Buying Advice Price for Tamron 17-50mm / 2.8 Di II, Can someone tell me the rough price ?

TSrhesusv
post Jun 5 2007, 07:15 PM, updated 19y ago

182 posts

Currently overseas now & thinking if i should get this lens. It's selling for about Rm1560 . Just wanna know what's the price like in malaysia.

also any1 using it ar? what is yr opinion about it ?
wlcling
post Jun 5 2007, 09:06 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/467219

the first lens i bought... sharpness seems good on all focal lengths and wideness....a very good fast lens if you cannot afford the 17-55 f/2.8 nikkor....
nairud
post Jun 5 2007, 10:02 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

Tammy 17-50 f2.8 cost around rm1350
pepper_mint2
post Jun 5 2007, 10:53 PM

272 posts

anyone knows which is betteR? the tamron 17-50mm or the sigma 1 ?? both price about the same ?
wlcling
post Jun 5 2007, 11:34 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

tammy!!!!......................

or if you understand chinese
tamron vs sigma vs tokina

This post has been edited by wlcling: Jun 5 2007, 11:44 PM
TSrhesusv
post Jun 6 2007, 12:15 AM

182 posts

ooh.. ok.. Thanks for the info man. btw wlcling , those pics on yr flickr are taken using the Tamron ??

Looks super sharp.
wlcling
post Jun 6 2007, 12:25 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

not all are using the Tamron, some are taken with 50mm f/1.8, while some others could be by Sony H5 instead... sweat.gif

also what you see there could have some touch up from photoshop anyway... sweat.gif sweat.gif
scotty
post Jun 6 2007, 01:13 AM

THX Certified Conman
4,380 posts

a used 1 should be around 1.1k-1.2k. i sold mine at 1.1k with free hoya filter. new around 1.35k now. sharpness is comparable with the nikkors. focusing is a bit normal as usual. slower than the af-s,usm or hsm. do check the lense before u make your purchase. i heard from the shop, some of the lense have this back/front focus. my copy is okie. no such problem. u can check out my thread for some of the photos taken by it smile.gif
TSrhesusv
post Jun 6 2007, 05:16 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(scotty @ Jun 6 2007, 01:13 AM)
a used 1 should be around 1.1k-1.2k. i sold mine at 1.1k with free hoya filter. new around 1.35k now. sharpness is comparable with the nikkors. focusing is a bit normal as usual. slower than the af-s,usm or hsm. do check the lense before u make your purchase. i heard from the shop, some of the lense have this back/front focus. my copy is okie. no such problem. u can check out my thread for some of the photos taken by it smile.gif
I c ... coz i m torned act .. not sure whether i should go for this or the 50mm 1.8 . I want a good walk around lens. I've nvr played with the 50mm prime before but hv heard & seen pretty good reviews.
coz the current kitlens abit hard to use when in low light condition. shutter speed always super slow.
Btw scotty , if u dun mind can u pls tell me which pic from yr galeery is taken using the Tamron ? all yr pics look really good. Wondering if all those are the magic of the lens. smile.gif
not all are using the Tamron, some are taken with 50mm f/1.8, while some others could be by Sony H5 instead...  

also what you see there could have some touch up from photoshop anyway...   

hahaa.. ok..

This post has been edited by rhesusv: Jun 6 2007, 05:24 AM
wlcling
post Jun 6 2007, 08:11 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

get both? 50mm & the tammy. The prime is sharper and is wider. Although i'm starting to consider selling the 50mm for a 85mm f/1.4. But anyway the 50mm is a good start for portraits
g88
post Jun 6 2007, 08:15 AM

1,631 posts

Both is about 1.3K to 1.4
scotty
post Jun 6 2007, 12:25 PM

THX Certified Conman
4,380 posts

a few shots taken with tamron 17-50 F/2.8 XR DI biggrin.gif

the most recent 1

flashed on A mode fired

TSrhesusv
post Jun 6 2007, 02:55 PM

182 posts

@scotty ,
Thanks . nice pics there. smile.gif

@wlcling
wah.. pocket dun hv so much $$$$. will choose either 1 only. Even at the same 50mm focal length , the prime is wider ??
wlcling
post Jun 6 2007, 08:04 PM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(rhesusv @ Jun 6 2007, 02:55 PM)
@wlcling
wah.. pocket dun hv so much $$$$. will choose either 1 only.  Even at the same 50mm focal length , the prime is wider ??
sorry.... i meant the aperture it can go is wider (meaning aperture value can go lower), not the field of vision is wider... hehe icon_rolleyes.gif

So that also means the prime lens gives better bokeh, and is better for low-light situations... (did i mention its also light on weight and on your wallet??) biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
TSrhesusv
post Jun 6 2007, 10:54 PM

182 posts

oooh. I c. smile.gif thanks man. smile.gif
bzz
post Jun 7 2007, 04:53 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Jun 5 2007, 10:02 PM)
Tammy 17-50 f2.8 cost around rm1350
nairud, where do you got this price?

I ask one of the shop at LYP. I think 3E or E3 (UG). They want to sell me RM1600. Nego still RM1570. It happened just last week. Lucky im not buting yet.

How about Tamron 28-75 F2.8?
scotty
post Jun 8 2007, 12:31 AM

THX Certified Conman
4,380 posts

QUOTE(bzz @ Jun 7 2007, 04:53 PM)
nairud, where do you got this price?

I ask one of the shop at LYP. I think 3E or E3 (UG). They want to sell me RM1600. Nego still RM1570. It happened just last week. Lucky im not buting yet.

How about Tamron 28-75 F2.8?
if u want just give me a pm. and i'll intro a guy to u. 28-75? not wide enough. smile.gif
bzz
post Jun 8 2007, 10:12 AM

144 posts

Tq scotty. You've got PM.

The reason why i want to get 28-75 is i sometimes i want to take candid and potrait. Maybe 50mm not zoom enough for candid pics.

Oh ya, i read many reviews said that Tamron 28-75 F2.8 pics quality nearly as good as Canon L series lens. And i can use it on my full frame film camera right. I don't know la...
Gadget_Freak
post Jun 8 2007, 10:34 AM

414 posts

QUOTE(bzz @ Jun 8 2007, 10:12 AM)
Tq scotty. You've got PM.

The reason why i want to get 28-75 is i sometimes i want to take candid and potrait. Maybe 50mm not zoom enough for candid pics.

Oh ya, i read many reviews said that Tamron 28-75 F2.8 pics quality nearly as good as Canon L series lens. And i can use it on my full frame film camera right. I don't know la...
seriously 75mm is not enuf for candid, it is just few steps ahead from 50mm..

and especially in malaysia where ppl are conservative and sceptical that the [purpose of u candid them, i think u need at least 100mm or above.
shinchan^^
post Jun 8 2007, 11:51 AM

K66
21,256 posts

0.0190sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 10:24 PM