Can't go in Wii Settings, Opera error!!

TSfx2800
post Jun 5 2007, 05:16 PM, updated 19y ago

106 posts

I can't go in to Wii Settings menu. When i select it.. after a few seconds it shows

help!!! icon_question.gif
samueler
post Jun 6 2007, 11:45 AM

131 posts

This is almost certainly caused by upgrading your console's firmware with firmware from another region. Playing pirated or downloaded games in this way will cause this if you have not updated your console firmware online before playing games such as Mario Strikers.

So, let me guess - you must be running a US Wii, modded with Wiikey, and this problem occured after you played Mario Strikers? Mario Strikers comes with a firmware update, and is a PAL game only at the moment.

No known fix for this problem at the moment; your console is semi-bricked. Pray that either WiiKey will come out with a fix for this (maybe in software version 1.5 rolleyes.gif ), or that firmware 2.3 will revert your console to its original fully working condition whistling.gif
TSfx2800
post Jun 6 2007, 04:14 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(samueler @ Jun 6 2007, 11:45 AM)
This is almost certainly caused by upgrading your console's firmware with firmware from another region.  Playing pirated or downloaded games in this way will cause this if you have not updated your console firmware online before playing games such as Mario Strikers.

So, let me guess - you must be running a US Wii, modded with Wiikey, and this problem occured after you played Mario Strikers?  Mario Strikers comes with a firmware update, and is a PAL game only at the moment.

No known fix for this problem at the moment; your console is semi-bricked.  Pray that either WiiKey will come out with a fix for this (maybe in software version 1.5  rolleyes.gif ), or that firmware 2.3 will revert your console to its original fully working condition  whistling.gif
wow.. exactly wat u said is true... how to update my WiiKey then? noob here.. i juz got my Wii yesterday.. sweat.gif
samueler
post Jun 6 2007, 04:51 PM

131 posts

QUOTE(fx2800 @ Jun 6 2007, 04:14 PM)
wow.. exactly wat u said is true... how to update my WiiKey then? noob here.. i juz got my Wii yesterday..  sweat.gif
Yo, I already mentioned in my earlier post lar, nothing you can do at the moment, except for pray hard since your console is now semi-bricked as you can't access the settings menu to change anything, even the clock! So you can't go online to access any channels at all, play online etc.

Why do I say "pray hard"? Well, this problem may not be fix-able. But you can pray that when firmware 2.3U is released it will fix your problem. Or you can pray that WiiKey will release a new firmware that will take care of this problem, or prevent this problem from ever happening in the future. The current 1.2 version can't do jack schitt.

You can also thank your lucky stars that you can still use your console to play games. It hasn't completely died tongue.gif
mustnap
post Jun 11 2007, 01:52 PM

good news for people who modded their non PAL wii, bought the Mario Striker PAL version and accidentally semi-bricked their Wii.

i heard that the new game that is coming out Big Brain Academy: Wii Degree (NTSC/U) comes with an update that will fix the problem. But since the game has not been released yet, just pray that it is true!

valppy
post Jun 11 2007, 09:15 PM

39 posts

no jap 1 ar...or is there a jap version of big brain??
SWATwolf
post Jun 11 2007, 10:27 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(valppy @ Jun 11 2007, 09:15 PM)
no jap 1 ar...or is there a jap version of big brain??
"Big Brain Academy: Wii Degree (NTSC/U)" sweat.gif he stated us version o
valppy
post Jun 12 2007, 11:42 AM

39 posts

yea lor....so i ask whether if there is a jap version of the game...can't seem to find any jap games that allow us jap ver. wii-ers to update our wii...hmm...
spicyfooty
post Jun 12 2007, 01:18 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(valppy @ Jun 12 2007, 11:42 AM)
yea lor....so i ask whether if there is a jap version of the game...can't seem to find any jap games that allow us  jap ver. wii-ers to update our wii...hmm...
I also have japanese wii, just upgraded to 2.2J using Wii menu through broadband. I have not tried Mario Strikers or Super Paper Mario which are reportedly bricking Wiis if ur wii is lower than 2.2 .

Hope it helps!
mustnap
post Jun 12 2007, 02:44 PM

QUOTE(spicyfooty @ Jun 12 2007, 01:18 PM)
I also have japanese wii, just upgraded to 2.2J using Wii menu through broadband. I have not tried Mario Strikers or Super Paper Mario which are reportedly bricking Wiis if ur wii is lower than 2.2 .

