AMDŽ Socket-AM2 Overclocking thread (V2), discuss our setup/overclocking issues

casperito
post Jun 6 2007, 08:45 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Jun 6 2007, 10:12 AM)
sent my motherboard to RMA ady.
now using my dad's pc to do the surfing and other jobs.. sad.gif

i wonder,is it worth to upgrade to brisbane? and is there still a forummer who are looking for x2 3800?
if u really2 into OCing... it's worth it to get a brisbane... juz got my new brisbane rig and its awesome.... can go to 3.0-3.2 like nothing... but the new now onli used for torrenting.. nothing more...
casperito
post Jun 8 2007, 01:18 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jun 7 2007, 03:56 AM)
What ur vcore at 3.2GHz?? Mind to tell??
What multiplier and ram divider u use??
-pWs-
i pushed the vcore to the max... the multiplier i use 9... 358*9
ram divider i use 667 if i'm not mistaken... lazy to look at the bios... i adjust my corsair ram timing to 5-5-0-18...
wanna try using crucial ballistix tracer pulak... but lazy la olreadi... brisbane is so easy to get 3.0... wonder how brisbane perform on M2N32 SLi...

this setting i copied out from the overclocking database webpage...

u try it out also la... ehehehehe...
u alreadi got to 3.1... juz push a lil bit the HTT maybe can get to 3.2...

Added on June 8, 2007, 1:23 pm
QUOTE(tachlio @ Jun 7 2007, 09:26 AM)
AMD Penang js receive Dual Core 65nm from germany, so it worth to get brisbana.

And now i doing some testing about Quad core somemore 8core~ mayb it will lauch soon too~ brows.gif

~
err.. if i'm not mistaken, phenom will launch single core, x2 and x4 onli... got octo-core somemore eehh??

This post has been edited by casperito: Jun 8 2007, 01:23 PM
casperito
post Jun 8 2007, 07:34 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jun 8 2007, 03:03 PM)
I see. But my vcore a bit too high already. Scare already smile.gif
-pWs-
u tried to push up ur HTT without pushing up the vcore??
wat cooler are u using??
casperito
post Jun 19 2007, 02:26 AM

662 posts

QUOTE(afosz @ Jun 18 2007, 11:03 PM)
O ok. So when is it the best time to run Orthos? Is it ok to just leave it running while I'm asleep for example? If Orthos stopped while I didn't monitor it and it has stopped for a while, does it affect my system?

Quite easy to reach 3.0GHz with Brisbane? Quite hard for me though with stock cooler sweat.gif Have been adjusting several stuff and now running at 2.9
juz like lohwenli said... for example, 1st u oc to around 2.0-2.5 then u prime around 20-30 minutes if pass then slowly make the HTT higher.. until u reach the limit... this is the same tactic used when OCing opty socket 939 back in the old days...
after u reach the limit, it's better to prime 24 hour for better stability... if u lazy, then 8 hours is enough..
plus, brisbane is not that hot compare to windsore... i made it to 3.0 onli by using my stock fan... got to 3.2 but didn't prime...
my x2 5200+ got to 3.2ghz but the temp is around 70-75c on Ultra 120 when prime... so scary... dun want to do that again....
casperito
post Jun 23 2007, 07:32 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(cyberloner @ Jun 23 2007, 05:56 PM)
intel is fast but not going to win amd gaming speed
compare opening winamp will do... amd will start it 1st....
QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jun 23 2007, 07:01 PM)
Agree... Windows loading as well amd win smile.gif
-pWs-
err.. loading time doesn't mean anything....
aihh.. if onli AMD can beat C2D in Cinebench.... dang...
casperito
post Jun 27 2007, 08:57 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(sjn hassan @ Jun 27 2007, 08:40 PM)
save u'r budget and get a reliable PSU like enermax..Time to change
enermax is not reliable nowdays... it used to be but now no... enermax is a no no... after they got popular among the OCer, the quality of their product gotten bad... a fren of mine juz blown his PC after buying enermax... better go get silverstone or corsair... better and more stable...
i help my fren buy Strider 560w for onli RM330... LYP price for Strider 400w onli for rm199... if u got a lot of budget, then go get the OP650 single rail...
casperito
post Jul 2 2007, 12:47 AM

662 posts

QUOTE(nonoking @ Jul 2 2007, 12:39 AM)
GA-M57SLI-DS4 rev 2.0

can o not?.....i wan OC stable n operation whole month 1....

is it possible?
if u OC around 2.5-2.8 sure.. but with a good cooler... if u want 3.0 for 24/7 usage on brisbane?? not possible...
casperito
post Jul 2 2007, 12:54 AM

662 posts

QUOTE(nonoking @ Jul 2 2007, 12:52 AM)
thanks all sifu!!!........

im really really a noob beginner.....

so i jz wan OC to 2.4ghz then how to set ram speed (kingston667x2)...

pls show me u guys experice...

where to Download SP2004 or Orthos??

