QUOTE(soulfly @ Sep 27 2007, 09:02 PM)
u dun wan to do V3 d?AMDŽ Socket-AM2 Overclocking thread (V2), discuss our setup/overclocking issues
AMDŽ Socket-AM2 Overclocking thread (V2), discuss our setup/overclocking issues
Sep 27 2007, 09:40 PM
947 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Penang |
Sep 27 2007, 10:34 PM
7,318 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Pulau Sipadan |
Sep 27 2007, 10:38 PM
986 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: :: infront the steering :: |
Sep 27 2007, 10:51 PM
7,318 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Pulau Sipadan |
Sep 27 2007, 11:11 PM
1,404 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: ...... |
For Biostar TA690G user, anyone has try the latest BIOS from the taiwan website? (0913)
heard that it has big improvement, something like unlocking hidden graphic performance of the 1250 chipset ( not sure what is that as i'm not user of TA690G). Worth for a try |
Sep 28 2007, 02:30 AM
986 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: :: infront the steering :: |
Sep 28 2007, 11:15 AM
360 posts Joined: Dec 2005 From: Ampang / Kuantan |
QUOTE(dblooi @ Sep 27 2007, 11:11 PM) For Biostar TA690G user, anyone has try the latest BIOS from the taiwan website? (0913) Last night updated to the latest bios R69AM913.........its seems similar to R69AM828 bios notin so special about it tho... Its just when I upadated to the latest R69AM913 some how my speed decrease 0.25% from default speed 2.1Ghz it become 2.094Ghz. Same goes to my RAM Frequency / my HTT all decerease 0.25%.heard that it has big improvement, something like unlocking hidden graphic performance of the 1250 chipset ( not sure what is that as i'm not user of TA690G). Worth for a try I haven't overclock with the new bios, perhaps this weeked I will try. As for graphic performance, it still the same as R69AM828, notin new function came with this new bios This post has been edited by beast921: Sep 28 2007, 11:16 AM |
Sep 28 2007, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(beast921 @ Sep 28 2007, 11:15 AM) Last night updated to the latest bios R69AM913.........its seems similar to R69AM828 bios notin so special about it tho... Its just when I upadated to the latest R69AM913 some how my speed decrease 0.25% from default speed 2.1Ghz it become 2.094Ghz. Same goes to my RAM Frequency / my HTT all decerease 0.25%. check this out, I haven't overclock with the new bios, perhaps this weeked I will try. As for graphic performance, it still the same as R69AM828, notin new function came with this new bios http://www.theinquirer.net/en/inquirer/new...pgrade-for-690g AMD brings hefty free upgrade for 690G -this BIOS update brings DVD/HD hardware decoding in both 720p and 1080p resolutions, making 690G cheapest graphics subsystem that can decode 1080p video. -this BIOS update also brings overclocking features to the table. New BIOSes bring voltage adjustments, memory timings and of course, multiplier changes for the CPU and HyperTransport clock. ( i think is 1 already available on biostar TA690G |
Sep 28 2007, 12:19 PM
QUOTE(dblooi @ Sep 28 2007, 11:56 AM) check this out, The graphic: not really sure have to check it tonight, but in Bios IGP/IGX seems all the function same as R69Am828.http://www.theinquirer.net/en/inquirer/new...pgrade-for-690g AMD brings hefty free upgrade for 690G -this BIOS update brings DVD/HD hardware decoding in both 720p and 1080p resolutions, making 690G cheapest graphics subsystem that can decode 1080p video. -this BIOS update also brings overclocking features to the table. New BIOSes bring voltage adjustments, memory timings and of course, multiplier changes for the CPU and HyperTransport clock. ( i think is 1 already available on biostar TA690G Overclocking function: already have in R69AM605 / R69AM727 and R69AM828. This post has been edited by beast921: Sep 28 2007, 12:21 PM |
Sep 28 2007, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(beast921 @ Sep 28 2007, 12:19 PM) The graphic: not really sure have to check it tonight, but in Bios IGP/IGX seems all the function same as R69Am828. did u check the bios OC options? people said that the 0.5 cpu multiplier is now available in the bios. Overclocking function: already have in R69AM605 / R69AM727 and R69AM828. |
Sep 28 2007, 12:34 PM
Sep 28 2007, 06:55 PM
QUOTE(beast921 @ Sep 28 2007, 12:34 PM) here's a link that u can download some 720p 1080p short clips. http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsme...ntshowcase.aspx try to run it and take a look at the cpu usage. Maybe you can find out some difference before and after flashing the new bios |
Sep 28 2007, 11:41 PM
5,211 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Konohana |
I would like to ask, between a 4000+ DD or 5200+ CZ which one is better for overclocking? I know the best Windsor for overclocking is CZ while Brisbane DD overclock much higher, but when both overclocked which one performs better? Anyone have some comparison between Windsor and Brisbane?
