AMD® Socket-AM2 Overclocking thread (V2), discuss our setup/overclocking issues
V-Zero
Sep 26 2007, 07:28 AM
My Abit-KN9-SLi FSB goes up to 260 stable, but as soon as I shut the system down, turned the power off, and then tried to a cold start, the KN9 SLI refused to POST. Clearing the CMOS would always allow the system to start up, but the problem would always return if I started overclocking again.
Since so many KN9-SLi users can achieve high OC, anyone can guide me? What bios version you all use?
darkcraw
Sep 26 2007, 09:04 AM

i noticed alot of ppl here using ABIT mobo and 3800+ windsors and 3600+ brisbie to OC. wat u guys think about gigabyte ga-m57sli-s4 mobo wif 5200+ windsors??? and i notice oni 1 ppl using 5200+ here y har? not a good proc??? just wanna knw more This post has been edited by darkcraw: Sep 26 2007, 09:06 AM
-pWs-
Sep 26 2007, 09:17 AM
QUOTE(darkcraw @ Sep 26 2007, 09:04 AM) i noticed alot of ppl here using ABIT mobo and 3800+ windsors and 3600+ brisbie to OC. wat u guys think about gigabyte ga-m57sli-s4 mobo wif 5200+ windsors??? and i notice oni 1 ppl using 5200+ here y har? not a good proc??? just wanna knw more  If you want to oc, better stay away from Giga due to limited option of overclocking. And for the processor, nth wrong there. If 5200 F3 Windsy, den lagi best -pWs-
jetyap
Sep 26 2007, 10:51 AM

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Sep 26 2007, 02:28 AM) The temps on both cores are usually different depending on the load on each of the cores. Usually core 1 will be used more so often than core 2 therefore resulting in your increased heat in core 1. Its not an issue to be worried about =) This is during idle....My second core is much higher than first core. It's normal for Core 1 to be higher than Core 2, but not the other way around right...
rainingzero
Sep 26 2007, 11:52 AM
QUOTE(darkcraw @ Sep 26 2007, 09:04 AM) i noticed alot of ppl here using ABIT mobo and 3800+ windsors and 3600+ brisbie to OC. wat u guys think about gigabyte ga-m57sli-s4 mobo wif 5200+ windsors??? and i notice oni 1 ppl using 5200+ here y har? not a good proc??? just wanna knw more  it's just depends on the user budget and target. normally ocer will get the lowest clock possible and try to oc to the highest/max possible he/she can achieve. .
ronaldjoe
Sep 26 2007, 12:48 PM
QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Sep 25 2007, 11:48 PM) what GC are u currently using? Most modern GFX can go up that that temp, it still operates fine. The only problem is that the heat emitted from it will affect the temps of other components as well... Using 7600GT Temperature increases when ram is OCed higher as a portion of GC memory is shared with KVR Now it seems like I can't OC further as I didn't lower the ram divider.
byfc2010
Sep 26 2007, 03:27 PM
QUOTE(jetyap @ Sep 26 2007, 10:51 AM) This is during idle....My second core is much higher than first core. It's normal for Core 1 to be higher than Core 2, but not the other way around right...
my windsy no such problem wor... abt the same most the time...
darkcraw
Sep 26 2007, 08:52 PM