THANKS~~~
errr.. google it laa....
casperito
post Jul 4 2007, 11:20 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(kalakatu @ Jul 4 2007, 10:55 AM)
but i thought last time u were the one who said 'here we talk about overclockability, not performanceblink.gif
wats the use if u can get a high clock but not much performance... better stick with performance... at least u can feel the performance while using ur PC... even better if u got both performance and oveclockability....
bought a brisbane rig, OCed it to 3.0 but there is a lot of difference... sad that it's too easy to go to 3.0... no challenge... giving away the rig to my sister....
plus, brisbane 3.0 onli can be use for benching.. not 24/7 use...

QUOTE(cyberloner @ Jul 4 2007, 10:28 PM)
nice comparison u got there... true winsors is better chip and better pin too..
brisbane pin looks like easy to bend only... so need extra care for it...
it clock higher that's why i change it...
less ram speed but more core speed... what u choose?
yes.. brisbane proc pin are quite fragile...

This post has been edited by casperito: Jul 4 2007, 11:22 PM
casperito
post Jul 5 2007, 09:09 AM

662 posts

QUOTE(mruzian @ Jul 4 2007, 11:39 PM)
erm i dun think u can lower the vcore even if u found a gud hsf  sweat.gif
even if u used freon cooling oso u couldnt bring down
the vcore  laugh.gif

coz vcore is associated with bringing more performance out of the proc
meanwhile a gud hsf is to ensure the heat generated from the
high vcore used is cool down effectively  laugh.gif
QUOTE(sempronic)
yeah....but higher vcore is needed when u prime or bench the proc....
for normal use or gaming...can use the vcore that is stable that wont restart or make the system unstable....
it's not juz to bring out the performance and for prime and bench...
it to supply the proc with enough power to maintain it's clock speed...

casperito
post Jul 6 2007, 06:15 PM

662 posts

casperito
post Jul 6 2007, 09:17 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(cyberloner @ Jul 6 2007, 07:10 PM)
i am the one change my winsors to brisbane...
i dun feel waste of money because all amd price is all drop... so dun care price... 3600+ price almost same as 3800+ winsors too
if i use 3800+ i need more vcore to gain 2700 mhz... and she's hot
if use brisbane 3600+ i dun need the vcore winsors needed and brisbane is running 3ghz
so if compare long term of cpu life... i think when cpu is died the price of it also can throw long kang already ( cpu with 8 core also out liao )
compare saving energy on my bills i think brisbane help save few cents =) and it is faster than my old 3800+ oc 2700mhz
if u know clock brisbane rules.. ( crazy clock get this one )
if u normal user sure winsors is a nice better chips... ( normal user use this one )
conclusion ... winsors is better chip than brisbane... brisbane oc better than winsors.... ( not those super special 3ghz winsors lah )

please dun war anymore =)
aiya... ignore the price drop laa.... of course now proc prices are darn cheap... brisbane can get @ RM195 onli @ LYP... dang...
lucky me i bought my proc last year but at the same price as now...

but now proc is energy saving but u put a high end GC... then no different lo... still need a lot of power...

calculate it using some 'special' calculator... ehehehe
brisbane default 1.9 @ 1.25v
OCed to 3.0 @ 1.25 - 1.3
uses about 103-111 watt from ur PSU....

