upsize 195/55R15 Goodyear vs Kumho

TSchikuera
post Oct 27 2018, 07:52 PM, updated 8y ago

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

Sifus,

Planning to upsize my Iriz from 175/65R14 to 195/55R15. Is it a good move or should I go for 185/60R15?

As I plan to upgrade the rim, budget is on the tight side. So I wont go for PS3 bye.gif

Many suggested to go for Hankook V12 Evo2 but also read that it is quite noisy. Stock tire for Iriz is Silverstone Synergy M3 and it is very noisy.

There is also CC6 which the most quiet tire as netizens suggest but also read that it is too soft. My brother using this on his Almera and yes, can feel the softness

For now, I see that I am leaning towards Goodyear Assurance Triplemax2 but hard to find reviews as it just launched this year. However, the previous Triplmax1's review was very good.

Found this shop at Shah Alam, it is a good deal? I also considering Kumho PS31 as the reviews are also good.

Goodyear Triplemaxx 2 @ RM148 per donut

vs

Kumho PS31 @ RM130 per dount

*both are 2018 tire. Prices included balancing and alignment

This post has been edited by chikuera: Oct 27 2018, 07:52 PM
6UE5T
post Oct 28 2018, 12:13 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Oct 27 2018, 07:52 PM)
Sifus,

Planning to upsize my Iriz from 175/65R14 to 195/55R15. Is it a good move or should I go for 185/60R15?

As I plan to upgrade the rim, budget is on the tight side. So I wont go for PS3  bye.gif

Many suggested to go for Hankook V12 Evo2 but also read that it is quite noisy. Stock tire for Iriz is Silverstone Synergy M3 and it is very noisy.

There is also CC6 which the most quiet tire as netizens suggest but also read that it is too soft. My brother using this on his Almera and yes, can feel the softness
For now, I see that I am leaning towards Goodyear Assurance Triplemax2 but hard to find reviews as it just launched this year. However, the previous Triplmax1's review was very good.

Found this shop at Shah Alam, it is a good deal? I also considering Kumho PS31 as the reviews are also good.
Goodyear Triplemaxx 2 @ RM148 per donut

vs

Kumho PS31 @ RM130 per dount

*both are 2018 tire. Prices included balancing and alignment
185/60/15 is too big outer diameter compared to your stock size and it doesn't have any choices of good performance tires.

V12E2 is not noisy la. That is the best choice already, better than your other 2 options especially compared to the PS31.
TSchikuera
post Oct 28 2018, 12:25 AM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 28 2018, 12:13 AM)
185/60/15 is too big outer diameter compared to your stock size and it doesn't have any choices of good performance tires.

V12E2 is not noisy la. That is the best choice already, better than your other 2 options especially compared to the PS31.
I believe it's less noisy than stock anyway

the cheapest I can get for V12E2 is RM 180/donut, if I buy 4 pcs. However, it would be way over my budget of rims + tyre which is around RM1200.

I have sourced for rims and it cost me around rm600. so realistically, I only have another rm600 to spend on tires

p/s: I dont do touge but I like to drive fast on highways..taking bends at high speed that's all
6UE5T
post Oct 28 2018, 12:47 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Oct 28 2018, 12:25 AM)

the cheapest I can get for V12E2 is RM 180/donut, if I buy 4 pcs. However, it would be way over my budget of rims + tyre which is around RM1200.

I have sourced for rims and it cost me around rm600. so realistically, I only have another rm600 to spend on tires

p/s: I dont do touge but I like to drive fast on highways..taking bends at high speed that's all
Best price I can get in Klang Valley for the V12E2 is rm170/pc. I just bought a set for my son's Swift at S One Sport Rims and Tyre in Setia Alam.
Rims for rm600, are those new? Maybe can try find used ones instead so you got more budget for the tires because tires is actually more important than rims. Rims as long as you avoid those fakes/replicas then ok.
TSchikuera
post Oct 28 2018, 08:04 AM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Oct 28 2018, 12:47 AM)
Best price I can get in Klang Valley for the V12E2 is rm170/pc. I just bought a set for my son's Swift at S One Sport Rims and Tyre in Setia Alam.
Rims for rm600, are those new? Maybe can try find used ones instead so you got more budget for the tires because tires is actually more important than rims. Rims as long as you avoid those fakes/replicas then ok.
Those are actually 2nd hand oem rims.

Seen Thailand-made Rays also around that price
6UE5T
post Oct 28 2018, 10:27 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Oct 28 2018, 08:04 AM)
Those are actually 2nd hand oem rims.