wat u guys think abt abit KN9SLI? a nice mobo to OC compare to gigabyte ga-m57sli-s4?? erm... another thing,... if im not going to use the SLI function... is there any other mobo tat hav the same build like the 2 SLI mobo above and without the SLI function?
rainingzero
Sep 26 2007, 09:21 PM
QUOTE(darkcraw @ Sep 26 2007, 08:52 PM) wat u guys think abt abit KN9SLI? a nice mobo to OC compare to gigabyte ga-m57sli-s4?? erm... another thing,... if im not going to use the SLI function... is there any other mobo tat hav the same build like the 2 SLI mobo above and without the SLI function?  IMHO, abit KN9SLI is better. if u dont wanna SLI mobo, can just try Abit KN9 Ultra or KN9S..but KN9 ultra hard to find nowadays, just go for KN9S.. maybe u can try biostar mobo??they got easy bios and have a lot of ocing features....
AoiNatsume
Sep 26 2007, 09:34 PM
QUOTE(-pWs- @ Sep 26 2007, 09:17 AM) If you want to oc, better stay away from Giga due to limited option of overclocking. And for the processor, nth wrong there. If 5200 F3 Windsy, den lagi best -pWs-Mind to clarify a little on what are the features that are lacked in gigabyte series bro? my current gigabyte is my 3rd am2 mobo... and since ive experience only a limited numbers of boards, i cant really see what are the options that im lacked of.
-pWs-
Sep 26 2007, 10:12 PM
QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Sep 26 2007, 09:34 PM) Mind to clarify a little on what are the features that are lacked in gigabyte series bro? my current gigabyte is my 3rd am2 mobo... and since ive experience only a limited numbers of boards, i cant really see what are the options that im lacked of. In term of ram timing, there are only CAS latency for user to play with. Your mainboard model? -pWs-
AoiNatsume
Sep 26 2007, 10:26 PM
hmm.. that doesnt seem to be the case with my board. Im using the GA-MA69G-S3H. The ram settings are highly tweakable, even the NS settings is available at my disposal... I have access to basically all the ram settings that is tweakable...
ktek
Sep 27 2007, 12:03 AM
QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Sep 26 2007, 10:26 PM) hmm.. that doesnt seem to be the case with my board. Im using the GA-MA69G-S3H. The ram settings are highly tweakable, even the NS settings is available at my disposal... I have access to basically all the ram settings that is tweakable... my friend's rig using Gigabyte S2 (AMD690) . yes , there are more than CL to tweak for memory but no any voltage options (CPU , mobo chip , memory semua tadak)  can use x10.5 multiplier when disable CnQ and push Brisbane 4000+ up to 2.5XGHz (due to stock voltage) now daily use 2.4GHz
-pWs-
Sep 27 2007, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(ktek @ Sep 27 2007, 12:03 AM) my friend's rig using Gigabyte S2 (AMD690) . yes , there are more than CL to tweak for memory but no any voltage options (CPU , mobo chip , memory semua tadak)  can use x10.5 multiplier when disable CnQ and push Brisbane 4000+ up to 2.5XGHz (due to stock voltage) now daily use 2.4GHz  Do you press Ctrl + F1 to unhide the hidden feature??? -pWs-
AoiNatsume
Sep 27 2007, 12:30 AM
the F1 key on my bios only unhide the RAM/HT settings, where else the HTT/multiplier/vcore/vdimm/Nb and Sb V/pcie is all in the MIT.
I can hit 3.2Ghz with my board 1.55 vcore.. max vdimm on my board is 2.4v.
Did you try to update the bios?
darkcraw
Sep 27 2007, 02:35 AM

QUOTE(AoiNatsume @ Sep 26 2007, 09:34 PM) Mind to clarify a little on what are the features that are lacked in gigabyte series bro? my current gigabyte is my 3rd am2 mobo... and since ive experience only a limited numbers of boards, i cant really see what are the options that im lacked of. giga 57SLI PCI bus frequency unable to lock. therefore, when u OC, the PCI bus frequency go up too... all PCI bus device... including sata (hdd) oso effected... and it will cause ur pc unable to boot up...  correct me if im wrong!
nik0ns
Sep 27 2007, 02:43 AM
just read the past few page....to those who will get their F3 stepping proc, do pm me if you want to sell your brisbane
-pWs-
Sep 27 2007, 02:48 AM
QUOTE(darkcraw @ Sep 27 2007, 02:35 AM) giga 57SLI PCI bus frequency unable to lock. therefore, when u OC, the PCI bus frequency go up too... all PCI bus device... including sata (hdd) oso effected... and it will cause ur pc unable to boot up...  correct me if im wrong!  What method you oc? Through BIOS or nTune? -pWs-
CV6149
Sep 27 2007, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(darkcraw @ Sep 26 2007, 08:52 PM) wat u guys think abt abit KN9SLI? a nice mobo to OC compare to gigabyte ga-m57sli-s4?? erm... another thing,... if im not going to use the SLI function... is there any other mobo tat hav the same build like the 2 SLI mobo above and without the SLI function?  I heard from Jy14 that DFI ultraII-M2 new shipment is coming. Thats a great mobo for am2.try pm and ask him.
TSsoulfly
Sep 27 2007, 09:02 PM
revving towards 10,000 rpm
Who wants to take over maintaining the database for V3? Do PM me.