Taylor's Vs Sunway A levels, Need help choosing between these 2

TSsmolbean
post Oct 29 2018, 09:58 PM, updated 8y ago

Right now, my options are Sunway JB, Sunway KL and Taylor's . I have been offered full scholarship for Taylor's, but I'm starting to have second thoughts due to a couple of bad reviews from acquaintances. Any advice on which one to choose? (And yes I'm aware that Taylor's is more costly but I need comparison from other aspects)
And also, any other recommended place to study a levels?

This post has been edited by smolbean: Oct 29 2018, 09:59 PM
iSean
post Oct 30 2018, 06:18 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

What are your A-Level Subjects tho? Bio/Chem/Phy/Math/Psychology/Econs/Business Studies/Law...

Sunway JB isn't particularly a popular choice, but if you stay in Johor want to be close to home can consider there?

I will recommend going for Sunway College, Subang.
Taylor's College moved into their uni lakeside campus, not sure their current class side as used to be before.

For resources materials wise, last time Sunway College in my personal view from 2015/16, has the most useful resource materials, whereby the lecturers are quite generous with their teaching materials, so you get the most out of your "Resource Fees" but that was during 2014-2016 era whereby hundreds of KPM Bursary was still around. And all of them stay in Sunway Monash Residence, where they will do clearance sales after finishing AS/A2.

And A-Level students will just go there and sapu their materials because of some materials our college lack.

https://imgur.com/a/WakZCQA

By intake in KL, I think normally most parents will pick Sunway/Taylors if they can afford.

Else, MCKL for Science/Mixed Stream, or BAC/TARUC for value option.

This post has been edited by iSean: Oct 30 2018, 06:18 PM
SUSkolokua
post Oct 31 2018, 06:14 PM

56 posts

Sunway College Subang is your best bet tbh
nexona88
post Nov 1 2018, 08:32 AM

The Royal Club Member
48,521 posts

Sunway College Subang..
Heard many good reviews on them..
darthbii
post Nov 2 2018, 08:22 AM

:C // C: // ;( // (;
791 posts

As a former Sunway College Student that did A Levels, can definitely vouch for them - dedicated lecturers and most importantly a great campus environment.
iSean
post Nov 2 2018, 10:48 PM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(darthbii @ Nov 2 2018, 08:22 AM)
As a former Sunway College Student that did A Levels, can definitely vouch for them - dedicated lecturers and most importantly a great campus environment.
Great to see you back here again, what's your progress now? hmm.gif
Planning to move onto which uni?
darthbii
post Nov 3 2018, 09:10 AM

:C // C: // ;( // (;
791 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Nov 2 2018, 10:48 PM)
Great to see you back here again, what's your progress now?  hmm.gif
Planning to move onto which uni?
Haha, great on you still remembering me!

I'm now in 2nd year of Accounting & Finance in Sunway U!
CMW123
post Nov 3 2018, 08:04 PM

3,774 posts

QUOTE(smolbean @ Oct 29 2018, 09:58 PM)
Right now, my options are Sunway JB, Sunway KL and Taylor's . I have been offered full scholarship for Taylor's, but I'm starting to have second thoughts due to a couple of bad reviews from acquaintances. Any advice on which one to choose? (And yes I'm aware that Taylor's is more costly but I need comparison from other aspects)
Mind to share the bad reviews?

What was your final decision?
MGM
post Nov 7 2018, 11:17 AM

18,455 posts

QUOTE(smolbean @ Oct 29 2018, 09:58 PM)
I think u meant 100% tuition fees waiver and not full scholarship.
If you are from outstation (JB?), u need to consider the additional cost of living of rm2k(in campus) for 18 months ->rm36k, which is more than your fee waiver. Since u qualify for Taylor's 100% fee waiver I suppose u also qualify for the Sunway Bursary Award of rm15k? I think the standard of education for these 3 are not much different but I stand to be corrected.
lolzcalvin
post Nov 7 2018, 07:19 PM

shibe in predicament
1,591 posts

lmao what
look, both sunway A level and taylor's A level are good enough for your earliest 1-2 years tertiary edu experience. use your gut feeling to choose between the two. it doesn't hurt choosing either one. both are of quality. whichever benefits you the most then go for it.