Seen Thailand-made Rays also around that price
I think if you look more carefully there should be cheaper used OEM rims on sale in Mudah.
Don't buy those fake Rays, unknown quality if strong enough or not.
leehernandez
post Oct 29 2018, 11:17 AM

QUOTE(chikuera @ Oct 28 2018, 12:25 AM)

maybe u can consider maxxis ipro.one of the reputable brand in market with good performance.
http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/Tyre/Maxxis/M...Victra-iPro.htm
checked the review not bad.
ZeneticX
post Nov 1 2018, 02:04 PM

stars for what
12,412 posts

175/65 14 should up size to 195/50 15 or 185/55 15

littlefire
post Nov 1 2018, 03:58 PM

2,714 posts

https://tiresize.com/comparison/

Yes, the best upgrade from 175/65/R14 to R15 is either 185/55/R15 or 195/50/R15.
Jonsnow68
post Nov 1 2018, 06:12 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Nov 1 2018, 03:58 PM)

Yes, the best upgrade from 175/65/R14 to R15 is either 185/55/R15 or 195/50/R15.
What about 195/55/15?

I upgraded 175/65/14 to 195/55/15
ZeneticX
post Nov 1 2018, 11:18 PM

stars for what
12,412 posts

QUOTE(Jonsnow68 @ Nov 1 2018, 06:12 PM)
What about 195/55/15?

I upgraded 175/65/14  to 195/55/15
you can but it will affect your speedo even more, and might scratch your wheel well when going over bumps or full load
Jonsnow68
post Nov 2 2018, 12:42 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Nov 1 2018, 11:18 PM)
you can but it will affect your speedo even more, and might scratch your wheel well when going over bumps or full load
Oh okay, thanks! My rear tyres used to scratch the fender but that was because of the rim width. I guess only my speedo reading is affected then.
TSchikuera
post Nov 2 2018, 08:18 PM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Nov 1 2018, 02:04 PM)
175/65 14 should up size to 195/50 15 or 185/55 15
QUOTE(littlefire @ Nov 1 2018, 03:58 PM)

Guys, thanks for the advice!

but both are rarer size? couldnt get much choice

This post has been edited by chikuera: Nov 2 2018, 09:25 PM
leehernandez
post Nov 5 2018, 06:33 PM

QUOTE(chikuera @ Nov 2 2018, 08:18 PM)

can get quite some choices for both of the size
littlefire
post Nov 6 2018, 12:33 AM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Nov 2 2018, 09:18 PM)

Both of the size already been quite common in this market for a long time... If the tire shop tell u it is not common, can tell him to close shop.. tongue.gif

185/55/R15 - Toyota Vios, Honda City is using it.
195/50/R15 - My old wira been using it for more than 10 years (After upgrade from 14 [185/60/R14] to 15 inch)..
TSchikuera
post Nov 6 2018, 11:12 AM

Nora Bagi 4 Stars!!
749 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Nov 5 2018, 06:33 PM)
can get quite some choices for both of the size
QUOTE(littlefire @ Nov 6 2018, 12:33 AM)
Both of the size already been quite common in this market for a long time... If the tire shop tell u it is not common, can tell him to close shop..  tongue.gif 

185/55/R15 - Toyota Vios, Honda City is using it.
195/50/R15 - My old wira been using it for more than 10 years (After upgrade from 14 [185/60/R14] to 15 inch)..
all, thanks for the comments.

i already made my choice with Kumho PS31 195/55R15 as the shop was having sales at RM130/donut. No other size available though.

So my car looks quite tall. sweat.gif but look pretty neat with blacked out rims
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Nov 6 2018, 12:01 PM

20k VIP club
5,750 posts

iris 14 meh?

I tot base spec 15, premium 16?
littlefire
post Nov 6 2018, 03:07 PM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Nov 6 2018, 12:12 PM)

i already made my choice with Kumho PS31 195/55R15 as the shop was having sales at RM130/donut. No other size available though.

So my car looks quite tall.  sweat.gif but look pretty neat with blacked out rims
FYI, having wrong size will impact your fuel consumption and speed meter will not be accurate.
Sometime have to think for long term (Got wonder why so cheap or not? - year of manufacturing?)

6UE5T
post Nov 6 2018, 05:35 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Nov 6 2018, 11:12 AM)

So my car looks quite tall.  sweat.gif but look pretty neat with blacked out rims
Size is still ok but tire is not such a good choice actually coz performance is only meh and reliability is a bit questionable. Hopefully they wont have any issues on yours.

QUOTE(littlefire @ Nov 6 2018, 03:07 PM)
FYI, having wrong size will impact your fuel consumption and speed meter will not be accurate.
Sometime have to think for long term (Got wonder why so cheap or not? - year of manufacturing?)
Kumho is not good tires, that's why that cheap.
mmmm4
post Nov 6 2018, 08:48 PM

QUOTE(chikuera @ Nov 6 2018, 11:12 AM)

Owh change already..i m late to the party.

just to share; im using Hankok v12e2 195/55r15 on my iriz 1.6M. Done 12K km changed Mar this year. Previously Silverstn M5 (10k KM) then Falken 914 (50k KM). M5 u know la. Falken very slippery in wet after 40k KM, otherwise dry grip is good.

v12e2 not noisy at all compared to my last twos, feel confident in wet, doesn't squeal (not yet) on smooth cemented floor like M5 or Falken. Just that FC increases a bit compared to Falken the eco tyre. Sidewall felt too soft so have to pump more air. worth considering for those looking for new tyre.

0.0180sec    0.34    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:46 AM