[2018/2019] MacBook Air Official Discussion Thread

tzxsean
post Jun 8 2019, 08:09 PM

Lonely Driver
5,200 posts

My mid 2012 13" MBA's battery is at terrible state now (just replaced it approx 1.5 year ago - done by outside shop).

Currently using MacOS Mojave and I can't really stand the loud noise from using Safari with lots of tabs opened. Not sure if it's OS issue or it's time to upgrade my MBA.

Anyway, I tried to "research" the MBA vs MPP vs MB a few days ago, and it's really expensive (cheapest model being 13" MBA at RM4,142, which I'm not sure when it was released) compared to the RM3.6k I forked out years ago.

Can anyone give me some suggestions? I'm just a light user with no need for photoshop, etc. I was thinking to see if the new MacOS Catalina will get rid of the loud noise issue and wait to see if Apple is going to release a new MBA / MBP / MB with "new" keyboard that has no issue.
tzxsean
post Jun 9 2019, 11:03 AM

Lonely Driver
5,200 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 8 2019, 11:05 PM)
MacBook Pro is at its lowest for 2015 models. That time the cheapest model is almost same price as iphone.
Every since 2016 Apple redesigned the MacBook Pro, price has increased significantly.

Apple has changed the materials for keyboards of 2019 MacBook Pro, by rite it should solve or reduce the chance for the known keyboard problem. Dun expect any major changes until the next MacBook Pro redesign which I think it will still take at least 2 to 3 years before Apple will do so. MacBook is still very little in terms of sales figures for Apple overall sales.

MacBook Pro should still be a good choice for u. The processor in MacBook Pro will allow u to use it for long time to come, ur 2012 can be used for so Long, u should understand why it is a good choice.

no point going for MacBook Air.
If I'm not mistaken, the new keyboard you mentioned earlier for 2019 MBP is only for touch bar model but I don't plan to get the one with touch bar (I feel that is just a gimmick).

With that being said, is 2018 MBP still a viable choice? I'm contemplating to get my battery replacement from authorised service provider, if it's not too costly where I feel it's being to get a new laptop instead. If I remember correctly, I was charged somewhere around 500-800 previously for the battery replacement.
tzxsean
post Jun 9 2019, 11:16 AM

Lonely Driver
5,200 posts

QUOTE(drunkn7 @ Jun 9 2019, 11:13 AM)
Bear in mind non-touch bar MBP hasn’t been updated since 2017 - so you’re looking at the 2017 version.

Having said that, I would agree the Touch Bar is pretty much useless and a gimmick.
oh ... so the current non-touch bar 2017 MBP still ship with the "faulty previous gen keyboard" right?

Would 2018 MBA a better choice then if compared to 2017 MBP? :S

I'm pretty much leaning to get a battery replacement now.

P/s: I was quoted RM550 for the battery and it comes with 6 months warranty only. I’m in a dilemma now. I think I need at least 2 USB ports for my wireless mouse and external hdd.

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Jun 9 2019, 11:36 AM
tzxsean
post Jun 25 2019, 12:30 AM

Lonely Driver
5,200 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jun 11 2019, 08:55 AM)
unfortunately, this is what I always tell myself - “pay cheap and buy twice”. I will not go for price only but make it can meet the needs especially future needs. this is why there are people who recommends others to get 128gb or 256gb storage options of macbook, I always against it. Especially 128gb one, it is always not ‘usable’ in long run, even an iPhone has larger storage than it (most ppl are going for 256gb option unless XR 128gb)

I think there are third party ssd u can buy to upgrade. price wise I think it is not very cheap also. do it yourself for the replacement or get third party shop to do then depends which option is more comfortable for u.
How about Ram? My MBA can’t go past apple logo startup screen now and I think it’s due to my battery so probably it’s time for an upgrade

Besides, how many usb c ports are available for 13” mbp? 2 or 4? My friend told me 13” only has 2 but the website suggests otherwise?