QUOTE(byfc2010 @ Jul 6 2007, 08:34 PM)
bt where to find...
dun think it "landed" on Malaysia gua...
lucky sempronic he got the '3.0' windsor.. muahahahaha...
alreadi ask him to try 3.0 on the 1st time he got the proc.. but he said dun want.. afraid laa... ape laa... suda la...
casperito
post Jul 15 2007, 10:02 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(dblooi @ Jul 15 2007, 11:20 AM)
Guys, anyone has use the new amd processors BE 2300 & BE 2350 b4? Anything special with them if compared to brisbane 3600+?
BE-2300 is like X2 3600+ and BE-2350 is like X2 4000+.. but saw their reviews, not good in OCing... got around 2.5ghz or something...
they compare it to C2D E2130 (if im not mistaken)...E2130 can go up to 3.0ghz...
but this proc is good for those who want low power consumption... not OCing...
casperito
post Jul 22 2007, 01:30 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(dblooi @ Jul 22 2007, 01:05 PM)
you're welcome smile.gif

oh ya, anyone at here has try the new amd BE 2300/2350 proc? I've heard that it is not just ordinary brisbane, AMD has implemented more transistors into it, but dunno they've got fix the L2 cache latency problem or not.
i've read the articles about BE-2300 & BE-2350... no good... the OC ability is very low... the proc onli use low wattage onli... they said that the BE-2300 can be compared with x2 3600+ and the BE-2350 can be compared to x2 4000+ but to me, x2 is better than those BE's proc... it even cannot beat C2D E2140 in OC for christ sake... no use to test this... next week going to a fren of mine going to buy this proc and test it... but i doubt it will perform good...
AMD release this proc i think for user who want to save power not OCing,.,
casperito
post Aug 2 2007, 10:23 AM

662 posts

QUOTE(^666^ @ Aug 2 2007, 08:12 AM)
yoo...great news!!

The Am2 new proc has arrive...

amd X2 BE2300++

1.9ghz
128x2 l1
512kbx2 l2
65nm
45w

Price @ RM300

i wonder hows its performance and oc as it run low voltage 45w ony....

if any1 want this proc can pm me...Brand new!!
u can find the review on the net... alreadi read the review... no good... good for energy saving.. but no good for OCing...
casperito
post Aug 5 2007, 04:12 AM

662 posts

QUOTE(sherren @ Aug 5 2007, 02:28 AM)
btw im usign AMD athlon 64 x2 5200+ Windsor AM2
Mobo ABIT AN52S, ram 1gb x2 kingston DDR2 667,
how do i overclock my processer since now its 2.6 ghz, wanna oc to 3 ghz
hmm.. set the HTT to 231x13 vcore 1.48.. this is the setting that i use on my proc with m2n32 mobo..
for my crucial ram setting i use 4-4-4-12 2.0vdimm divider 800..

for the ram setting im not sure... u need to tweak it ur self to find the suitable and stable setting...
casperito
post Aug 13 2007, 09:26 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(dblooi @ Aug 13 2007, 12:48 PM)
i suggest mod to create a tag for 3GHz club member laugh.gif

make it more happening  brows.gif
wat so big a deal for 3ghz while intel now can go up to 4ghz...
3ghz is nothing to brag about...
casperito
post Sep 23 2007, 04:28 AM

662 posts

QUOTE(byfc2010 @ Sep 22 2007, 10:31 PM)
hmm...not sure lo...
bt windsy damn hot...
mine if use 1.475v 2.5ghz wif my heatsink,
load i will get 60+/-C...
nvr tried on stock cauz tray proc...
QUOTE(rainingzero @ Sep 23 2007, 01:07 AM)
last time, when using stock HSF, idle around 40++ and full load around 50++....my oced proc only use Vcore=1.38V @2.4Ghz...

edit: now using TR XP90 idle at 32-34'c, full load at 45-48'c....
my recomendation is the Xigmatek 120mm version.. it can even beat my TR Ultra 120..
plus the Xigmatek 120mm price is almost the same as TTBTVX...
the xigmatek comes with a 90cfm fan..
casperito
post Sep 23 2007, 12:59 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Sep 23 2007, 12:30 PM)
I think I have this problem as well. I am not able to boot in vista.
CPUID recognises my 5200+ proc as 5600+
BIOS is latest version from Biostar. Ntune does not work either. sweat.gif
user posted imageuser posted image
Sorry, I am noob in OC. Comment and assistance are very much appreciated.  laugh.gif
wow.. urs is F3 stepping la bro... a lot of people says that F3 is good for OC... try to go higher..
in the bios set the vcore to 1.48v and set the HTT to 231... set the vdimm to at least 1.95v to 2.2v (if ur using the D9GMH chips) and try to boot up.. the clock should be 3003mhz... set the memory divider to 800 and try to boot it up...prime and then try to make the clock higher...
casperito
post Sep 23 2007, 01:53 PM

662 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Sep 23 2007, 01:49 PM)
Mine are not D9MH chipset shakehead.gif
still u can try maa... no need to worry...
try to lower the ram divider or something

0.0535sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:11 AM