88
2. Coolice
3. sup3rfly
4. irangan
5. lolhalol
6. Sanko

This post has been edited by moon*: Jul 10 2007, 05:03 PM
TSmoon*
post Jun 6 2007, 11:36 AM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

the closing date will be on 30th June
IF there's a tremendous respond from this event, we will create 2 category

one will be the Expert and Novice Category.

Novice:- Air Cooling OnLY

Expert:- Everything else(Water cooling, Freon, Liquid Nitrogen tongue.gif)

IF there's overwhelming responce, the prizes will be split for 1st, 2nd n 3rd winner at both category.

End Result will be determined by our Judges

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jun 6 2007, 11:26 AM)
When is the closing date? Why not separate category for phase,water and air cooling? Sure people have more money to afford phase cooling win.
This post has been edited by moon*: Jun 6 2007, 11:41 AM
TSmoon*
post Jun 6 2007, 11:54 AM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

well do remember its only valid to any Gigabyte P35 Mobo Users
the last day to submit 30th June. after that, we will not entertain any more reply and the judges will finalise on the scores.

so once again, the category will be split into 2 section, Novice & Expert if the turn out is overwhemling.
and the prizes will be allocated by the Judges smile.gif
QUOTE(storm88 @ Jun 6 2007, 11:48 AM)
wow.
i am in!
when is the deadline to submit the result?'or jus 30th of June?
TSmoon*
post Jun 6 2007, 01:00 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

eheh.. sorry, only P35 users can participate tongue.gif

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jun 6 2007, 12:45 PM)
aiyaa.. tot any system can enter the competition  wub.gif  doh.gif
TSmoon*
post Jun 6 2007, 03:08 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

ehehe okiee dokiee.. as long as its the P35 Chipset series, u can go ahead n OC biggrin.gif

YES you can participate in both.

In the event if we do create the Expert Category due to overwhelming responce from the experts, u will be able to enter both categories, however, you can ONLY win 1 category. biggrin.gif

and again, if only the responce is good, we will have 2 categories:- Expert & Novice category.

QUOTE(storm88 @ Jun 6 2007, 02:14 PM)
jus got my own DQ6 from Czone jus now tongue.gif

btw can i join both novice and water cooling class?
TSmoon*
post Jun 6 2007, 03:58 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

blink.gif

i m with HWM/GameAxis thumbup.gif

QUOTE(irenic @ Jun 6 2007, 03:57 PM)
erm.. moon, do u work for gigabyte or u r their unofficial partner?
This post has been edited by moon*: Jun 6 2007, 04:06 PM
TSmoon*
post Jun 6 2007, 04:07 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

eheh.. come battle it out with all the OCer titans from lyn.

go super hardcore haha laugh.gif

QUOTE(irenic @ Jun 6 2007, 04:03 PM)
wuu ok biggrin.gif neway i am thinking to buy the new asus p5k.. but suddenly got this chance.. so might grab gigabyte then biggrin.gif
TSmoon*
post Jun 6 2007, 05:35 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

sorry my typo.
after adding the 0 forgot to remove the k tongue.gif

thanks thumbup.gif

QUOTE(irangan @ Jun 6 2007, 04:22 PM)
Bro, you got some typo mistake in ur post

RM1,000K cash = RM 1 000 000
TSmoon*
post Jun 7 2007, 10:05 AM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

this OC challenge was organise in kind heart by Gigabyte/HWM/GameAxis for the the community ma, and prizes are quite reasonable ma.. so dun complain tongue.gif eheh

and we dont really know how many participant will turn up as this P35 Board is quite new so, might not have alot of contestant.

IF thats is the case. we'll have all the categories group into 1. n the 6 prizes compile together into 3 or 4 winners prizes after verifying how many participants turn up lo.

its jst a little something by Gigabyte to hype our OCers community rclxms.gif

QUOTE(Suk @ Jun 7 2007, 03:18 AM)
well, RM1000 for 1st prize can't even buy a 8800GTS also sorry..
sorry not offending ah.. dont shoot me
1. well the pcmark n the cpuz result will show me wat hardware u are using, but u can state it clearly for me in a list for easier reference. well weather if we know u are using air cooling or watercooling. its up to u to state so plesae be honest with us biggrin.gif
other den the judges to check the scores. the winner will be invited to our office to do a OCRUN. so.. den we'll roughly know if u are cheating or not whistling.gif

2. yes, as long as its a P35/Gigabyte.

3. its up to you to use wat ever proc u wan. we jst wanna see from stock to overclock difference OC ability

4. we meant by change hardware like. first run u using a normal ram, den during the OC session u use some better rams

5. Yes, only cpuz n pcmark scores. & if u'r trial user, provide me ur user name n password. the judges will check the breakdown scores, not jst only the fsb gained. smile.gif

6. Engineering Sample Processor OFCOURSE cannot use la.. that wont be fair to other ppl ma..

QUOTE(baok @ Jun 7 2007, 09:07 AM)
1. we need to post the link of cpu-z and pcmark scores only?? how do you know wether i use watercooling or aircooling? need to give my rig pics also??

2. the main hardware is any gigabyte P35 mobo rite?? others is our choice rite??

3. is there any other categories like kentsfield and conroe..

4. erm.. you said we cannot modified hardware... so if i remove the stock northbridge cooler and replace it with third party cooler, will it against the rules??

5. again.. only cpu-z and pcmark scores rite?? of both default and overclocked...
so the winners based on how many fsb gained??

6. Engineering Sample Processor can use or not tongue.gif laugh.gif

-baok-
This post has been edited by moon*: Jun 7 2007, 10:10 AM
TSmoon*
post Jun 7 2007, 04:29 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

eheh.. keep it cool dude tongue.gif

lets make it easy & fair for everyone.

i m sure majority will agree on it smile.gif

can i have a head count on who's participating?