Also, any recommendation for usb C to usb A hub? I don’t need VGA or SD cards, only 2 usb A for mouse and external HDD

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Jun 25 2019, 01:10 AM
tzxsean
post Jul 4 2019, 10:56 PM

Lonely Driver
5,200 posts

QUOTE(cucumber @ Jul 4 2019, 07:53 PM)
Looks like Apple is finally going to change the keyboard design starting with the MBA https://www.theverge.com/2019/7/4/20682079/...020-macbook-pro
it definitely can't come soon enough! I'm in need of replacing my 2012 MBA
tzxsean
post Jul 13 2019, 12:56 PM

Lonely Driver
5,200 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 12 2019, 05:45 AM)
the base macbook pro is awesome. it makes my previous macbook tb 2017 purchase expensive.  tongue.gif

coming soon ... cant buy yet though
tzxsean
post Jul 13 2019, 06:05 PM

Lonely Driver
5,200 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 13 2019, 01:41 PM)
very soon.

too bad. still having my 2017 MBP TB. cannot change. haha. it is going to be used another 3 years or more.
256GB SSD + 16GB RAM would probably costs around RM7k for entry MBP?

tzxsean
post Jul 13 2019, 07:32 PM

Lonely Driver
5,200 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 13 2019, 06:56 PM)
yup, close to it.

but if u are not doing photo or video editing or not running VMs etc. actually 8gb is sufficient.

i would go for 512gb + 8gb instead if comparing to 256gb + 16gb ram.

my current macbook pro tb 2017 is 512gb + 16gb ram but if given a choice again, i would opt for the option above instead.
I still have 60GB of free space from my 128GB SSD tongue.gif so 512GB would be overkilled.

256GB SSD + 16GB RAM is just to ensure "future proof"

What do you think?

p/s: I'm not doing any video/photo editing now. Just casual usage - web browsing, youtube, etc.
tzxsean
post Jul 14 2019, 10:13 AM

Lonely Driver
5,200 posts

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Jul 14 2019, 02:37 AM)
You guys got out of the education software package and extend the Apple care?
Apple care? I'm not really interested in buying it but maybe I will only buy it before the end of the first year warranty

This post has been edited by tzxsean: Jul 14 2019, 10:14 AM
tzxsean
post Jul 14 2019, 10:14 AM

Lonely Driver
5,200 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 14 2019, 09:13 AM)
256GB is bare minimum so if u are really on light usage it is still ok. It is also the bare minimum size if one needs to use bootcamp on their MAC.

16gb is certainly future proof no harm to have it the same for storage size the bigger the better.

https://www.lowyat.net/2019/189822/apple-ma...oldered-in-ssd/

After all, this year MacBook Pro has soldered ssd so same as ram, u cannot upgrade in future like previous MacBook Pro even if u want, so getting the right size at first is more crucial now.
that's what I thought too ..

now just have to wait for more news from ifixit teardown and full review from youtubers
tzxsean
post Jul 14 2019, 10:15 AM

Lonely Driver
5,200 posts

QUOTE(attw @ Jul 14 2019, 09:22 AM)
I'm running Bootcamp with my 256GB MacBook Air too and I agree, it's OK for light usage but  if you need more apps to run on Windows then the partition needs to be bigger as Windows programs and apps typically use more space.

No issue on RAM though, my 4GB Air is still flying - but I'm typically a light user.
my mid 2012 MBA with 4GB RAM is suffocating nowadays when I'm browsing Safari with many tabs opened or watching videos. sad.gif
tzxsean
post Jul 15 2019, 12:40 PM

Lonely Driver
5,200 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ Jul 15 2019, 11:23 AM)
what's the difference between

buying apple care warranty on the first day you got your macbook

VS

buying apple care later when the initial warranty about to expires?

which one is good? or just the same?

hmm.gif
actually I have no idea, just don't want to spend the money when the warranty is still in effect
tzxsean
post Aug 1 2019, 12:49 AM

Lonely Driver
5,200 posts

QUOTE(SolId SnaKe @ Aug 1 2019, 12:35 AM)
guys, im quite cheapskate and i know that.. im currently working and not studying..but do u think if i were to apply for the education pricing, is that possible? will they check and verify?
Do you have siblings who are still in college?

My 2 cents, live a honest life.

0.0248sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 03:37 PM