Hope it helps!
i'm sure people already aware of which games can brick Wiis but the issue rite now is that some people already half-bricked their Wiis playing Mario Striker. By half-bricked is that they could not access their Wii Settings which means they could not do any updates through the internet.

so the only method that valppy (i'm assuming that his Wii is half-bricked) can use is by updating using the updates that come with games.
valppy
post Jun 13 2007, 09:50 AM

39 posts

lolz...my wii was not semi bricked...i got mario strikers but i din update it cuz i got a feeling that something will happen if i update...so i googled for it and found out that u cant update the jap wii with the PAL patch..so i go update my wii using wireless..but it kept DC-ing...guess sumtin is wrong with my router...so i need some disc to update it...
samueler
post Jun 13 2007, 07:35 PM

131 posts

Big Brain Academy fixes the semi-bricking issue. I am speaking from personal experience. I've got my settings back - in the words of Frankenstein's creator - "it's alive" laugh.gif

Beware that for PAL users, updating firmware using the game disc will almost certainly brick your Wii if you have not updated to the latest firmware via the internet sweat.gif
e1fnd
post Jun 14 2007, 01:55 PM

QUOTE(samueler @ Jun 13 2007, 07:35 PM)
Big Brain Academy fixes the semi-bricking issue.  I am speaking from personal experience.  I've got my settings back - in the words of Frankenstein's creator - "it's alive" laugh.gif

Beware that for PAL users, updating firmware using the game disc will almost certainly brick your Wii if you have not updated to the latest firmware via the internet  sweat.gif
Darn, I am having the same issue but on Jap Wii.... Meaning I can't repair it at all, even using the Big Brain Academy thingy...?
mustnap
post Jun 14 2007, 02:06 PM

QUOTE(e1fnd @ Jun 14 2007, 01:55 PM)
Darn, I am having the same issue but on Jap Wii.... Meaning I can't repair it at all, even using the Big Brain Academy thingy...?
you can try, but no one knows whether it will fix your Wii or brick it even more. or you can just wait for some new NTSC/J games to come out that might have the updates that your Wii needs.
samueler
post Jun 14 2007, 03:59 PM

131 posts

It is always advisable to update your Wii using the firmware meant for that version of your console. There's a high chance of bricking if you attempt to update using firmware from other regions, be it for PAL or NTSC. You can take your chances if still insistent, but do you want to take the risk with a >RM1,000 console? laugh.gif
e1fnd
post Jun 14 2007, 04:29 PM

QUOTE(samueler @ Jun 14 2007, 03:59 PM)
It is always advisable to update your Wii using the firmware meant for that version of your console.  There's a high chance of bricking if you attempt to update using firmware from other regions, be it for PAL or NTSC.  You can take your chances if still insistent, but do you want to take the risk with a >RM1,000 console? laugh.gif
Yeah u r rite... my bad... anyway do you know where can I get a full list of Firmware that comes with the games?
TSfx2800
post Jun 14 2007, 04:29 PM

106 posts

wow.. i'm gonna get Big Brain later to fix my US wiiiiI~~~~~~~~

thanks for the info guys~!!! notworthy.gif
e1fnd
post Jun 15 2007, 03:44 PM

QUOTE(fx2800 @ Jun 14 2007, 04:29 PM)
wow.. i'm gonna get Big Brain later to fix my US wiiiiI~~~~~~~~

thanks for the info guys~!!!  notworthy.gif
If there's anyone successfully un-semi-bricked the Jap Wii... please post here, coz I would like to test it out biggrin.gif Thx!
TSfx2800
post Jun 17 2007, 01:04 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(e1fnd @ Jun 15 2007, 03:44 PM)
If there's anyone successfully un-semi-bricked the Jap Wii... please post here, coz I would like to test it out biggrin.gif Thx!
mine is US. and Brain Academy really fixed my semi-bricked Wii.
so to every one else, i can confirm it's true rclxms.gif
T630
post Jun 27 2007, 01:50 PM

572 posts

hi, how much is the wii now? japs or us version is better? thought of getting one for my nephew and myself... sweat.gif

0.0199sec    0.38    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:24 PM