QUOTE(§layerXT @ Jun 7 2007, 04:04 PM)
Stole goods wont deserve prizes.  bruce.gif
This post has been edited by moon*: Jun 7 2007, 04:46 PM
TSmoon*
post Jun 7 2007, 07:09 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

eheh.. we arent discriminating ES processor la laugh.gif

jst that we one something that can be reach from the shelves.

ES are hard to get. n well.. we duwan later issues where by later ppl complain cos they using normal n the winner using an "ES" procs.

jst wanna avoid issues similar to tat.. ehm.. so.. ALeUNe,
u joining this challenge?

well. who ever is joining this challenge please let me know, i wanna make a head count blush.gif

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jun 7 2007, 06:21 PM)
I just want to highlight here ES processor should not be "discriminated".  laugh.gif
TSmoon*
post Jun 8 2007, 09:42 AM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

lol.. ohh u'r using a P35 izzit?

u dunnit to remove wat.

jst leave ur cooling stuff there.. but clock ur settings back to stock/default/ run a pcmark05.done.

den, u start to OC it.

it doesnt mean u have to remove all the stuff n put stock heatsink.
u can water cool it from the start, but jst make sure its at default clock settings n etc..

QUOTE(ALeUNe @ Jun 8 2007, 09:14 AM)
Oh well, if you read E6600, you should know the multiplier must be 9.
And the organiser should set a clause that all participants must not change the default multiplier.
Hence, 10x is a cheat.

What determines the best overclocking mobo?
IMO, the king of mobos is the mobo that can hit the highest CPU FSB with complete stability + full compability to handle memory dividers @ highest & optimum speed + full voltage setting.
I'd rather run at 8x500MHz instead 10x400MHz.
10x is actually redundant.

We must use low multiplier (i.e 6x, 7x, 8x) to know the max FSB the mobo can take. This is a good thing to get Bearlake 'cos it can handle higher FSB as compared to 965.

Added on June 8, 2007, 9:21 am
Fair enough.

I'm not participating this 'cos I'm too lazy to remove my waterblocks (VGA + chipset + CPU waterblocks).  I'm too lazy to remove power & data cables and ram modules. tongue.gif It's time consuming and could be a real pain at times.
TSmoon*
post Jun 10 2007, 01:40 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

yes its goin on. i believe 1 person should be already OC-ing it right now. jst havnt subscribe.
other den the VGA, how u overclock ur ram/proc/fsb all will be taken into account from default to oc scores. we will see the clocking differences from stock to OC. not by highest score.

QUOTE(Sanko @ Jun 9 2007, 08:53 PM)
may i know it this really going on? cause until now still no one has register for this competition. btw, vga clocking won't be taken into account. but how about other hardwares? like HDD if ppl use raptor? is it only proc oc will be taken into account?
we will judge from stock to OC result.
how much u can over clock from the default settings.

once again, we are looking for motherboard over clocking ability not VGA over clocking

IF by anychance your scores/result boost up tremendously and its due to the VGA, that may become the factor you will win or not as we do not encourage user to OC their VGA n get high scores. smile.gif
QUOTE(coolice @ Jun 9 2007, 09:31 PM)
may i know the criteria of judgement?if purely depends on oc percentage,it will be unfair to proc with higher clock speed..

Added on June 12, 2007, 5:00 pmhey guys, can i have a raised of hands who's with me in the challenge? i need list on the front page oh,

This post has been edited by moon*: Jun 12 2007, 05:00 PM
TSmoon*
post Jun 13 2007, 11:15 AM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

eheh.. okiee dokiee tongue.gif

wanna double tripple confirm ma biggrin.gif

QUOTE(storm88 @ Jun 12 2007, 11:18 PM)
<--- if u read carefully i already had the answer in this thread smile.gif
TSmoon*
post Jun 13 2007, 01:01 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

ehheh.. go pinjam ur frens proc lo.. exchange Procs for the month only tongue.gif

QUOTE(irenic @ Jun 13 2007, 12:08 PM)
i love to join but too bad i'm using ES ..haha wink.gif
TSmoon*
post Jun 13 2007, 03:34 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

plan to join the OC challenge??

do let me know if u are.

QUOTE(Micron @ Jun 13 2007, 03:05 PM)
Why not buy Gigabyte ler, more features now and quality is ahead of everyone now.  I saw their Ultra Durable 2 thingy, all good components for clockers.  rclxms.gif

I bought my Gigabyte since they launched P965-DQ6, never regretted.  Very good components for clockers and I am sure this board can last longer than others even runing overclock majority of the time. flex.gif
TSmoon*
post Jun 14 2007, 06:24 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

wah.. suddenly so many join

eheh

kool thumbup.gif

QUOTE(Sanko @ Jun 14 2007, 05:59 PM)
hrmm.... confirm our participation please. all Lowyat.NET forumers. at the meat time 7 names but at least 5 entries definately. will be doing both water cooling and air cooling. thanks

coolice
sup3rfly
irangan
irenic
cablesguy
lolhalol
sanko
TSmoon*
post Jun 14 2007, 08:02 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

eheh.. all at the front page.. n that would be total of 8 thumbup.gif

wish u all best of luck

QUOTE(Sanko @ Jun 14 2007, 06:28 PM)
so roughly how many head counts liao? hehe..
TSmoon*
post Jun 15 2007, 03:11 PM

Do you have a Honda?
11,927 posts

eheh.. his OC will show us all the power of ddr3 tongue.gif

0.0248sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:05 PM