This post has been edited by lolzcalvin: Nov 7 2018, 07:19 PM
UserU
post Nov 7 2018, 09:29 PM

CSONLINE2.NET - FREE COUNTER-STRIKE
5,093 posts

Former Sunway KL student, can confirm.
honeyhoneyComb
post Dec 31 2018, 12:12 AM

Former Sunway subang A level student here....

My experience in Sunway:
~Dedicated lecturers( at least for me)
~ Lovely campus, great facilities (can be crowded sometimes)
~ and yea selections of food spots/eateries around that area,from cheap to exp

IMO,both are relatively good, just follow you gut and opt for the one suits you best.

chdanish7 P
post Jul 31 2019, 10:46 PM

Probation

Hi. I'm from Pakistan and I'm 19 years old. I'm planning to come to Malaysia in January for a foundation year. I have to decide between Taylors and Sunway college for foundation. I need some guidance as I can't decide. I'm only coming for foundation and I plan to pursue my degree somewhere abroad. How are the facilities and the campuses? More than anything how is the academic system? Are the teachers pertinent for their jobs? How's the student life? I might be asking a lot but i would really appreciate some information. I don't want to fail and come back. Thanks!

I'm sorry to add my query to this topic as I don't know how to post separately.
iSean
post Aug 2 2019, 12:17 AM

iz old liao.
4,496 posts

QUOTE(chdanish7 @ Jul 31 2019, 10:46 PM)
Hi. I'm from Pakistan and I'm 19 years old. I'm planning to come to Malaysia in January for a foundation year. I have to decide between Taylors and Sunway college for foundation. I need some guidance as I can't decide. I'm only coming for foundation and I plan to pursue my degree somewhere abroad. How are the facilities and the campuses? More than anything how is the academic system? Are the teachers pertinent for their jobs? How's the student life? I might be asking a lot but i would really appreciate some information. I don't want to fail and come back. Thanks!
I'm sorry to add my query to this topic as I don't know how to post separately.
If you plan to come to Malaysia to do Foundation Year before transferring to other university overseas.
I don't think you will be admitted to any university that easily with our Malaysian "PRIVATE" University, as it is not regulated by any examination board.

Hence you need to get the following documents to get admitted.
1. Get a proper Year 12 or Higher School Certificate aka UK A-Levels / Australian Year 12 if you plan to study in most commonwealth countries.
Both Syllabus are offered in Malaysia which takes up to 1 to 1.5 years.

2. Take SAT if you plan to go for the UK.

3. Consider that International Students school fees will be more expensive than the local students by up to 30 to 40%.
A-Levels in Malaysia is already RM 30k, and this will be raised to RM 50k if you're an international student.

If you hold IGCSE and have more than 7A*s I think you might have a partial scholarship.

Costs of living in Sunway and Taylors are quite high, up to RM 1k for rent/month in a "well furnished" room.
Bed and A/C.
Sleepy_Piggy_ P
post Nov 16 2019, 02:03 AM

Probation

Hi all, I'm currently doing SPM, like now is in d mid of spm lol. Well, I got a scholarship from d Sunway Special Scholarship 2020 for pre-u studies. I opted for A-level. Soooo excited, but here's d question.

1.I'm going to take physics, chemistry and math. Planning to take up additional math but is it hard?

2.How's life in sunway? I mean like do u have lots of free time for personal stuff n study or is it cramped up like waking up everyday at 5+am for assignments?
Also, how r d students there, like secondary school ones or?

3.Expenses. About how much will it cost every month for expenses like if we eat at cafes n stuff? Excluding accommodation and course fee.

4.Is d A-level exam deadly? Especially for d Additional math subject.

5.How's d course? Is it really so exam-based like what I heard or u learn like normal?

6.Are d lecturers friendly? Good ones?

7.Which intake should I go for? I'm limited for Jan or March only.

Well I hope someone like currently studying A-level in sunway or an Ex can help me out. Thanks.

0.0183sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 04:33 PM