I have 3800+ CU right now and it simply can't overclock. At most it will reach 2.4GHz but it having a hard time cold booting, I'm tired of it |
Sep 29 2007, 12:09 AM
QUOTE(Najmods @ Sep 28 2007, 11:41 PM) I would like to ask, between a 4000+ DD or 5200+ CZ which one is better for overclocking? I know the best Windsor for overclocking is CZ while Brisbane DD overclock much higher, but when both overclocked which one performs better? Anyone have some comparison between Windsor and Brisbane? brisbane core can overclock much higher? i don't think so. So far i nv see any guy in LYN overclock his brisbane more than 3.2GHz and i don't think most of the brisbane capable to do that.I have 3800+ CU right now and it simply can't overclock. At most it will reach 2.4GHz but it having a hard time cold booting, I'm tired of it This post has been edited by dblooi: Sep 29 2007, 12:10 AM |
Sep 29 2007, 12:11 AM
1,051 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Somewhere Out There |
the correct way to say, brisbane is easier to overclock and does not require a great board to get it around 3ghz. On the other hand, windsor is harder to OC due to the heat/vcore and its pretty stubborn. But once you get a windsy up, its way faster than brisby clock per clock.
Sep 29 2007, 12:48 AM
2,497 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Selangor |
QUOTE(Najmods @ Sep 28 2007, 11:41 PM) I would like to ask, between a 4000+ DD or 5200+ CZ which one is better for overclocking? I know the best Windsor for overclocking is CZ while Brisbane DD overclock much higher, but when both overclocked which one performs better? Anyone have some comparison between Windsor and Brisbane? seems like if u change ur ram speed, u can oc higher?? I have 3800+ CU right now and it simply can't overclock. At most it will reach 2.4GHz but it having a hard time cold booting, I'm tired of it This post has been edited by rainingzero: Sep 29 2007, 12:49 AM |
Sep 29 2007, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(dblooi @ Sep 28 2007, 12:23 PM) did u check the bios OC options? people said that the 0.5 cpu multiplier is now available in the bios. Yup its true, just try it last night.....it got the 0.5 cpu multiplier. I also tried to see what and how far this new bios can push my X2 4000+.............at first try it got me at 2.96Ghz with X9.5 multiplier /+0.75Vcore/bus speed 300Mhz/HT 1204.then I continue to increase the Vcore(+0.87) and Vdimm(2.15) and cpu clock at 310/X10 multiplier................after rebooting and not post at all and wont even load to window.......and try again with minor changes with the voltage and the multiplier and ram timing. ...............then boom..........my system got corrupted........now re-formating and will try again later tonight. |
Sep 29 2007, 10:46 AM
5,211 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: Konohana |
QUOTE(dblooi @ Sep 29 2007, 12:09 AM) brisbane core can overclock much higher? i don't think so. So far i nv see any guy in LYN overclock his brisbane more than 3.2GHz and i don't think most of the brisbane capable to do that. I thought Brisbane is much better overclocker than Windsor, guess I was wrong. How far can Windsor go?QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Sep 29 2007, 12:11 AM) the correct way to say, brisbane is easier to overclock and does not require a great board to get it around 3ghz. On the other hand, windsor is harder to OC due to the heat/vcore and its pretty stubborn. But once you get a windsy up, its way faster than brisby clock per clock. I know Windsor is faster than Brisbane clock per clock. Yeah the heat is killing me, and it require 1.4V to reach 2.4GHz and doesn't respond well when I feed more voltageSo what's the recommendation guys? 4000+ DD or 5200+ CZ? Of course the 5200+ is more expensive but if it worth it I'll buy it. Looks like nobody uses TForce 550 SE like me....if anyone have any experience overclocking using this board please share with me QUOTE(rainingzero @ Sep 29 2007, 12:48 AM) I've done that, but at most it will reach 2.45GHz but I will got random BSOD and if it can actually load Windows, I can't run any heavy program or it will crashIt's pretty frustrating that I can't overclock X2 as good as my old Sempron 2500+ s754, it can reach 2.5GHz from 1.4GHz without needing any voltage increase, and in SuprePi it was faster than my X2! |
Sep 29 2007, 10:47 AM
QUOTE(dblooi @ Sep 28 2007, 06:55 PM) here's a link that u can download some 720p 1080p short clips. Thanks mate http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsme...ntshowcase.aspx try to run it and take a look at the cpu usage. Maybe you can find out some difference before and after flashing the new bios |
Sep 29 2007, 12:04 PM
2,497 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: Selangor |
QUOTE(Najmods @ Sep 29 2007, 10:46 AM) I thought Brisbane is much better overclocker than Windsor, guess I was wrong. How far can Windsor go? If u got lucky and got good mobo etc, maybe u can reach 3.0ghz from stock 2.0ghz..5200+ i think is good. but better if u can get F3 stepping as it can oc higher than F2.5200+ CZ is F3 stepping and i think its worth if u try it...... I know Windsor is faster than Brisbane clock per clock. Yeah the heat is killing me, and it require 1.4V to reach 2.4GHz and doesn't respond well when I feed more voltage So what's the recommendation guys? 4000+ DD or 5200+ CZ? Of course the 5200+ is more expensive but if it worth it I'll buy it. Looks like nobody uses TForce 550 SE like me....if anyone have any experience overclocking using this board please share with me I've done that, but at most it will reach 2.45GHz but I will got random BSOD and if it can actually load Windows, I can't run any heavy program or it will crash It's pretty frustrating that I can't overclock X2 as good as my old Sempron 2500+ s754, it can reach 2.5GHz from 1.4GHz without needing any voltage increase, and in SuprePi it was faster than my X2! |
| Change to: | 0.0178sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:34 PM |